We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky - for better or for worse”
Review of Egg's Nest Saloon - CLOSED

Egg's Nest Saloon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Funky - for better or for worse”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This place was recommended to us by someone who started off by saying, "You should check out this place... actually, I hate it, but my wife likes it."

Not a ringing endorsement. But we were hungry and wanted something close to where we were staying. When we got there, the place was packed! Thankfully, we were able to get a table quickly. A man who I was told was the owner was moving to and fro and helping out the staff where he could. If so, I can appreciate that sort of owner!

Our servers were friendly, the drinks were good, and we enjoyed our meal. As promised, the decor was a little wild, but it didn't bother me. Overall, there was a friendly vibe to the place - the family with four kids under 10 was just was welcomed as the table of 6 college kids next to it. I liked it and think it's worth a visit.

A final note, the listing says "late night dining".... while we were in no way rushed out the door, we were out of there by 9:30 on a Saturday night and it was a ghost town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sypremeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, Owner at Egg's Nest Saloon, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for giving us a try and for writing a review! We appreciate feedback, both positive and negative, as it helps us look for places to improve. Also, thanks for pointing out that the listing said "late night dining". We are open until 10:00 pm on weekdays and 11:00 pm on Friday and Saturday, but "late night" is relative. Per your input, we changed the listing. Thank you for saying that it's worth a visit too! Please do come back again and if you so, make sure to say hello!

Sincerely,
Richard Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    57
    11
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is ok but sounds & looks more special than it tastes.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Our server was very nice and efficient. They don't take plastic, so luckily there is a handy ATM machine by the door. The atmosphere is a feeling of crowded with too many tables and stuff. The walls are totally covered with paintings, do-das and what-nots, all with a coating of dust. Hope you don't mind eating with a spider web above your head!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly11-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, Owner at Egg's Nest Saloon, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Eggs Nest. We appreciate feedback, both positive and negative, as we are always looking for ways to improve. Your input will make a difference in the Eggs Nest going forward.

Sincerely,

Richard Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best food in the Catskills!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

As regular hiker in the Catskills, go the Eggs Nest whenever we're in the area since the food is always outstanding here. 3 of us went last week after hiking and as usual, did not disappoint. Had the Pesto/Roast Beef wrap, which is one of my favorites. Another in our party had their most popular dish, the "Thanksgiving" sandwich and she said it was fabulous.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, Owner at Egg's Nest Saloon, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Bill, thank you for the glowing review! We love hearing that the food is "outstanding"! And we also appreciate your repeat business! Please do say hello next time you come in. It's been perfect climbing weather this week!

Sincerely,
Richard Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The decor is wild--the food surprisingly good!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This little place is a visual feast of color, art and crafts. For some reason, I had low expectations of the food--figuring that there would be less emphasis on that. I was totally delighted, then, to have a yummy meal. I ordered a salad that is usually served with chicken and they obligingly substituted seitan. It was the most delicious seitan I have ever eaten (some kind of amazing sauce). It came with corn bread that ROCKED. And i am a corn bread aficionado.

The servers on the day we were there were all women over 60 years old--perhaps they've been working there since the place opened? They were fast and helpful and nice. The only less than great note was the chocolate mousse which just wasn't all that chocolatey. They seemed to have other great desserts and when I got back, I'll try them for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, Owner at Egg's Nest Saloon, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Lisa, thank you for taking the time to review the Eggs Nest. We love that you appreciate the visual aspects as well as the food and that you were "totally delighted! " with your meal! Please do let us know if you come back in again and let us treat you to dessert!

Sincerely,
Richard Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting place, food is OK.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Egg's Nest is visually very interesting to look at. The owner is an artist, and all the walls and tables are hand-painted. Quirky place, but the service is friendly and competent. I would say that the food is OK, but not terrific. Worth visiting just to look at. They would not accept reservations when we call, so get there early or stand in line.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank washalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard M, Owner at Egg's Nest Saloon, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Eggs Nest. We appreciate feedback, both positive and negative, as we are always looking for ways to improve. Your input will make a difference in the Eggs Nest going forward.

Sincerely,

Richard Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egg's Nest Saloon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing