We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lackluster Performance”
Review of West East Bistro

West East Bistro
Ranked #42 of 169 Restaurants in Hicksville
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bloomingdale Road
Description: West East Bistro brings together cuisines from West to East into one sophisticated and comfortable setting. Offering freshly made dishes featuring ingredients and cooking techniques you love, but in new and delicious combinations. Our Autumn menu features Beijing Special Salmon, Pad Thai, Dim Sum, Shrimp 'n Grits, and Venison Chops. All of our meats are pasture raised, hormone/antibiotic free and our produce is strictly organic. We are also pleased to feature a 'Healthy Kids Menu.' We provide a carefully selected wines, cold sakes, beers and top-shelf liquors to enhance your dining experience and pair with our Western/Asian fusion dishes. We welcome BYO (with $15/bottle corkage fee. Appetizers range from $7-12; Entrees: $16-28. Bi-monthly, West East hosts themed wine dinners which are a great way to sample new cuisines, new wines and make new friends! Please visit our website for all promos and event information.
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Lackluster Performance”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Used to be one of our favorite places. We went for a Valentine Prix Fixe dinner. The restaurant was full, and there was no way the kitchen could keep up with the volume. They opened with a basil mojito. It tasted like you were drinking pesto sauce. After an hour and a half of waiting for our entrees, we asked for the check to pay for the appetizer we had eaten. Of course we were told our meals would be out next. The duck was ordered med/well and arrived very rare. The steak was ordered med/rare and arrived well done (it tasted steamed?). Nothing on the menu was asian fusion except for the chocolate cake which was cooked with wasabi. We won't go back.
It was also very poorly heated.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    19
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not what it was - new owners”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

West East was one of my favorite places to go for good Asian fusion. Danny Wu, the previous owner ran the place well and knew most of the patrons. Went there Saturday night and it has apparently been sold to one of the regular diners (who is in the business).

Although they have maintained the Asian fusion theme to a degree, I found it more of a clash than a fusion with Asian and American dishes trying mainly just to co-exist on the same menu The food was just OK and had lost much of its spark and flavor (although the spring rolls were still good).

The clientele seems to have aged by two generations (no offence, but I'm in my 50s and I felt like a teenager) and the ambiance felt more like a Florida early bird place. Service seems to also have declined. Had to ask for plates for the shared appetizer and then when the main course came, the waiter tried to put our meals on the table without removing the empty pates first...had to ask him to remove them.

It was actually busy interestingly enough, but it seemed to be busy with a clientele that has never eaten anywhere but in the Long Island suburbs. Wouldn't last a week in Manhattan.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jericho, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

From reading rave reviews about this 'Asian fusion' place, thought we'd give it a try.
I did feel like leaving upon arrival....cold, blank windows facing nondescript stretch of South Broadway toward Bethpage. Half of guests wearing their coats at tables. Hadn't noticed any waitstaff for awhile. Finally ordered our dishes, but server altered what I wanted. A guitarist played adjacent to a game on their wall TV. Nevertheless, after :40 we asked her when food would be coming. S(he) came back to say chef cooked steak too long and thought it best to start all over again, so my dish would also be cooked all over again. NIce, ha! Waiting (more than) double the usual time.......husband's dish was "so blah" and mine was so not what I wanted, with teryaki sauce drowning the meager square of salmon. It was Awful.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bellmore, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good ambiance/service, better effort needed on food”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Cute place with a nice ambiance. The Saturday live music is a nice treat, but needs to not be as loud - with 6 at our table those on opposite ends couldn't hear each other. Friendly staff. Great menu - wide variety of options, but many of the dishes came out under-prepared. I love rare duck, but was served raw duck. The lobster risotto had excellent flavor, but the arborio rice was undercooked. Would be willing to give it another shot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jbergma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york City, New York, USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, service and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Just had dinner at the West East bistro. I really didn't know what to expect when I walked in the door. It's in a small strip mall that you can easily pass, but YOU shouldn't. This restaurant is a real gem that served Manhattan sophisticated food. The signage outside would lead you to believe that it was a Chinese restaurant, it's not. There was an excellent selection of Asian food and the other half of the menu, Continental fare. We were a group of four and we all agreed that we will be returning on a regular basis.
The service was attentive, friendly and the atmosphere is very warm and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West East Bistro also viewed

Hicksville, Long Island
 
Hicksville, Long Island
Hicksville, Long Island
 
Hicksville, Long Island
Hicksville, Long Island
 

Been to West East Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing