We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Highmount
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Osteria B&B Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Highmount B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 4, 2008

The website makes this place look a lot nicer than it is in reality. While our room was cute and clean, our overall experience was overpriced and not worth the money. Having to stay 2 nights was the first problem. The second was that the owner, who is very nice and means well, says he is a chef from the Culinary Institute of America (??). As a guest you are forced to eat at a specific time in the morning, and if you come down 5 minutes late, your scrambled eggs or french toast sticks (yes, french toast sticks- arent those frozen?) will be cold. Scott, you are sweet as can be, but I owe tripadvisor an honest review, since this site helps out so many travellers.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank cassidy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 68 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2008

Our family of 4 stayed at the Alpine Osteria for 3 nights. It is extremely convenient to Belleayre Mountain which is one of the main reasons why we originally choose to stay there. It was our first time at the mountain and for those with young children, like us, it is highly recommendated. The mountain is not that populated and (except for the food and drinks once you get there) it is very reasonable in comparision to other mountains. Like us, you may be able to get vouchers for skiing if you have children under 12 (as they are free with an adult ticket). Ask the B&B about it!

The conditions of the B&B is comfortable and rooms are extremely clean. You can feel right at home staying there. Scott, the manager, owner, host, cook, waiter, busboy and cleanup crew does an excellent job balancing the tasks to accomodate all the guests. He even throws in special touches during your stay, like putting on the thousands of lights to show the children the trees outside. For the adults, inside his lounge area, he lit well over 30-40 candles to make the room glow and had a fireplace glaring near comfortable couches for resting after a long day of skiing. It was nice to share time/laughs with him as well as he made himself very available to socialize. The gameroom adjacent to this room was perfect for the kids to be on their own...extra pleasant was that there were no costs for the games. The games were various sega video games and a fuesball table from the 70s.

The breakfast was outstanding, hot, tasty, fresh and plenty. There are plans in the future for a restaurant, but currently this is the one drawback, however, we were recommended to a few restaurants that were all two miles or less from the B&B.

It is worth the stay! Go for it!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wiggynira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

Our stay at this B&B was the best. The inn keeper (scott) really went out of his way to make our stay very comfortable. We will be back for another catskill vacation.

Stayed: December 2007
5  Thank bncny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

The owner is a nice man but somewhat unaccomodating about breakfast times and foods--you really feel as if you are intruding on his home, something most B&B owners manage not to make you feel--and while very clean, the place is in need of updating (remove the plastic flowers scotch taped to the bed) and don't tell guests their room has a "private balcony" without explaining that this is really a rickety old, dirty , unfinished deck with a few plastic chairs and the wood hammered in haphazard ways so that you can't get a view of trees, etc. unless you stand up and lean over.
The owner seems to mean well, but puts guests on the spot a lot, and didn't remake our bed (we stayed two nights) despite that we were out of the room all day. Overall, if we paid $99, I'd be happpy, but at the over $150 rate he charged with a 2-night minimum, I'd take my business elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank NYCSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2006

My family of three have been coming to the Alpine Osteria for 5 years. The Inn is impeccably clean and the Inn Keeper (Scott) is probably the most accomodating host you'll ever meet. The Inn consists of 5 or so rooms/combinations and ranges in price and size. The bathrooms (in all rooms) are incredibly clean and the linens are updated. This is a true B&B with small comforts to enjoy weekend skiing at nearby Belleayre actually a 1/4 mile away as advertised. Belleayre is a great place even on holiday weekends as the crowds flock to Windham and Hunter. A home cooked (Culinary Institute of America trained) breakfast awaits each morning and never disappoints. A comfortable lounging area adjacent to the breakfast tables makes for nice conversation among guests or just some quiet time with family. Kids enjoy a small room with a video games section and foosball table. Just enough to keep them interested before a good night sleep. Some reasonable and nice nearby eateries are available so you are not exactly in the middle of nowhere. Rooms have basic cable TV. This is a great place to join up with a few families or enjoy your own. We have stayed at several Inns in the area and have not seen the level of service and the hospitality that Scott the Innkeeper consistently maintains. A true gem in the heart of the catskills. Simple but very nice getaway place. We intend to visit for years to come.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank We3ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highmount
17.6 mi away
Albergo Allegria
Albergo Allegria
#1 of 7 in Windham
510 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pine Hill Arms Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
River Run Bed & Breakfast
River Run Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Fleischmanns
133 reviews
9.0 mi away
Margaretville Mountain Inn
Margaretville Mountain Inn
#1 of 2 in Margaretville
117 reviews
2.5 mi away
Starlite Motel
Starlite Motel
#1 of 2 in Big Indian
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Osteria B&B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Osteria B&B Inn

Address: 32 Galli Curci Road, Highmount, NY 12441
Location: United States > New York > Highmount
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Highmount
Price Range: $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Alpine Osteria Hotel Highmount
Alpine Osteria Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing