We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upstate NY's very own Disneyworld Resort!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocking Horse Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent the weekend at RHR with our 2 young boys and another young family/friends. It was great and refreshing from start to finish. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. The grounds/lodge were very well kept and clean- everywhere we went someone was vaccuuming or sweeping! All inclusive is so nice and stress free! We had booked an Oklahoma room (not attached to the lodge) and it was small and kind of stuffy, but we didn't expect anything fancy. When we saw our friends room (it was bigger and less damp/smelly) we mentioned it to management and they were extremely responsive. Even though the hotel was sold out they found a cancellation and upgraded our room to one in the lodge with bunk beds and more renovated bathroom. It was worlds better and I would definitely pay up for that room next time. We took advantage of many of the perks/activities the resort had to offer. My kids loved riding Callahan (definitely NOT a pony ride- grown horse!) over and over and the handlers were so great and the lines were never too long. We tried the paddle boats- so scenic! We loved the bungee trampolines, indoor pool/waterpark, bonfire, wagon rides, painting pumpkins and more!! The food was OK, nothing great and meals were somewhat hectic. But overall a really nice trip and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuckinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our first stay at the Rocking Horse Ranch (2 adults, one 3 y.o. and one 6 months old baby). From the moment we got it until the moment we left, the staff was always making sure the service was impeccable. I have to say, I have rarely seen such an enthusiasm to make things right. Our daughter loved the water park, the horse riding, the bungee and the kayak! Even parents were offered wine tasting and cheese samples from the Hudson Valley. Generally speaking, the choice of food was decent and the quality was also good considering the quantities they have to make every day.

Only negative aspect was the quality of the mattresses. They were not very comfortable...with back pain after 2 days. We were put in the Oklahoma wing where there wasn't any wifi connection either. If given the choice, try to be in the main wing which has wifi and easier to access the swimming pool.

I would highly recommend this resort. We stayed 3 nights but could have easily spent another night or two.

Room Tip: try to be in the main wing which has wifi and easier to access the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akshay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We went on a bus trip to the Rocking Horse Resort and spent 4 nights. It just happened to be senior week at the resort! Not high school seniors! The resort was very nice, great pools and
outdoor activity. I'm sure this is fantastic for kids in the summer. The unlimited horse-back riding was really nice. The staff at the resort were fantastic, knowlegable, helpful and friendly. The
rooms were rustic (to be expected) and were kept very clean as was the rest of the resort. The only down side was the food. The meals were more in line with the Old Country buffet etc and not what you would expect at a resort. Breakfast and lunch were buffet style and diner was served.

Room Tip: All rooms have 2 queen beds and some also have a set of bunk beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My 17 year old daughter and I have just returned from our tenth trip to Rocking Horse Ranch. We have been going every year over Columbus day with friends . This was our last trip for the next four years as my daughter will be off to college next year and we are definitely sad about that fact. My daughter rides all day long between the reserved rides and the standby line and she just loves the ranglers that she has gotten to know over the years, especially Scott and TJ, along with Patti, Sara, Alvaro and Shannon. And I am sure I have forgotten someone and I'm sorry about that. She was still hoping to ride Fireball but it didn't happen! (LOL). Thank you for a great ten years of fun. We love the place and I'm sure we will be back when it fits into our schedule!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spartabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We went for 5 days during great weather in the summer. We have a baby and older toddler. Lots of things to keep the toddler busy, from first thing in the morning until bedtime, though the ideal ages for RHR seems more 5-10. Very clean but not "luxury." My toddler routinely asks when we are going back...great memories.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank NMS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Went to rocking horse on a last minute whim last 2 days of September. As luck would have it kids stay for free! Had a lovely clean room in the Arizona wing and went straight to the corral to ride. We had to go standby as we didn't have a reserved spot at that time but we had no problem getting a horse. Took the beginner tour. It's 1 full hour of a beautiful ride thru the woods. The staff were knowledgable and friendly. Food was delish and so many other things to do. Highly recommend this wonderful gem!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisheyes67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had been dying to visit Rocking Horse ever since my sister in law had told me about her trip last year. It was something I really couldn't wait to take my three daughters to do. The pricing always seemed to be a little high for the price I could budget. I got quite luck on my last call to the ranch finding out that they were running excellent last minute specials. I quickly took my chance to book. Upon arriving to the ranch I was pleasantly surprised with the very clean unique surroundings. I can honestly say it was everything I pictured then some. I would recommend the ranch to anyone that loves the laid back feel of their surroundings, I felt safe letting the children roam and enjoy some freedom from their mommy.

The only bad parts of the trip was the fact that there were so many flies in the dining area, granted it is a horse ranch and this is to be expected I felt as though there has to be a way to reduce the massive numbers of them. The food for breakfast and lunch was quite boring and I found it more cafeteria style than resort. There was many seniors in house which made it a little awkward at times because my children didnt have a chance to meet many children their own ages,

The great aspects were that the Dinner was wonderful, many choices and high quality, the staff is exceptional always going above and beyond. The Front Desk Staff is worth their weight in gold, not matter how many times I annoyed them with silly requests and questions they always had a prompt answer delivered by a great attitude. The front desk manager Nikki is a true gem helping me with my trip in many ways and not batting an eye at any request I made. Victor in the dining room was also such an enjoyable person to speak with, he is so funny! Liz from the pool area was great with the kids and made me feel safe while they were in the water. They all made me feel as if I was a part of their family which is very rare now adays to find at a place. Whoever the owner is should feel proud that they have the staff they currently have as I place high value on each one.

I hope to visit the Ranch in the future, but hope they can purchase some bug spray before I arrive!

Room Tip: I would suggest to spend the extra few dollars to be in the Main Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
6.2 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
641 reviews
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Ranch Resort

Address: 600 State Route 44/55, Highland, NY 12528-2259
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Price Range: $399 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Inclusive Four Season Family Resort in the Hudson Valley We’re more than just horses… We’re the most fun your family ever had! We offer 4 seasons of indoor and outdoor activities for all ages. Our sprawling 500-acre property and beautiful private lake provides a scenic backdrop for your family’s next big adventure. Enjoy three delicious all-you-can-eat meals daily, prepared by our culinary team, many of whom are graduates of the Culinary Institute of America—right here in the Hudson Valley! End the night with top-name entertainment, featuring magicians, comedians, jugglers, and circus acts from around the world. Get cozy in our updated rooms with luxurious Simmons® plush top mattresses and Bunk Beds for the kids. It’ll be the best family vacation you’ve ever had! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocking Horse Ranch Hotel Highland
Rocking Horse Hotel
Rocking Horse Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing