We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Chance It”
Review of West Point Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Point Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Highland Falls
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Chance It”
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Made a reservation weeks in advance and canceled on the same day, they charge $25.00 for canceling. I could understand it if was 24-48 hours before the stay, but almost 2 weeks before the stay , what a rip off! Any respectable hotel would allow you to cancel without a cancelation fee.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frequent_Trvlr32810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    18
    7
    12
See reviews for
70
24
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Jewett City, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I have taken a high school group to West Point for two nights lodging for the past twenty years. The staff and owners of the West Point Motel have always been accomodating and my multiple decade visits have seen at least three major renovations of the facility. The chaperones independently commented on the great rest they had on the new mattresses. The rooms are very clean and the staff accomodating with extra pillows and towels for my students. The set rate made it an affordable stay as we filled each of our four rooms. The morning continental breakfast is good, though we missed the local donuts this year. I recommend the West Point Motel to anyonve visiting .

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HossH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Our family stayed here so that we could take our son to the Military Academy for a tour. The motel was recommended by the lady in admissions, but I am not sure when she last saw the state of things. The corners in the bathroom were filthy, there was a musty smell in the room, I would guess that the baseboard heating hadn't been dusted or cleaned in YEARS, the sink surface was completely cracked and rusting, etc., etc. My husband took a shower at night and the water never got above tepid. (Our showers in the morning were fine.) Every where we looked we saw dirt. We stayed there because of its convenient proximity to West Point, but we won't stay there again. Yuck.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bagelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We have a cadet at USMA, and we stayed during Parent weekend. We mainly chose this motel for the conveinence. The local hotels/motels always triple the cost when it is an event weekend at USMA, so there is no saving money when it is an event weekend. We were not expecting a 4 star experience by any means, but our room was disquisting. The room smelled terribly, the bathroom floor was gross and was uneven to where the bathroom door would not shut all the way, the tub had rust stains, and the sink had cracks in it. I did not even want to brush my teeth in that sink. I also want to mention that we thought we had only reserved 2 nights, however the clerk who checked us in said that we booked it for 3 nights. When we spoke with the manager/owner the next day to verify the booking and to see if we could possibly get some of the money refunded, she was so rude and condenscending. That sealed the deal for us, she has just lost 4 years of potential business. We will be telling all of the USMA parents to STAY AWAY from this place. The manager/owner needs to brush up her customer service skills. We will never stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DAD3393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, March 20, 2011
I am always amazed when something like this happens. Allow me to explain. We remember these customers. Back in December 2010 these customers made reservations with us for three nights during Plebe Parent Week in March. It was a pre-paid reservation for three nights. The dates booked were for a Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Eventually, Thursday, the first night of booking period arrives, but the customers don't. We still hold the pre-paid room. Friday arrives and so does the customers. The customers inform us that they stayed elsewhere because they thought they did not reservations for Thursday. We explained they did. They then stay with us for Friday and Saturday. On Saturday our Assistant Manager informs us that these customers want a refund for not arriving on Thursday. At check-out on Sunday the customers inform our Manager they want a refund for not staying on Thursday. Our manager explained that they were still responsible for the room even if they didn't arrive. Apparently, this was unsatifactory to ther eventhough a confirmation notice was sent for the three nights when the initial reservation was made. No commments whatsoever about the condition of room during the stay or at check-out. Then, a week later, their great review in Tripadvisor. I guest next time a customer wants to change their arrangements with their reservations we should just okay and eat the difference. Have they no shame. P.S . This was all recorded with picture and sound by our front desk security camera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We usually stay in Fishkill. But we needed convience to see our cadet longer on his short time of leave. But recently he was rewarded a pass and wanted to see the big apple. Even though we called 48 + hours in advance and we only book just a week and half earlier. They refuse to give us a refund or credit for future visit. We come a lot and with the plans of our cadet changing at the last minute, they should understand and have a better refund policy. But they know we need them on short time visits and will not make a exception. Sorry, but enough of these type of disapointing costumer reviews can hurt such a nice little place.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2010

The rooms were clean, neat and well laid out. The bathroom was impeccable. The staff was friendly and attentive. The coffee was great. Checking in and out was a breeze. Great location. In walking distance to West Point and very close to the Storm King Art Center. Will definitely return!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Murphy021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Thank you very much for such kind words. We are always trying to improve our little motel here in the beautiful Hudson Valley next to West Point. As we speak we continue to remodel our rooms with new bedding, furniture, bathrooms, carpets, wall coverings and sinks. We feel our new and repeat customers will notice the difference and value the improvements to our property. Once again, thanks for the kind review and hopefully see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Nothing fancy, but they provide a clean room at a decent price especially in that area. Decent muffin spread in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grad1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motelguy102, Owner at West Point Motel, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
We value your feedback concerning our rates. Even though we are the closest motel within walking distance of West Point we are always concerned with our rates. They are very, very competitive with others properties within the area. Our biggest plus is the fact that all our rooms have two queen beds: standard. In order to accomplish this, we constructed all our rooms, from the start, to be larger in square footage to hold this bedding and furniture. We continue to receive comments from our loyal customers concerning the large size of our rooms. We feel when you put a little extra from the start, over the long term, our customers benefit from it. And it shows. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland Falls
1.0 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
973 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Point
5.4 mi away
Inn on the Hudson
Inn on the Hudson
#2 of 2 in Peekskill
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Peekskill - Hudson Valley
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
759 reviews
8.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Central Valley
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Point Motel

Property: West Point Motel
Address: 156 Main St, P.O. Box 301, Highland Falls, NY 10928-1516
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Highland Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — West Point Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Point Motel in Highland Falls, NY has been family owned and operated since 1923, ideally located near West Point and Hudson Valley's largest attractions. For 90 years, we've provided affordable hotel accommodations and amenities to business and leisure travelers for short or extended stays. We are a quick eight miles from Woodbury Commons, the largest outlet mall in the country, the Appalachian Trail, and many wineries. Enjoy a relaxing vacation in the lush and historic Hudson Valley Region with us in one of our 51 spacious and non-smoking rooms fully equipped with refrigerators, air conditioning, Cable TV, coffee makers, hair dryers, and free wireless. Our remodeled motel offers a small continental breakfast of easy grab and go choices like bagels, muffins, juices and coffee to prepare you for the day. At West Point Motel, it's our mission to provide you with a comfortable and relaxing stay no matter the reason. Our staff is dedicated to your comfort and the ease of your trip. Book your stay and come cozy up in the greenery the Hudson Valley has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your West Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Point Hotel Highland Falls

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing