We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well.... not thrilled with this anymore..but it's the cheapest around for holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Highland NY
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“well.... not thrilled with this anymore..but it's the cheapest around for holiday”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I wrote a review for this last year and I was happier at that point.. . They need to upgrade... I hope hope hope that they will have made some changes by the time I stay there again..
. I stay in hotels all year.. and this was average to below. My bed actually made cardboard noises when I sat on it. I invited friends in to listen to it. They are still talking about it ! I stay there because I work in the area on holidays and the whole town rips you off re motels/hotels on holidays..
Manager was nice, front staff aloof.. (continental) breakfast attendant pleasant

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    112
    105
    70
    53
See reviews for
170
88
49
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, VA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Three friends and I stayed in this hotel for two nights for a mini-high school reunion. Two double rooms were booked, one smoking and one non-smoking as that was all that was left when we booked the hotel. When we checked in, we asked if there was a non-smoking room available and we were offered a king room that was non-smoking. We took it.....interestingly the king size room had a fridge and microwave and the double room did not. We received the same price for both rooms. The rooms were both spacious and very clean. The heating system was quiet (can't stand loud ones as I can't sleep well). The continental breakfast was indeed quite limited with a few pastries (which ran out quickly), bread, English muffins , oatmeal and two kinds of cereal. The lobby was large. There is a picnic table out back where a group was having a 'tail-gate party' one evening. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinmik89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel not only tries to rip you off by telling you the price is one thing and then tries to charge you a higher price when you checked it, also myself and my boyfriend were itchy the whole night ..god only knows what was in those sheets...
they suck

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monet999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Highland hotels

Rochester, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I stayed for two nights. I had a business meeting in Highland. Historically Super 8, at least to me, was not a great place to stay. But when I saw the online pictures, I was surprised. When I got there, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The reception area and lounge were very nice - with a nice waiting area, nice pool table area and plenty of food and beverage vending machines. The evening staff gave me menus for the local restaurants that delivered to the hotel. The morning staff helped me with mapquest instructions.
The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the windows actually opened! There's nothing fancy about the hotel but I would recommend it every time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank librariangirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I stay in New Paltz twice a year, participating in the Arts and Crafts Festival. I've been staying at the downtown New Paltz Super 8, which over the years has upgraded it's old facility and the prices got higher and higher, and we could not swallow a $ 200 sat night price tag any longer.. ( Memorial day and Labor day they jack up the prices )
We were delighted to find the Super *8 in Highland which is minutes further along by following Main street west..and WAY cheaper
and we will never go back again to the other one. Michelle, the general manager, was responsive to our needs.. the hotel is clean, modern, wide open lobby, our room was very clean ...a decent size, and nice windows..climate control was fine. They have a little continental breakfast, good vending machines and they sell little wines
and beers ( $ 4 )
Only criticism s..No refrig or microwave, she said they are working on it. and they made most of the first floor smoking.. why do hotels do that? Smoke rises ! Put the smokers on the 2nd floor ..
Pets are accepted at this hotel too. and... , as I said , it was clean. Rug looked brand new

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Somebody ought to tell the people who run this place that their proferred breakfast is neither substantial nor nutritious. I was there as part of a group for a long weekend recently and glad that the coffee was acceptable (and the coffee maker in my room was lacking a pot!); the provisions were minimal. A few inexpensive donut type pastries ran out quickly, leaving white bread or toast as alternatives - not even rolls or bagels, and no cream cheese. There were a couple of cold cereals, as well as tea, milk, cocoa and two kinds of instant oatmeal. No fruit, no yogurt, nothing more substantial. I didn't expect breakfast meats, grits or eggs or even more hot cereals than the instant oatmeal - all of which I've had in other motels breakfasts included in price - but this was a big disappointment, even for a budget motel.

In other respects, the rooms were clean and well attended to, and my no smoker did not reek of smoke. The shower and cable TV worked well and the staff was courteous - also helpful when it came to recommending restaurants. I'd probably go there again but will go out for breakfast.

  • Liked — Hudson Valley location
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Whoppalova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2007

If your idea of a healthy breakfast is CARBS / SUGAR and watery fruit punch as juice - this is the place to stay. I asked for yogurt or fruit for breakfast and the reply was "that's an optional breakfast" Super-8 doesn't provide that" When I responded that the 2 Super-8 locations that I had stayed at in June provided fruit and yogurt choices - I received the verbal tap dance. The Front Desk was minimally polite if you interrupted their PERSONAL phone calls or Web-surfing. Our room was marginally clean for the first night - but had much improvement when a complaint was lodged with housekeeping. I'd try looking elsewhere before booking here again.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BB_94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
149 reviews
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
589 reviews
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
346 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Highland NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Highland NY

Property: Super 8 Highland NY
Address: 3423 US Highway 9w, Highland, NY 12528-1902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Highland NY 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Highland NY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Highland Hotel Highland
Super Eight Highland
Highland Super Eight
Highland Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing