We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catamount Aerial Ropes Course”

Catamount Aerial Adventure Park
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Hillsdale
Attraction details
boston
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Catamount Aerial Ropes Course”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is one of my favorite things to do in Massachusetts - fantastic aerial ropes course out in the Berkshires (South Egremont). There are 5 levels from beginner (though don't think it's so easy - it's challenging!) up to "Commando". I've gone as high as Level 4, Black Diamond. Each course is a variety of obstacles/things to climb on, and the general pass gives you 3 hours on the course. You will burn some serious calories and get a fill-body workout while having tons of fun. Most people like the zip lines best, but I actually prefer the climbing. Have fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank diane h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    15
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and challenging!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a great time at Catamount aerial park! I loved how all of the courses started from one central tower. There were 3 easiest yellow courses (which do get a little crowded with kids) that are great place to start off and get a feel for the obstacles and being in the air! They are the lowest level courses. Then there were 2 green courses. These were longer, a little higher and a bit more difficult. Definitely challenging enough for me, as a first timer and a little afraid of heights! The zip lining back to the base of the mountain was a lot of fun!!
HIGHLY RECOMMEND! Will definitely go back! And pricing at $51 for an adult is very good compared to rates for similar places.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jwpurpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Incredible Climbing Adventure*******”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is the perfect outing for a beautiful fall day! Actually, you're under the trees, so the weather really isn't a factor. Just come prepared for a workout! Make sure you're dressed comfortably, and in sneakers. As soon as you arrive and purchase your tickets, you are helped into the climbing gear and given a short lesson on how to use the park. This park consists of ziplining, and climbing courses. You wear gloves and the harness is outfitted with all you need to safely play all day! Your ticket is good for 3 hours. Believe me, 3 hours is a great amount of time and you can pretty much accomplish all that you want. THe courses are marked like a ski slope, blue for easy, green intermediate level, black difficult and double black diamond for the most challenging. My group consisted of my 11 year old son and two 14 year olds. We all decided to begin on green, just so we could get used to how to work our equipment. YOu are constantly buckling, unbuckling, and hooking yourself up SAFELY to these courses, and of course, you want to do it right! At first I found it quite challenging, trying to figure out my gear. But, I eventually got the hang of it. Unbelievable FUN! Amazing challenges! I can't speak highly enough of this afternoon in the tree tops! Really a great time. You do use muscles you didn't know you had. You may feel quite challenged and awkward at times. It's quite amusing to look up and watch some of the people doing it. It really makes you feel accomplished when all is said and done. At the end of the time, there are a few ziplines to take back down the mountain. So much fun! You are all on your own, and you do need to figure it all out. THere is no right or wrong way really to do a challenge. So drive to Catamount and enjoy a day with your kids! It's all good. I wish it wasn't so expensive, as I'd love to go again this fall. But, will probably have to wait. $50 a person.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PalaceFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Worth all the fear!!”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A few years back my sons and I were invited to this unique adventure IN THE TREES! I was, of course, terrified and exhausted from the initial climb. All of the trepidations were worth the fabulous memories I was able to make. It is now a yearly tradition to go and defeat my fears and enjoy a wonderful time in the beautiful trees. Catamount now even has stepped up their adventure with new zip lines to the bottom of the mountain. THEY ARE TERRIFIC!!! This is a must do, family, scout, friend adventure - even if you must drive over two hours like me!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nooproblem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Much more fun than expected”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect since I hadn't done an aerial park before (actually I didn't even know it was a word). But this activity was super fun for parents and kids and really different from most other things you will do.

The activity takes about 4.5 - 5 hours once you arrive. The actual ticket time says 3 hours from when you purchase the ticket, but that means you can't start a new course after that time. You will end up being on the course for longer than 3 hours. Even the final zip lines down from the course area will take about 30 minutes. So the point is leave yourself plenty of time.

First a brief description: The obstacle courses are in the trees, and the tougher the course, the higher up in the trees you go. The black diamond courses are way up there. The courses take awhile at first, and you will be skittish. You will also be using muscles you haven't used in awhile. Add in the tension of being up so high, and you will be glad you applied your deodorant liberally that morning.

The staff is really nice and you may find yourself calling for their help more than you thought you would. Don't be embarrassed, lots of people get stuck. Also, leave just about everything you have in the car, unless you don't mind losing it. You don't need your sunglasses or hat or cellphone

This place was a lot of fun for any reasonable active person, and I would definitely suggest going here for a real change of pace

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nempuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catamount Aerial Adventure Park also viewed

Mount Washington, MA
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Catamount Aerial Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing