We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great details!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Highland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great details!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stonegate Bed and Breakfast has beautiful architecture, a calming setting, and a unique, eclectic feel. It was wonderful to wake up every morning to the aroma of a yummy home cooked breakfast and enter the dining room that always had an appealing table set. We also enjoyed relaxing on the porch in the evening.

The owners went above and beyond to make sure our stay was comfortable. In the end it exceeded my expectations:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    13
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Stonegate Inn was a wonderful experience. Neil and Jane were great hosts. The breakfast was to die for! Love the front porch for unwinding with a glass of wine. Very close to New Paltz and the local wineries. Price was reasonble. A can't miss stay!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mringie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Stonegate Bed and Breakfast was pleasant in so many ways, and provided an enchanting location for our stay. The innkeepers Neil and Jane Thomas were gracious and inviting. The enormous front porch, and beautiful property, lent themselves to being the perfect gathering spot for our group. The absolutely delicious breakfast prepared us for our daily adventure, and we looked forward to a relaxing unwind upon our return. I was pleasantly surprised that the common area offered lots of little gathering places inside so you could read or relax in your own little place. Definitely a home away from home!!

Room Tip: The beds were wonderfully comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Absolutely top notch. Scrupulously clean everywhere. Hosts (Neal & Jane) are friendly and helpful, rooms are beautiful and breakfast is delicious. Jane's home baking is superb. We stayed in the Fireside room which has a working gas fireplace that you can light with the click of a button. Recently updated bathroom, great shower. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daves27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muenchen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were having a fantastic stay for 2 nights at Stonegate. Neil and Jane were the perfect hosts, always happy and helpful in giving advice/ tips what to do and see in Hudson Valley. Our room was nicely decorated and very tidy, the breakfast was excellent, very diverse and freshly baked every morning.Free wifi included. We definitely recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights on our way north in the Fireside Suite. The room was a great value compared to other B&B's in the area. The room was extra large with ensuite bathroom. The bed was comfortable and linens were nice. The hosts are friendly and personable. breakfast was done with love and attention. We were treated to vegetarian and non-veggie egg omelets, home made breads and muffins, as well as fresh berries.The coffee was great. If you want to stay mid-Hudson Valley, this place is extremely well located across the river from Poughkeepsie and close to the FDR Presiential home and library as well as just about every other attraction plus about 40 minutes north of West Point.

We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but we did the Fireside Suite and appreciated the extra room but the other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stargatebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

A lovely old house, made very comfortable by the owners, who are welcoming and helpful. Excellent breakfasts. Very convenient location for all sorts of attractions. And there's a wonderful wraparound porch for just sitting and reading or watching the world go by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandC02482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
4.6 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 stars 286 reviews
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegate Bed and Breakfast

Property: Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 34 North Rd, Highland, NY 12528-1024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stonegate Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th Century Victorian in a village setting centrally located near New Paltz, Hyde Park, Poughkeepsie and Hudson Valley Parks, Rail Trails, Wineries, Mansions and Colleges. Four guest rooms with private baths, TV/DVDs, A/C, king/queen beds, tastefully decorated and restored, one room with fireplace. Full breakfast served in dining room. Rates $110 to $160 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Stonegate Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing