We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and convenient.”
Review of West Point Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
West Point Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Highland Falls
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and convenient.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great location, walking distance to restaurants, grocery, and pharmacy. Rooms and bedding newly renovated; overall clean and comfortable with a friendly staff. I would recommend this motel to friends and family, will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, General Manager at West Point Motel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We truly appreciate this kind response from our customers. We always are trying to improve our small motel to the public at large. Even though at times some customers do have concerns, we always try to correct them as soon as possible. We will continue to make changes that will benefit the stay of our treasured guests for now and in the future. Just give us the chance to prove this and you will see the great results of our efforts. Once again, we thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    63
    18
    7
    11
See reviews for
69
22
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed a September weekend which motel was sold out, and is majority of time when there is a football weekend or special event at West Point. Beds were good. Pillows and bathroom dated. I was OK with this until I had a 2 - 3 day old muffin as part of continental breakfast. Juice and coffee from a machine with muffins and small bagels. No tables or sitting area. The final straw was when I asked kindly at front desk if they could print out an airline boarding pass for me. No one else was there in the office. I was told that they can't print out a boarding pass and was directed to the Thayer Hotel lobby to print it out. The photos show some mildew in shower track, and curled wall paper above shower. I stayed here two years ago and the front desk had the same attitude at that time. From now on I will stay 20 minutes away at a chain hotel and spend $20.00 more a night.

Room Tip: Stay in Central Valley 20 miles away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRtrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
As a result of this review there has been a policy change at the motel regarding the printing of boarding passes for our customers. As of now if a customer makes a request to print a boarding pass, that request will gladly be honored. Moreover, the condition of the bathroom pictured will be corrected by the end of the day today by our painting subcontractor. Finally, regarding this listing: a year and a half ago we started renovating more than 65% of our accommodations. Within the next five months, the reminder of our rooms will be updated and renovated. We appreciate the feedback and hope our customer's next stay is more pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great, except for TV outdated and the color distorted. otherwise great service would definitely stay there again! Friendly, helpful people, beds were comfortable and there was a refrig. in the room. Nice restaurants close by and also a grocery and pharmacy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lossius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We checked out of Room 126 on Labor Day after a 2 night stay. My husband's arm had what we believed to be mosquito bites. Before we checked ot I noticed small stains on our sheets. In retrospect I realize these were an indications of the bites we received. I mentioned the stains to the front desk and they apologized. By the time we arrived home I too had noticed a trail of bumps on my arm. We visited a doctor today and it was confirmed that we had been bitten by bed bugs. I immediately contacted the hotel to let them know which room we were in. I also requested the name of the owners as I'd like to let them know about our unpleasant experience. Overall the hotel appears to be maintained (it's an older property) but the public needs to know that bed bugs are an issue there.

Room Tip: Bring your own spray and examine your mattress
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Hercules750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Upon receiving the complaint from our customers, I contacted our pest control service company for an inspection of the room. The pest service company visited the motel on Sept. 6, 2012 and according to their report found no bed bug activity in the room. My biggest and only concern right now is the lost business this review will have on our current and future business with the public. Overall, this review is really not representative of our property. If only our mutual customer contacted us first before making this post, some arrangements could have been found to the satisfaction of both sides. I am truly afraid that this will cause great harm to our reputation in the business community. Thank you for your understanding in this matter. Gus Koutsourades, Owner/Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

During August we stayed two nights in room #226 and were very satisfied with the new room upgrade. The room was nicer than most of the mid-priced motel chains that we use when traveling. And when you consider the reasonable price, the value quotient is very high. There is a small continental breakfast that was fresh and tasty. It was very quiet at night and the buildings are well kept up and attractive. I enjoy getting a good deal and West Point Motel certainly delivers!

Room Tip: We like upper floor non-adjoining rooms to ensure that there is no one above us making noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evn3114b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I found this motel to be very clean and comfortable. The price was reasonable, keep in mind there are not many motels in this area. The beds were comfortable, new carpet and clean. I came to drop off my son at West Point, and would stay here again in the near future.

Room Tip: no pool or restaurant in motel, that's why i gave them average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were staying at another hotel that was absolutely awful and needed to find another one fast. We called West Point Motel at 0930 and the guy was so nice and understanding. He told us the rate and stated we could come right away and that the room would be ready. Not many hotels would do that. Rooms were clean, nothing fancy and minimal amenities. But location and customer service make this hotel great. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tg1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland Falls
1.0 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
952 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
5.4 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
3.7 mi away
Bear Mountain Inn
Bear Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Bear Mountain
320 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Point Motel

Property: West Point Motel
Address: 156 Main St, P.O. Box 301, Highland Falls, NY 10928-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Highland Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — West Point Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Point Motel in Highland Falls, NY has been family owned and operated since 1923, ideally located near West Point and Hudson Valley's largest attractions. For 90 years, we've provided affordable hotel accommodations and amenities to business and leisure travelers for short or extended stays. We are a quick eight miles from Woodbury Commons, the largest outlet mall in the country, the Appalachian Trail, and many wineries. Enjoy a relaxing vacation in the lush and historic Hudson Valley Region with us in one of our 51 spacious and non-smoking rooms fully equipped with refrigerators, air conditioning, Cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, and free wireless. Our remodeled motel offers a small continental breakfast of easy grab and go choices like bagels, muffins, juices and coffee to prepare you for the day. At West Point Motel, it's our mission to provide you with a comfortable and relaxing stay no matter the reason. Our staff is dedicated to your comfort and the ease of your trip. Book your stay and come cozy up in the greenery the Hudson Valley has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your West Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Point Hotel Highland Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing