We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Stay"”
Review of West Point Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Point Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Highland Falls
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My room was very clean and comfortable. New carpeting was installed in our room and the bedding was clean and bright. We stayed three nights and check-in was smooth and easy.
The coffee was always hot, both day and evening. I enjoy creamer in my coffee and it was available, along with juice and bagels, and pastries in the morning. We enjoy staying here, being that my son is a plebe at West Point. The room was warm during the cold temperatures outdoors. I enjoy the staff and are quite helpful in regards to future reservations.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hershy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Review:

Greetings. Words cannot express the appreciation we have regarding your review of our motel recently in TripAdvisor!

We are here in our small community for the long haul. We will do our best to made your next visit as enjoyable as your most recent one!

Great success in the future and hope to see you soon.

All the best and thanks again!

Gus Koutsourades,
Owner/Manager, West Point Motel, Highland Falls, New York

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for West Point Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 145 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the West Point Motel. Our son is a cadet at West Point so it's location is very convenient to post. We stayed in a newly renovated room and it was tastefully done. The bed was firm and confortable and the room was neatly appointed and very clean. The staff is always nice and friendly. We will stay there again on our next visit to West Point!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank knyosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The owners have done a good job trying to keep the place current. The bathrooms were recently redone, and the fixtures were very nice. The room was very warm when we arrived, and on a cold day, was much appreciated. There was a lot of noise coming from the walls throughout the night. I assumed it was a steam heating system. Whatever the cause, it was loud enough to keep waking me up. The TV was a 19" tube TV--not HD. The dual queen beds was extremely nice, and they were fairly comfortable. There was no breakfast. The fee seemed a bit high for the quality of the facility, but maybe that's just NY.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room. You can hear the people above you if you're on the first floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaxDadOf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Manager at West Point Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

The management at the West Point Motel would like to thank you for your objective review of our business. We are still in the process of updating our existing rooms with new case goods and HD TVs. This process is on going and hopefully will be completed soon. We are also investigating the noise of the heat pipes in some of our rooms. The majority of the motel has cast iron baseboard heat and sometimes on very cold nights the expansion of the heating causes this to occur. Overall, if you visit us in the future, we believe you will see the on going improvements to our motel. Thank you again for your comments in TripAdvisor. All the best. Gus Koutsourades, General Manager/Owner, West Point Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our daughter had a rugby tournament at West Point and we chose this hotel because it was so close. Check in was quick and efficient and pleasant. We stayed in one of the XL rooms so it was nice and roomy. It was clean and comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. The bathroom was freshly tiled and very clean. The toilet, sink and countertop were all new. The TV was an older model and the remote didn't work but that didn't matter to us. Free internet but it was slow. The towels could have been a bit thicker and nicer but they got the job done. I would say it would be a bit of a walk to the Thayer gate at West Point but we were driving so it was perfect for us. It is located right near downtown so easy access to restaurants and drug stores etc. We did not try out the continental breakfast. We had read it wasn't much so we decided to just go to The Bagel Cafe which was right up the road and it was fabulous! Fresh, warm bagels and great sandwiches at great prices. Highly recommend it! We would stay here again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for the XL room if they have any available if you like more space. Also we had read they were i...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelma6636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is an older property, but very clean, roomy, and has updated bathroom fixtures, nice wall coverings and crown molding. Ask for one of the updated rooms. You can't beat it for the price and I am picky about where I stay.

We were there two nights before we discovered that the cleverly disguised nightstand between the beds was actually a refrigerator!!!

We tried both nearby Mexican restaurants; both were good, but the one downtown was fancier with lovely food presentation. Skip the free pastries at the motel and go to Andy's for breakfast.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for an updated room. Don't know about the others.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Manager at West Point Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer:

Hello. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always trying our best to please our customers. Starting this December, we will begin the final phrase of renovating our final nine rooms. This project should be done just in time for Parent Plebe Week in Spring 2014. We are also moving ahead with improvements to our existing rooms that include upgrades to bedding, furnishings, and large LED flat screen TVs. If you enjoyed your stay now, wait until your next visit with us! Once again, thank you for your kind comments.

Gus Koutsourades, General Manager, West Point Motel.

P.S. that "cleverly disguised" refrigerator was purchased at B.J's Wholesale Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The West Point Motel is clean, comfortable and affordable! We chose the West Point Motel because of its proximity to West Point. We stayed in July 2013 and again in October 2013 and were pleased each time. We plan to stay in January 2014 and again in May 2014. We will continue to recommend the West Point Motel to friends and family. Thanks again for an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Manager at West Point Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Norma Y.:

Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at our motel. Our main goals have always been to make our motel comfortable and affordable. This, plus the fact we are less than a 1/4 mile from West Point's main gate at Thayer affords us an idea location; an easy walk through beautiful downtown Highland Falls. We are pleased you are making arrangements to visit the area again and the opportunity to stay with us again.

All the best!

Gus Koutsourades, Manager, West Point Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

West Point Motel is exactly what their website communicates. Great location. Clean. Spacious rooms. Accommodating staff. FREE continental breakfast. We stayed a couple of nights, and would have no hesitation staying again. It fit the bill for what our family wanted and needed for the trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNTraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Manager at West Point Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear MNTraveler59:

Greetings and Thank You for your kind review on TripAdvisor during your stay with us. Yes, we believe we are what we are and nothing else. As you mentioned our rooms are indeed clean and spacious. We try our best to achieve this day in and day out. Plus, our rates are more than competitive with those of our neighboring hoteliers, even the large chain hotels. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Gus Koutsourades, Manager, West Point Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland Falls
1.0 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
990 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
5.4 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
3.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
373 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Point Motel

Address: 156 Main St, P.O. Box 301, Highland Falls, NY 10928-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Highland Falls
Price Range: $124 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — West Point Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Point Motel in Highland Falls, NY has been family owned and operated since 1923, ideally located near West Point and Hudson Valley's largest attractions. For 90 years, we've provided affordable hotel accommodations and amenities to business and leisure travelers for short or extended stays. We are a quick eight miles from Woodbury Commons, the largest outlet mall in the country, the Appalachian Trail, and many wineries. Enjoy a relaxing vacation in the lush and historic Hudson Valley Region with us in one of our 51 spacious and non-smoking rooms fully equipped with refrigerators, air conditioning, Cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, and free wireless. Our remodeled motel offers a small continental breakfast of easy grab and go choices like bagels, muffins, juices and coffee to prepare you for the day. At West Point Motel, it's our mission to provide you with a comfortable and relaxing stay no matter the reason. Our staff is dedicated to your comfort and the ease of your trip. Book your stay and come cozy up in the greenery the Hudson Valley has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your West Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Point Hotel Highland Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing