We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find! Awesome room, yummy breakfast, great hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stayed at the Stonegate for 2 nights for a getaway weekend from the city and to do some hiking in Minnewaska and Mohonk Preserve. We stayed in the Mountain View room which was really not much of a view but a very cute room with sitting area and large bathroom. We were served a full breakfast each morning of plenty of food and fresh fruit. The hosts (older couple) were very friendly but not intrusive. They also provide a 'guest' refrigerator in case you have any left overs or want to chill some wine. Only drawback is that it is located on a street with some street noise and not much to the grounds although there is a nice porch with rocking chairs. Would stay there again. Great find! Thank you Trip Advisor for helping me find this place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovemountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 132 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2009

Memorable breakfast of all home-made and fresh items, lovely sheets, kind, thoughtful, and discrete proprietors, great (and quiet) location for touring historic sites in the Hudson River Valley, all in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Posts-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

I had the privledge of staying three wonderful nights at this amazing Inn. The innkeepers were a delight to meet. They were celebrating their 50th anniversary. They greeted us every morning, and chatted with us for a few minutes. They were there if you needed them, but never intruded on your time.
The room I had was the Illinois Mountain room. The room was large with such a comfortable bed. The bathroom was hugh. There was a small sitting rooms with two wing back chairs, and three windows that allowed sunlight into the sitting area. This was one of the most comfortable rooms I have stayed in.
The breakfast is another story. Every morning we were served fresh fruit, juice, and a fresh baked product ( blueberry muffins, apricot and raspberry scones)French bread or pancakes and a delicious egg dish. Plus all the coffee you wanted.
I wil be returning to this wonderful Inn in May, and I so look forward to staying at this Inn.


Patti, Clifton Park NY

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda06_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

Wonderful "Victorian" B&B ... very clean ... lovely hosts ... great, comfortable bed ... terrific breakfast! Private and relaxing! Great find. Close to many attractions/restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Charming Victorian B&B--innkeepers are welcoming & kind but also give you plenty of space. The house is immaculately clean and breakfast is a fresh and delicious and home-made buffet.

Downside is that the b&b is located in the small and less picturesque city of Highland rather than in one of the larger and more populated towns on Hudson, but the distance keeps the prices very reasonable and makes the Stonegate a good launching pad for exploring the area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cmdshift4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

How do they provide what they provide for rates so much lower than other properties in the Hudson River Valley? And how are they still something of a secret? The common spaces were tastefully decorated, the room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast plentiful and delicious. The only complaint would be that the water pressure in the shower could be better, but older houses often have that problem. We will stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mdiv2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

My wife and I LOVE the Mohonk Mountain House (and grounds), but the cost has risen to many hundreds of dollars per night. So we found Stonegate B&B, a half hour's drive away. Since Stonegate participates in the Stash Tea B&B program (second night free), we stayed two nights for $115, including tax! This proved to be an excellent decision, since (see the pictures) we felt that the accomodations at Stonegate were very comparable to Mohonk's, the hosts were incredibly friendly, and Jane is a fantastic cook. For under $55 each, we had a superb lunch at Mohonk's Main Dining room, plus access to all the grounds and buildings until dinner time. If you love nature, Mohonk should be on your list. And if your budget is limited (or even if it isn't!) , add Stonegate as the natural place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank babybowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
170 reviews
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
435 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
2.4 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
268 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 34 North Rd, Highland, NY 12528-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range: $141 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonegate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th Century Victorian in a village setting centrally located near New Paltz, Hyde Park, Poughkeepsie and Hudson Valley Parks, Rail Trails, Wineries, Mansions and Colleges. Four guest rooms with private baths, TV/DVDs, A/C, king/queen beds, tastefully decorated and restored, one room with fireplace. Full breakfast served in dining room. Rates $130 to $190 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stonegate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing