We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better than this!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Stone Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in High Falls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Stone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Blue Stone Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 6 High Falls B&B and Inns
Woodside, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It doesn't get any better than this!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our third visit to Blue Stone Cottage since the previous spring. We keep coming back for the beauty of the place - not only are all the rooms beautifully decorated - the entire B & B is suffused with the feeling of love. There is something really special about Heidi, the owner. After a few minutes of talking with her, you feel that you have made a life-long friend. Not only does she prepare breakfast feasts fit for royalty, she takes each guest's individual needs into consideration. Before you even arrive, she will inquire as to your food allergies, likes and dislikes! It's clear from conversing with her, she really wants you to enjoy your stay. She is happy to make personalized recommendations for local dining, shopping, entertainment, etc. Then there are the grounds, filled with all sorts of wild life. Each time we've seen quite a few deer at close range. What a treat this place is for all the senses! I cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wind V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were looking to get out of the city for a summer weekend and head somewhere woodsy where we could relax and recharge. Blue Stone Cottage and Heidi -- who owns the place, cooks all the delicious three-course breakfasts and will regale you with a plethora of entertaining tales upon request -- were just what the doctor ordered. My wife and I awoke each morning to a mouthwatering breakfast: chocolate-chip scones, pancakes with fresh blueberries from her son's organic garden, savory quiches, yogurt with homemade preserves. Every dish was better than the last. And the house itself was gorgeous. The room was spacious and clean, boasting a W Hotel bed that may have actually been more comfortable than the beds they have at the W. The finely manicured backyard with a koi pond was perfect for relaxing during the day, and great for having a moonlit picnic and stargazing at night. And the location was ideal: just a few minutes drive from Mohonk Mountain Preserve, where we were able to go on a 10-mile hike, half-hour boating excursion and a rock scramble -- all fueled by one of those super-breakfasts. Also a few miles drive away were the quaint town of New Paltz and a boatload of Hudson Valley vineyards (our favorite was Robibero). Not surprisingly, we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

The place is just awesome. It's just about what couple like us in our 60s need and should have as a get away from all the hustle and bustle of daily living. A serene atmosphere where you can just hear birds chirping and the water ripple from their pond with their koi family, proudly introduced to us its babies by the owner Heidi who is a superb host and great cook. How else can one spend a well deserved retreat. The whole landscape, the interior with its individual character, the kettle and the bird house collections that greatly caught my attention because I too collect these stuff. Heidi's better half did a great job as well with the wood structure, gazebo and archway. We are into wood design business ourselves and how they've transformed this wood into something exotic greatly amazed us.
Our stay even for just a night was just terrific we will never forget, that's why we'll surely be back. It's a highly recommended place to be if one wants serenity and romantic moment with a loved one especially to the younger generation. And for the not so old, a place to be to relive those period in time when grandchildren were but a thousand times away in your thoughts.
Rob and Lucrecia Young

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_prairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

My husband and I spent a three day weekend at Blue Stone Cottage and it was a little slice of heaven. The entire cottage was warm and inviting and charmingly decorated - we immediately felt at home. Books and magazines were abundant and provided hours of leisure and relaxation both in the living room and on the enclosed porch listening to the softly flowing water from the koi pond. Heidi was the perfect hostess and an excellent cook and baker. The gourmet breakfasts we were served were exactly that and each one was delicious. Heidi gave us excellent suggestions for dinners and for our day trip to the Mohonk Mountain House. We had planned a relaxing and romantic weekend and the Blue Stone Cottage Bed and Breakfast more than fulfilled our expectations. We're looking forward to a return visit in the Spring.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookwrmmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed overnight for a romantic getaway. The house is wonderfully decorated, and each room had its own special decor. Heidi, the owner, has great taste, and the house reflects this. The place is super clean, very welcoming. What a great opportunity for relaxation. She's also an amazing cook--the breakfast was outstanding. One great feature: the owner lives in a home behind the B&B, so there's no feeling of having to tiptoe around in someone else's house while they are there--you and other guests are the only ones in the place. We had dinner at Mohonk Mountain House nearby, and there are wonderful restaurants in High Falls (The Eggs Nest, Northern Spy, Chefs on Fire and the Dupuy Canal House)--all within about a 10 minute drive. There are many opportunities to hike in the area (Mohonk Mountain House and the Mohonk Preserve, Lake Minnewaska), or sightsee (historic Huguenot St. in New Paltz, the falls and old canal in High Falls). Great place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishman1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

From the minute I arrived I felt relaxed and taken care of by Heidi. She made be feel so welcome. The homemade food is delicious and when she says three courses she means it!! And what is so nice is that if you don't finish it all she will wrap it up and leave it in the frig for later. The bed was amazing,I've never slept so well away from home before. I'll go back again and again!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed three nights in early October and really enjoyed the experience. Heidi is a gracious and caring host who assured we were comfortable in all respects. The B&B was incredibly clean and well-furnished. The bed was comfortable and the room cozy. Breakfasts were sumptuous on weekend day.

The area was very quiet. Despite being way out in the country, we had excellent cellphone service (on AT&T).

Blue Stone Cottage has pretty grounds with a gazebo, a sitting area and a water feature.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snsokstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Falls
6.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
9.5 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
2.0 mi away
Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - New Paltz
2.9 mi away
Blue Willow Bed And Breakfast
Blue Willow Bed And Breakfast
#1 of 7 in Stone Ridge
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mohonk Mountain House
Mohonk Mountain House
#1 of 6 in New Paltz
4.0 of 5 stars 1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Stone Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Stone Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Stone Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 440 Mohonk Rd, High Falls, NY 12440-5301
Location: United States > New York > High Falls
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in High Falls
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing