We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Erie Canal Cruises

Erie Canal Cruises
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Herkimer
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Calm and relaxing 90 minute historically narrated cruise on the Erie Canal in beautiful upstate New York. Experience traveling through a lock. Cruising Memorial day through Columbus day.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was a great experience. The October day was beautiful and the boat captain was very knowledgeable and friendly. He used to be a director in the NYS organization that runs the canal before he retired.

Bob

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank robho40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    72
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was a 90-minute trip on the canal, thru a lock & back. We had Captain Jerry as our pilot & had a great time. The sound system was the best that I ever experienced on this type of cruise. A wealth of information about how the canals were started and continue today. Gems on the Mohawk gift shop is worth a visit; it features over 70 vendors displaying their wares. Good food too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, New York
Level Contributor
541 reviews
253 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Interesting going through the locks”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We took the 90 minute cruise and enjoyed it. It took us about five miles down the canal (which is not the original Erie Canal, but a later version of it), through a lock that was described as being very close to its original condition and equipment, turned around and came back through the same lock (first time lowered the boat, second time raised it).

I found it interesting to observe how the locks worked, and the narration all along the cruise was very detailed and informative. But maybe it was a little too detailed and informative, especially about the "great circle" route that boaters can take, of which the canal system is an important segment. Truthfully, if they'd handed us a map when we got on the boat, we would have understood in five minutes what they took an hour to explain in verbal narration. And there's so much more that they could have talked about that would have had more general interest than the great circle route. Ever visit the Erie Canal Museum in Syracuse? If so, you'd know that there are more interesting things to talk about than what was selected for the canned narration on this tour. I guess my point is that the captain was a great guy and very knowledgeable and interesting, but I got a bit bored with some of what was being discussed in the recorded part of the narration. And the canal itself, well, except for the locks, it isn't the most exciting place to take a boat ride; dull prerecorded narration doesn't help the experience.

I think that the captain was only half kidding when, at the end of the trip, he asked that everyone who thought it was great to go on Trip Advisor and give them an Excellent rating, but don't bother if you wouldn't rate it Excellent because it will bring down their average rating. If this was a joke, it should have been omitted.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Relaxing and enjoyable”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice boat ride on the Erie canal went thru 2 locks captain was extremely knowledgeable we enjoyed it all very much cost about 18.00 per a very reasonable charge for a couple of hours tour

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank linkphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner Cruise”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We chartered the Sam Patch for a dinner cruise through the Erie Canal.

The good:
1. Short and sweet
2. Great way to see the Erie Canal and learn about some history

The bad:
1. The Sam Patch was a smaller more intimate boat, which I liked but it was only through the residential areas and no city views.
2. No circulation! Of course our boat tour was on a day where there was 90 degree weather in Rochester. Fans would've been very helpful!
3. The food we ordered to go with the cruise was sub-par.

I would recommend someone from the cruise to get on the intercom and share history about the canal and the area. That would've made the trip more interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erie Canal Cruises also viewed

 

Been to Erie Canal Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing