We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best green pea and ham soup” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crazy Otto's Empire Diner

Crazy Otto's Empire Diner
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Herkimer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best green pea and ham soup”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Nice, clean and casual. Nice staff, award winning burgers, best coleslaw and best green pea and ham soup. I always stop there when I'm in town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ARP1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    62
    19
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Should be on Phantom Gourmet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Anything you want and they have it. Went there when I was a kid and go there now when I'm in town! Will go there untill I can't drive to my home town ever again!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Diner Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was working in Herkimer for the day and Crazy Otto's was recommended by some of the locals. I got the grilled cheese and fries. It was a good lunch and I would go back if I ever find myself in town again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herkimer, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I met my family for dessert. I got a brownie sundae and a piece of cake to split with my daughter. The edges of the brownie were hard and the cake tasted like it had been in a refrigerator for too long so I only had one bite of it. Even though the waiter saw that I hadn't eaten much of my food they still charged me full price for everything. He seemed like he was in a hurry each time to get away from our table. And didn't seem to want to take the time to talk to us. The time before that when we had gone there the waitress dropped gravy on my nieces head wiped it off with a napkin and said "Oh don't worry it's not hot". I'm glad it didn't burn her but why is it that an acceptable excuse for her to have dropped food on my nieces head was that the food she had just brought us wasn't hot. Gee thanks.

Helpful?
Thank Myfamilyismyworld41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Diner Food I've Ever Had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stopped for a late breakfast on the way to the Finger Lakes. It's a great little spot with delicious food, great wait staff and very cool décor.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Otto's Empire Diner also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Otto's Empire Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing