We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best fun”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Highland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rocking Horse Ranch Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“best fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

i was there 3 days in Jan 2013. in short hotel 4 star, food 5 star, staff 5 star, attractions for a first timer skier its the best. but if you want to have every thing one one place with no travel. its the best i loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundthewourld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    265
    67
    18
    23
See reviews for
945
14
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

1st Visit in the winter. This was a weekend getaway for my grandson's 9th birthday. I must say each time I visit I love it more. The staff right from checking in to checking out just AMAZING. Even those standing outside to assist guests in the cold, did it with excitement and joy, and always a smile and nice words. Kindness all around. I am not sure how they do it, but I really have never experienced such a wonderful overall staff, including housekeeping.
The winter is tough for all of us, but they assured pleasure and fun. From the outdoor snowtubing, iceskating, and sking including lessons, to the indoor activites for all to enjoy.
Many activites for all defintely no reason to be bored. Meals are plentiful. Shows were great.
I have seen post complaining that price is a little high. It truly is not the case in my opinion when you factor in all your meals and all your activites this is a steal!!! GREAT DEAL. I have traveled a lot and believe me by the time you pay lodging, food and your choice of activities you pay just as much if not more. Even on a cruise ship where food is included you are paying additional for your activites. THIS IS A GREAT PLACE, keep up the good work. Our 4th visit and sure to not be our last.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just completing our second stay at Rocking Horse Ranch. It is the best! Others may try to imitate it but fall short in their attempts. The service, the facilities, the food and most of all the staff make vacationing with the family a pleasure. The new Magic Carpet accommodates skiers of all ages. Having staff on the slopes that come and help the new skiers get started and for the more experienced ones take the children they see can learn some techniques under their experienced wing is worth its weight in gold. Everywhere you turn there is staff anticipating your needs and ready to provide help. Hot chocolate is stationed by the skating pond at the foot of the slopes ready for young and old to warm up. There are even outdoor heaters stationed where parents and grandparents can watch the children and keep warm. The only thing I can compare this to is a family cruise, instead of on water on land. Will be checking out tomorrow and am looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Familytraveler360_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I and our 4 children went to RHR in August of 2010. It may sound expensive but everything is included and there is so much to do. The kids had a blast especially in the adventure pools and slides, rooms were comfortable and decor very fitting with the ranch style. all the staff were very friendly. Meals were very good and plenty of food all day long. We live right next door to Rocking horse in New Paltz and will be planning another trip there this summer. Its really good value as you can use all the facilities from 12:00 on your checking in day and stay all day when it's check out time so a 3 night stay is complete with 5 days of fun. I was reading the bad review and the owners response and I agree, if you have a problem with where you are staying then why come back? Sounds like management really went out of their way to make this person happy but I guess there will always be people who find fault with the smallest things or just like to look for trouble and get a discount! Can't wait to go back again this summer

Room Tip: We stayed in the wonderful large room for 6 people just inside the ranch near the swimming pool, goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you enjoy Horseback Riding, this is the place to go!
RHR is a laid back, warm comfortable place to bring your entire family of all ages! There is something for everyone!
We have been coming to RHR for 16+ years. My daughter was 2 when she rode her first horse! Soapy & Geronimo! That's when her obsession with horses started! Since then I have become a lover of horses.
I have nothing but amazing comments about the Ranch and the people at the stable! The Manager of the stables is professional, personable and makes you feel as if you are the most important guest at the Ranch.
It is well organized, and he puts a great deal of thought into who rides specific horses.
The wranglers are well trained, friendly & offer great suggestions to help you improve your riding skills and stay safe!
We LOVE and look forward to going because we always feel so at home.
To return and see lots of the same faces we have seen for years just tells you how family oriented the ranch is.
The food is delicious and plentiful. The rooms are spacious and clean and the new bathrooms look great!
I can't say enough great things about RHR and saw a picture stating it opened in 1958! I believe that speaks volumes about the place!

Room Tip: For me ~ upstairs in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I originally went to the ranch with a group. It was fun because of the people I was with and the freedom I saw the children have. As for the ranch as usual it was fraught with problems. I came back to the ranch at the insistence of a manager who gave me a credit. Upon my booking the trip I was shocked that my one night stay(two kids, two adults) was almost $900.00!! That would have been fine if I didn't feel like I was at a run down motel. There a a few things to do at the ranch but all very small scaled(great for a 7 year old) and often not working. There is very little to do for an adult and if its crowded you may not even find a seat. I traveled to Jamaica for 3 nights, had a nanny, ate on fresh food and alcohol was included. All this for 1200.00 including airfare. If you are with a group you won't notice but spend your money wisely if not. The staff is great but the management is riding an reputation which is not reality.

Room Tip: Room smelled of paint or some chemical. First floor rooms are VERY noisy and overhead foot steps are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ginandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockinghorseranch, Owner at Rocking Horse Ranch Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Gina,

We have gone above and beyond any reasonable expectation to meet your demands. You have stayed with us at least 3 times and each time there seems to be another new issue. You consistently ask for a refund or you threaten “to go to TripAdvisor.” Gina, we feel we have given you and your family an exceptional experience each time you’ve stayed with us (in fact, on your latest trip, you brought friends along with you to enjoy).

Your comments about being a “run down motel” are quite offensive and off-base. We have just spent almost $1 million dollars in renovating all of our Main Lodge bathrooms. Our grounds are award-winning and our room accommodations are top-notch—rated 3 diamonds by AAA, an un-biased rating system based on hotel standards from around the world. Additionally, your comments come after 2 other guests from your same weekend rated us 5-stars on TripAdvisor.

In our business we provide an exceptional and memorable experience for families, unfortunately in your case, we do not agree with your comments.

Respectfully,
Steve, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you or your family want to get away for a weekend to refresh yourselves then go to Rocking Horse Ranch for a weekend getaway. Just a few days there and you feel as if you were on holiday for a week. The food is better than ever and the staff welcome you and make you feel as if you are one of their family. It was so relaxing and quiet going on a horse trail ride, surrounded by snow on the mountain with a stream flowing by. Close to home yet far enough away that you feel as if you are in another world. Just got home and planning our next trip back

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to tell the reservations people, or any of the staff what you want, they will ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veslranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
16.8 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
9.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
4.7 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocking Horse Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocking Horse Ranch Resort

Property: Rocking Horse Ranch Resort
Address: 600 State Route 44/55, Highland, NY 12528-2259
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Rocking Horse Ranch Hotel Highland
Rocking Horse Hotel
Rocking Horse Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing