We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Highland
1 review
“Very very bad experience”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was hopeful by the looks of the newly remodeled exterior and room, but boy was I wrong!!! I awoke at about 3:45am to use the bathroom and to my disgust there were bugs crawling all over the floor. And when I say bugs Im not talking a couple, it was more like 40-50 crawling around!! The room also felt very damp. I informed the manager and he offered me nothing but a different room. I Booked through Expedia so I guess that's what I get...Beware!!! Never again!!!
Unless you enjoy having bugs crawling all over your $80 room

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The traveling man2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am so sorry that you were dissatisfied with the accommodations we offered. Being situated near the "woods", we try very aggressively to keep bugs from coming into our rooms, but it appears in your room we needed to try harder. It was a pleasure to serve you, and we hope to have that opportunity again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    11
    8
    11
See reviews for
13
8
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Due to reading tripadvisor we were not disappointed . No it is not renovated . Just spruced up . Low priced spruce up at that . The bathrooms are recently done and large as is the room . A/C works well and rooms are clean . Safe quiet area . Breakfast is bagel and cream cheese with coffee . Coffee and bagels are fresh and various choices . We used them as snacks for hiking and purchased breakfast which was very , very good . Very nice atmosphere in the cafe . Cafe staff and motel owners are friendly . The rooms are NOT as pictures as stated by a previous person . Wall paper was cut , pictures not straight with a pencil mark still visible underneath . I can go on and on . Motels can take a beating but you need to stay on it . The cost of box finish nail's and a tube of caulk are not going to run you out of business . Gas station across the street , strip mall near by and lots of good eats in the Hamlet of Highland . Antique stores and Walkway over the Hudson just 1-2 mins drive . We would stay again due the convenient spot . We visited Woodstock , Highland , Walkway Over The Hudson and Hyde Park . So good spot in very quiet area right off the Mid Hudson bridge So it was a good stay just not what the motel is claiming . My wife had a problem sleeping comfortably although i slept loke a baby .

Room Tip: Try to get a 2nd floor room . Others on first floor have complained of noise We were on the 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am glad you were satisfied with the value we offer for your hard earned dollar, and I am sorry that you had a few issues with the room. I have now relocated myself and my family to an apartment on the premises, and I will be doing a room-by-room maintenance check to see what is needed immediately, and to plan for more long-term improvements. It was a pleasure to serve you, and we hope you will visit again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Highland hotels

Alexandria VA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights to race BMX at the Kingston Point BMX track about 30 minutes away.

Based on other reviews and other stays I had had elsewhere, requested a 2nd floor room. Stayed in room 210, which was fine. Double queen beds. Upon first impression, did like the room. It did have sort of an old place musty type smell, but was not that bothersome. Just seemed like it was an older place. The wood floors looked nice. And the bathroom was renovated. Had a round shower sliding door. Nice sink with cabinet and mirror. And the room was very spacious.

On the details though, there were a couple of annoying things. The sink faucet spigot is way too close to the bowl to be effective. You are basically rubbing your hands and toothbrush on the side of the sink to use the water. Also, the cabinet space was worthless. Need more counter space for sure as there was very little. Also, if you see that guests are using the towels/wash cloths to put their stuff on (like cups they brought from home), I felt they should have given extra towels/wash cloths for us to still use. Yeah, I could have asked for more, but just didn't want to bother. Just give extra.

Re noise level. Seemed like there was highway on 2 sides of the hotel. So a bit noisy w/ the AC off re traffic. It was a catch 22. Leave the AC off to have a quieter room for sleeping, but get traffic noise, or leave the AC on to block out the traffic, but then still have noise for sleeping from the AC. So sleep quality was only so so.

I believe if you go south on 9W (to the right out of the hotel), you'll come across a very good diner and further down the road is a main grocery store. To the left out of the hotel, I think North on 9W are 2 very good restaurants: Frank's Steakhouse and Global Palate. Global is a bit more unique and has more variety. Both are a little pricey, although the diner was pricy and not as good, but I would definitely eat at either again. I highly recommend them. The little store next to Franks is good too.

DO NOT eat at the College Diner that is open 24 hours in New Paltz off 299. Service was terrible. Took so long for the waitress to come by that we almost left to drive the 16 miles to Denny's, but were so tired, stayed. She never came around after getting the food either. Just a total waste and will never go back. The diner down the street from the hotel on the other hand is very nice and had very good service. That one is fine, just not open 24 hours.

The bagels and bites associated w/ the hotel is ok. Would have preferred to have cereal, milk, juice, fruit, and muffins included. Even though the bagel was included, which apparently in the future it won't be, 1 bagel with some cream cheese doesn't really cut it for breakfast. Especially when the room is so pricey. Didn't even bother with the bagel for 2 out of 3 mornings.

Beds were fine, location was good, they allow pets which is a huge plus. Peter the check-in person was very friendly. Room was spacious with plenty of lighting. Closet area for hanging clothes was good. So decent stay and decent place.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 210 on the 2nd level with 2 queen beds. Was in the middle of the walk way/building a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oquick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am glad you were satisfied with the value we offer for your hard earned dollar. We recently instituted our offering of "continental breakfast" at our on-premises bagel cafe; although the bagel with topping and coffee that is included with your stay is more than the standard "continental" fare offered by most hotels, we realize that everyone's tastes differ, so the owner of the cafe is pleased to offer our guests a discount on any item that is on their menu in lieu of the bagel and coffee....I am sorry you were not made aware of that. It was a pleasure to serve you and we hope to be of service to you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

There are more problems to this hotel than being overpriced. Wow - this place was gross! Bugs everywhere - outlets that weren't screwed into the wall properly. The bed linens just felt dirty. The room was just disgusting. This should have been priced more around $20 for the night....I would never stay here again!

Oh - and the neon sign says "rennovated rooms" ...someone needs to get a dictionary.

Room Tip: There aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am very sorry that you were dissatisfied with your accommodation. The "newly renovated" on our sign refers to upgrading we did on all rooms in 2010 and 2011 which included wood veneer flooring in all but one room, and all bathrooms have been fully renovated with new fixtures, ceramic tile flooring, modern showers, etc. Unfortunately, our location being in front of a large amount of undeveloped "woods", there are sometimes issues with bugs getting into the rooms; we do our best to remedy this, but when the doors open they welcome themselves in. We will have to be more aggressive in this regard in the future. It was a pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A very nice and accommodating couple runs this place, but our room was not "recently renovated." The floors are not carpeted and we were woken up early every day by the people in the room above us walking around. We had to leave the air conditioner fan on high for "white noise." Otherwise, a good value for the area.

Room Tip: Request one on the 2nd floor with a renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTExcellentAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your honest review. I am glad you were satisfied with the value we offer for your hard earned dollar, and I am sorry that you had a few issues with the room. All but one room at Americas Best Value Inn Highland Poughkeepsie had wood veneer flooring installed in lieu of carpeting during our recent renovation, and all bathrooms have been fully renovated with new fixtures, ceramic tile flooring, modern showers, etc. I understand your issue with the noise from above, but we had cleanliness and your health in mind when installing these floors because carpeting tends to keep germs and bacteria in them and under them. Some of our rooms have throw rugs in the most walked areas (near the beds) and we plan on installing more of them. Thanks again, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

So if you have read any of my other reviews of this area, you will already know that I only come here Memorial and Labor Day weekends. Hotels/motels fill up long in advance and charge exorbitant rates. In Sept 2012 I stayed in a great room at the Atlas Motel..and tried to book it for Memorial Day 2013, but it was already booked. The manager, Neil.. persuaded me to trust the ongoing renovations at their 'sister hotel' America's Best Value Inn. Truthfully, I was reluctant.. but I trusted him. I was right to do so.

Flash forward 9 months, I can't find my reservation info. (I found it later,) and in this area, you can not NOT have a reservation on a holiday.so I will confess to an all out panic, .. . However, they found it in a heartbeat and forwarded it to me pronto. Personal service began right there.

The Inn is easy to roll by. Use the Bagel place as your landmark as it is right behind it. It is a two level connectedfacility..and I was on the 2nd floor. the photo of the exterior shown is true. I was in room 207and had an excellent experience. As I understand it, all of the rooms have been renovated to different degrees .. but there are commonalities. good plumbing, bath fixtures.. beds..modern t.v.s, microwaves, refrigerator..
My bathroom had quality matching fixtures ,..large attractive tiles.. hairblower and could have slept a family...... But I'm quite sure they are not all that big ! Surprisingly, my room also had granite top tables and a bigger than average tv.. guess it pays to book 9 months in advance ! the floor was woodgrain, with an attractive unusual circular rug.. and the bed quality was very good. My room faced a back area . felt private and countrish...everything green and I liked that a lot .. There was a large chair that opened into a bed if needed. Lighting was also good in the room,adequate..intelligently placed plugs. Coffeemaker
(, but I'd recommend the on premises bagel shop instead). Convenience store and gas across the street.. It was quiet and yet very close to highway .. Center of New Paltz 10? minutes away. The only issue I had, was with wifi in my room, and manager was surprised to hear it.. but thought it might be the storm we were having. He said there is an alternative host to use if this should ever happen in future and to ask the front desk.
I never mentioned the price. It was drastically less than the other hotels/motels in the area for the same weekend, and they ...with seriously mixed reviews. I wish more places had management that was responsive like this and I will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: I was on 2nd floor and floor is wood. , I imagine if you were beneath me, you would have heard me dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, General Manager at America's Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank-you so much for your honest and thoughtful review. We appreciate your business at both of our properties in Highland, NY, and look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was looking for affordable accommodations for my wife and I in New Paltz and read the reviews of the available choices and was very scared!!
Each place was worst than the next. So I expanded my search to include nearby communities.
That’s where I came upon America's Best Value Inn in Highland NY.
Believe me this place is no Taj Mahal but as far as decent accommodations this place was OK.
The rooms are a bit worn but ours was clean and neat with adequate supplies.
A refrigerator and microwave were also in the room which is a plus
A small coffee shop attached is available for coffee and breakfast and a convenience store is across the highway from the motel.
All in all our two days stay was comfortable and secure..

Room Tip: You do hear the people above you when you are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjm2463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highland
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
415 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
132 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
4.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
340 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn

Property: America's Best Value Inn
Address: 3497 Route 9W (corner Grand Street), Highland, NY 12528 (Formerly Mick's Motel)
Location: United States > New York > Highland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Highland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Highland/Poughkeepsie, conveniently located halfway between Albany, New York and New York City. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV with HBO, desk with lamp, and free local calls. Children age 10 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, Americas Best Value Inn Highland/Poughkeepsie provides comfortable accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour front desk staff to help you feel at home. Our hotel is close to the Walkway Over the Hudson, Bardavon 1869 Opera House, and Rocking Horse Ranch. Other area attractions include the FDR Presidential Library and Museum, Eleanor Roosevelt Historic Site, and Mohonk Mountain House. There are plenty of nearby hiking, bicycling, and shopping locations. Restaurants within a mile of our hotel include Casa Mia Restaurant, Would Restaurant, and Gateway Diner. At Americas Best Value Inn Highland/Poughkeepsie, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your America's Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing