We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and Romantic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 High Falls B&B and Inns
boynton beach, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing and Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2007

The grounds are amazing and really set the mood for a wonderful getaway.
My stay was over a year ago, I now live near the beach in Florida but I still find myself wanting to go back for a visit! The grounds are beautiful and serene and I couldn't imagine any season being spent here any better than the next.
I chose this place for my first bed and breakfast experience because it wasn't too "lacey" and "hoity toity" looking and was close to mohonk and lake minnewaska. The rooms were comfy and clean and had such sweet touches.
Judy and her husband were more than helpful with directions and neat places to go and even helped with phone calls when our cellphones faltered.
The breakfast was more than worth getting up for rather than sleeping, I can still smell the fire and taste the amazing treats including those cookies they keep stocked!
My personal favorite is the hammock down by the water, I was asleep in five minutes!
I really really recommend this place, especially if mohonk house is too rich for your tastes or you just want a private, romantic and cozy place to spend a weekend.

  • Liked — The serene setting
  • Disliked — leaving.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank laracrika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    18
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
16
69
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

Our friends recommended this B&B. After checking out the website, we decided to give it a try for an antiquing trip in NY. We are so glad that we did. The rooms were so comfortable and clean. I wish I could stay there every day just for Judy's stuffed french toast alone! (The quiche was amazing too). The B&B was full when we stayed, so we met other interesting people at the breakfast. The food and conversation was a great way to start the day. Also, the stream in the backyard was so relaxing. I spent about an hour in a hammock with a book just listening to the stream. I would definintely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for warm innkeepers, comfortable accomodations, and a relaxing environment.

  • Liked — The food and the atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Nothing!! I'd go back in a heartbeat!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingT0ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

What a wonderful bed and breakfast! We stayed at Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast this past month and had a very relaxing time due to the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms and the very friendly and inviting hosts, Judy and Bill. The breakfasts are delicious and plentiful....a multi course meal including fresh fruits, homemade scones, stuffed french toast, eggs, bacon and the list goes on! After Judy's breakfasts we did not have to eat lunch! The use of antique china, candle light and eating by a wood burning fireplace (there were a couple of cool mornings) is exactly what we imagined a b & b to be!
Finally, the grounds are picturesque and peaceful with lovely trees shading a running stream where you can sit and enjoy the "visits" from the chickens, cats and Beau...the resident golden retriever! We will definitely be back for return visits.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravelerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

The innkeepers were wonderful and very welcoming. However, what is NOT mentioned on their website is that actual B&B is right next to a state route which is fairly frequently traveled. Since the B&B is located at the bottom of two hills, the cars can be heard for quite some time as they descend one side and then go up the other side. We stayed in the main inn large private suite thinking it would be very quiet and romantic, but the cars were kind of bothersome (aka one every 5-10 minutes all night long). Closing all the windows helped somewhat. Probably if you stayed at the Carriage House, the nearby waterfall would drown out the noise of the road. Also, there was quite a lot of potpourri around the main house, which kind of bothered my allergies. That being said, the innkeepers were very nice and it was a good place to stay while exploring the area.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank yung-ting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2007

We were looking for bed and breakfasts for our trip along the Hudson, and noticed this one. The reviews told us to give it a try and we are soooo glad we did! The hosts greeted us warmly, answered all of our questions (and were quite detailed in directions to the places we wanted to visit) The historic house (1700s) is rustic but well decorated and clean, the large grounds lead to a lovely stream which we could enjoy from our balcony (they even have a few hammocks nearby!) The room was very comfortable, however guests must remember the age of this property - there are some characteristics of the building that will bother people used to the modern. But nothing was so out of the ordinary to disrupt our stay. The hosts responded almost immediately to any problem we might have had (not anything major). Breakfast was incredible. This was the best place we stayed on our trip and we highly recommend it for your trip.

  • Liked — The hosts and the lovely surroundings
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ash067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

We have stayed at a few B&Bs and have had to try out a few in an area before we find one we like, but this time we were very fortunate. We will need to look no further should we ever return to the Ulster County area again. All in all, a very nice place to stay, convenient location, good food, clean rooms and friendly hosts. I would recommend Captain Schoonmaker's to anyone traveling to this region of NY.

  • Liked — Beautiful location
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sebastian_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2007

If you like a hot shower or friendly innkeepers, this is not your place! This property needs major maintenance starting with the hot water system. Even if one gets up at 5:30AM when the rooster starts his morning ritual there is not enough hot water for one shower, much less for all four rooms. Even when told about the problem the innkeepers did not seem to care and at no time was any mention made of reducing the rate.

The breakfast was interesting in seeing how inexpensively the owners could feed us. One slice of Canadian bacon can be micro-sliced to feed eight. Even though they have chickens, fresh eggs are not featured. The good news was going back to the airport for some real food on the plane home.

Although the location is beautiful this is a property one needs to bypass.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No hot water and non caring innkeepers
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liferaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gypsybeau, Owner at Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 31, 2007
In response to the previous review: In almost 11 years you are our first negitive review. We always use our own fresh eggs in all our breakfasts.You were served: Coffee, Orange juice, fresh strawberries & raspberries with yogart and homemade granola, baked carmel french toast and several slices of canadian bacon.The second morning was a multi course breakfast as well. When told that there was a problem with the hot water, we immediatly went into the guest house and made whatever adjustments we could. We then called our oil company who came over and did what they could but had to order a part. Sometimes things break. We apologized & informed our guests. You seemed fine and never asked for a refund or reduced price. If you read all the other reviews you will see we are known for our friendliness, & our breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Falls
8.4 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
10.4 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
13.9 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 913 State Route 213, High Falls, NY 12440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > High Falls
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in High Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Stone House with guest barn on 8 acres with stream and seasonal waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Captain Schoonmaker's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing