We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charm, privacy, and delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Little Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Little Guest House
Ranked #4 of 6 High Falls B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Charm, privacy, and delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We've stayed at many places in the area, and this is one of our favorites. It's a great location for accessing the gunks, without having to deal with crowded New Paltz. As the name implies, it is a guest house, in that the owners live separately on the property, in a beautifully converted barn. So guests get the house to themselves. The main floor is a cozy living room, dining room and kitchen. The upstairs has a queen room and two single rooms, and a bathroom, great set-up for a family (and they do take kids, though better for ages 5 and up, I imagine). The lower room, where we stayed, is lovely and cozy and has it's own bathroom and private garden entrance. Since the guest bedrooms are on the 1st and 3rd floors, we barely heard the other 4 guests. The food is wonderful, we also had a delicious chocolate cake waiting for us. There is fresh-baked bread. and scones and all manner of other delicious food for breakfast, really a cut above. And the owners are lovely, interesting people, who will give you as much privacy as you desire. And the price is really reasonable for the area. High Falls and nearby Rosendale are cute towns, and have several good restaurants. Also, there is no 2-night minimum!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cobblehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henniker, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Three of us stayed here during a workshop in the area and what a find! We were welcomed with a cake and wine, showed through the lovely cottage that exceeded our expectations and got to swim in the pool surrounded by trees and a garden. The hosts have made this an exceptionally comfortable place with all the amenities. We were served an amazing breakfast everyday that couldn't be found in any restaurant in the nearby communities. This is a real treasure of a place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fenwrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

What a find! This b&b is charming and comfortable, with lots of pretty touches around the house. Reading the paper in the living room with the afternoon sun streaming through the windows and playing badminton outside was very relaxing. The food was delicious and the area has so much to offer. Hay rides and admiring the foliage were enough for a full weekend, but there are plenty of cultural opportunities we're eager to go back for!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank braeburn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

We were two couples visiting for a fall foliage weekend. We chose A Little Guest House because the pictures were appealing and they were willing to take us for a single night. We were a bit nervous because at that time we couldn't find a single review on the net, but in the end we would have loved to stay longer!

The house is a comfortable mid-nineteenth century cottage with charming fireplaces, exposed beams, and pretty views. The beds were piled high with fluffy comforters and quilts (even though we had control of our own heat, wow!). Gill is a graphic designer and you can see signs of that (literally haha) throughout the house. The only negative I can say is that the wifi connection is difficult to access (or apparently impossible, depending on your particular device) but we were mostly busy relaxing or going on outings anyway. If you choose the downstairs bedroom (the one with the fireplace and garden) be sure you are prepared to climb some steep old stairs.

When we arrived the innkeepers, Rob and Gill, had a homemade chocolate cake and a carafe of white wine ready for us. Breakfast was sourdough pancakes, fresh fruit, homemade muffins, homemade granola, etc.. -- all delicious.

Outside there is an in-ground pool and plenty of space to play badminton, etc. This is a perfect place for an extended family to stay for a night, a week, or more. Because the house is on 3 floors it is easy for everyone to find both togetherness and privacy.

The area is wooded and quiet but fun. Rob and Gill, who live in a renovated barn on the property, are thoughtful and cosmopolitan hosts who will point you toward good restaurants, hiking trails, etc., within walking distance or a short drive. There is plenty to do in the area -- hike in the Mohonk preserve, go apple-picking, visit a vineyard, walk a corn maze, dine at the Culinary Institute of America (but you must plan months ahead), go to performances at SUNY New Paltz, visit historic Huguenot Street or the artsy/crunch shops in New Paltz, etc. We're eager to return...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Falls
7.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast
2.6 mi away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
New Paltz Hostel
New Paltz Hostel
#1 of 2 in New Paltz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
6.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Little Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Little Guest House

Property: A Little Guest House
Address: 16 School Hill Rd, High Falls, NY 12440-5210
Location: United States > New York > High Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in High Falls
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing