We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so dissapointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vigneto Cafe Restaurant

Vigneto Cafe Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 41 Restaurants in Highland
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Highland, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“so dissapointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

When Vigneto first opened it was very good in all ways. food was well prepared, service was great. I have been back with friends 3 or 4 times in that last 6 months, always thinking it may resort back to the good old days, but NO. my last horror meal was chicken Saltinbocca, well I have never in my life seen such a mess. Two rolls of chicken swimming in some kind of yellow non distinct sauce--.that was only one disaster, there have been many in the past. So sorry as it was so nice to have a good restaurant in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D0rinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    20
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We met friends for dinner here. Pleasantly surprised at the decor. Sadly that was the best part. Food was generous, but lacking in flavor. Veal was drowning in the sauce and had been double dipped in unseasoned bread crumbs, not good. $25.00 for eggplant! $9.00 for the tiniest slice of cheesecake I have ever been served. Service was slow, and the place was empty! Very disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank olivia056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

We just recently moved into the area and were looking for a great local Italian restaurant in Highland, Vigneto wasn't it. The place is small but intimate and clean. The staff was very friendly but the food was not what you expect at an Italian restaurant. We ordered our meal with salad. They served us the salad which contained corn in the salad. I have never had an Italian salad with corn in it, The salad wasn't bad just plain. Two minutes after getting our salad our entrees came to the table. They really did not time out the meal very well. I ordered the eggplant rolatini with a side of angel hair pasta and sauce and my wife ordered the chicken francese. The eggplant rolatini was very plain and had very little flavoring. The main problem with the dish was that the sauce tasted burnt. The sauce had the same burnt taste on the angel hair pasta. My wife ordered the chicken francese which had a nice taste but lacked parsley. She ordered a side of vegetables which were drenched in butter. Not a great dining experience and will look elsewhere for our Italian food in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank salem1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
““An experience to remember” “Simply the best””
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

First, the ambiance is deeply romantic - swanky, luxurious and cozy. It's the kind of place one imagines the likes of Frank Sinatra or Dean Martin tucking into a delicious meal after their shows.We had a great dinner at the Vigneto Cafe. It was one of the best meals I have had in a long time. The service was fantastic, the restaurant is clean and well appointed. I would definately go back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vlora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
235 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great place for a fast lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Wasn't very busy for lunch but I wanted take out anyway..Ten minutes and I was out of there..I can't remember the name of the pasta dish I ordered,,it had shrimp,,large noodles and fra diavolo sause..It was very good but they did't give me any bread..Next time I will stay and try another dish..The restaurant is located on Vineyard Avenue less than 30 seconds from rt 9w and not that far from SUNY New Paltz and Poughkeepsie,.(just across the Mid Hudson bridge).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeropero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vigneto Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vigneto Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing