We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really informative tour”
Review of West Point Tours

West Point Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really informative tour”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was an incredibly informative tour. The kids and I really enjoyed learning about the history of West Point and some of its famous graduates, in addition to what it is like there today.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nutritiondr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    52
    12
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Take the 2-hour tour!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Lots to see - even more to learn. Don't cut yourself short by only taking the one-hour tour. We were lucky enough to be there on the day of the first official "review" of the cadets by the West Point Superintendent. What a treat that was! This is a beautiful campus and lovely area of New York. West Point is a must see attraction.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MapleGrove4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One hour tour is too short”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We took the only bus tour available on a week day in November when classes are on. We went inside the beautiful chapel and also got out of the bus for the view over the Hudson River. Tour guide was very knowledgable so it was a good introduction to West Point. However we thought the one hour tour was way too short. Don't bother to go unless you can go on the two hour tour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank judy155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickett, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The tour of the West Point campus/base was great. I learned a lot and it is just beautiful. I recommend the 2-hour tour, if you have time. You get to see a lot more than on the shorter tour.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Take the 2 hour Tour!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It has a beautiful location and is an incredible place to visit. That being said, they make it clear that no one can tour it on their own-- so you have to use West Point Tours. I've read some of the other reviews here & quite frankly don't understand what some of the WHINING is about. Complaining because you can't talk to the cadets directly (& then giving a low review?) From what I learned on my tour, these men and women are busy putting in MANY long hours every day working at getting an education. They are not there for the amusement of us tourists!
We booked our tour on the same day they were having a parade and got there early (for parking.) That's a great time to go--AND there are some ushers (cadets) working there & you CAN talk to them! I looked around the Visitors Center and saw an excellent actual size display of a dorm room that showed how the cadets lived. Didn't go to the Museum but I'm sure that is something I would enjoy on my next visit. Book your tour early!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelreview_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Point Tours also viewed

 

Been to West Point Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing