We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Highland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
washington, dc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

Charming Victorian B&B--innkeepers are welcoming & kind but also give you plenty of space. The house is immaculately clean and breakfast is a fresh and delicious and home-made buffet.

Downside is that the b&b is located in the small and less picturesque city of Highland rather than in one of the larger and more populated towns on Hudson, but the distance keeps the prices very reasonable and makes the Stonegate a good launching pad for exploring the area.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cmdshift4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
72
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jarrell, Texas
Level Contributor
273 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

How do they provide what they provide for rates so much lower than other properties in the Hudson River Valley? And how are they still something of a secret? The common spaces were tastefully decorated, the room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast plentiful and delicious. The only complaint would be that the water pressure in the shower could be better, but older houses often have that problem. We will stay there again!

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The shower water pressure
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mdiv2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2008

My wife and I LOVE the Mohonk Mountain House (and grounds), but the cost has risen to many hundreds of dollars per night. So we found Stonegate B&B, a half hour's drive away. Since Stonegate participates in the Stash Tea B&B program (second night free), we stayed two nights for $115, including tax! This proved to be an excellent decision, since (see the pictures) we felt that the accomodations at Stonegate were very comparable to Mohonk's, the hosts were incredibly friendly, and Jane is a fantastic cook. For under $55 each, we had a superb lunch at Mohonk's Main Dining room, plus access to all the grounds and buildings until dinner time. If you love nature, Mohonk should be on your list. And if your budget is limited (or even if it isn't!) , add Stonegate as the natural place to stay!

  • Liked — The host and hostelss were incredible
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank babybowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2008

We had another fantastic stay at the Stonegate B&B over the Fourth. Both sets of parents came along with our 1 year old son.

The owners made us feel extremely welcomed and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. This is one of the only family-friendly B&Bs in town. A pack-and-play was set up for our son for no additional fee and there was a high chair and infant feeding items (plate, bowl, tableware) just for him. It was great not to travel with these additional items.

The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. There is a guest fridge, microwave, and ice maker in the dining room and wine glasses and DVDs in the hallway.

Breakfast in the morning is a treat! We had been raving about their breakfast and Jane did not disappoint. She prepared several casseroles (one veggie, one meat, and one sweet) and baked goods. We have stayed at many B&Bs across the country and this is the best breakfast we've had anywhere!

We love the location of the B&B because it's still close to the hiking in Mohonk and Minnewaska and the estates and the CIA on the other side of the Hudson.

This place is a find. The rates are extremely reasonable, the house is beautiful, the hosts gracious, and the location great.

  • Liked — The hosopitality, location, and great breakfast!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

My husband and I and my brothers and sister and spouses had a wonderful stay at the StoneGate for four week days in June 2008. The rooms were very pleasant, spacious, clean and well supplied. The wi-fi access worked flawlessly.

Best of all was the breakfast served up each morning. Jane served several varieties of freshly baked pastries, pancakes and freshly cooked quiches and other wonderful breakfast dishes. Fresh fruit each day. Both decaf and regular coffee. It was all made and ready at the time we requested and all we had to do was come down and eat!

The very nice owners, Neil and Jane Thomas, are there when you need them and not there when you don't want them.

The house itself is charming and prettily situated on a large grassy and well-planted lot in a quiet little town. It's conveniently located to Poughkeepsie, Hyde Park, the Culinary Institute of America (and its five restaurants) and to West Point. Much to do in the area.

The owners are very knowledgeable about the area and about local restaurants.

The room prices were very reasonable.

We had no complaints and highly recommend the StoneGate.

  • Liked — The great breakfasts
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything I didn't like about it
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank badger718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

We stayed one night and had a very relaxing, enjoyable time. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and Jane's breakfast was VERY yummy. The room was large and had everything we needed, included wireless internet and a DVD player. We brought our tandem and they even stored it in their garage for us. We will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank KATHLEEN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

We recently stayed in Stonegate BB for a weekend and enjoyed every minute of it. The rooms are well decorated and comfortable. Jane's breakfasts are delicious. There is always ice, glasses and a refrigerator available for the guests. Jane helped us to book a restaurant for the evening.

It is a perfect place to explore all the nearby mansions in Hyde Park and Rhinebeck from, as well as towns like New Paltz.

We had dinner at Stonehedge Restaurant nearby. Wonderful service and food.

  • Liked — Lovely family home open to visitors
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pampoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
4.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
11.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 34 North Rd, Highland, NY 12528-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonegate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th Century Victorian in a village setting centrally located near New Paltz, Hyde Park, Poughkeepsie and Hudson Valley Parks, Rail Trails, Wineries, Mansions and Colleges. Four guest rooms with private baths, TV/DVDs, A/C, king/queen beds, tastefully decorated and restored, one room with fireplace. Full breakfast served in dining room. Rates $110 to $160 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonegate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing