We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good location for Hockey Tournament”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Rochester
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Henrietta
Whippany, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good location for Hockey Tournament”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel for the Rochester Invitational for the last 4 years. This year the tournament moved the rinks for the tournament. The hotel at check in provided each family with a packet that had directions to all rinks for the tournament. This was a nice touch. The check in was easy. The bar is a nice place to hang out but the food is not good and the service for the food is extremely slow. If you want a quieter room, ask for an odd number as that will give you a room overlooking the parking lot versus overlooking the pool area and lobby which are extremely loud. The beds are comfortable and the rooms are nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank hugedevilsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    234
    126
    73
    44
See reviews for
283
80
36
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel got it wrong from the minute I checked in, or not. First they gave me keys to an occupied room - OOPS! Then was told the hotel was oversold - another OOPS! The was given a room 4 hours later - remember check in is at 3:00 pm. Now you feel my pain!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michelle A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

This review will cover two rooms on the same weekend as we had checked out and then due to weather concerns for our drive back, checked back in.

First off, we booked as a hockey group and were charged $125/night, but on the check-in as a single traveler not under the group booking, we were only charged $109. I was under the assumption that larger groups got a discount/incentive to bring in the crowd.

In the first room on the fifth floor, the shower had minimal pressure and the shower head adjustment would not do anything. In the second, which was on the sixth floor, the pressure was adequate but again the head was broken so you could only get the shower pattern to what it had been fixed at. Neither washroom had an exhaust fan, so the mirror clouded quickly.

The bed in the first room was very soft and for the two nights, neither my wife nor I got a restful sleep as we like the beds hard. The second was very nice and we slept much better.

The climate control in the first room would not adjust below 70, which may have lead to the poor sleep. The second room could be adjusted down to 60.

The rooms are of adequate space to suit four people easily and are very clean.

I think our other beef was the $10 per day per device charge for wifi in the rooms. This is the first place in the USA or Canada I have stayed at that charges for internet. We had a laptop, an Ipad and two cell phones, so if we wanted internet in the room it would have been $40/day.

Of great concern though was how we were able to access free internet. My wife had asked for a scrap piece of paper from the front desk while sitting in the lobby checking her email on the free internet (lobby only) and they gave her a piece with a person's name, dates of stay and room number on the back of it (big privacy concerns here.) With that information (they were in the hotel for the same duration as us), we were able to test the internet connection in the room and it worked...free internet billed to another person. Of course we did not use this connection.

So in summary, clean rooms, poor showers, privacy concerns, hit and miss with the beds and climate control, charge for internet and an odd pricing structure make this an average stay. At $125/night this place is a little overpriced, but just about right at $109.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms overlook the atrium and pool with a nice walkout, but can be loud; the odd n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hab_fan_will_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara on the lake, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a contract (as part of a group) for check in at 3pm. On arrival we were told that the rooms wouldn't be available till after 5pm as the group before us was given a 5pm late check-out. We didn't get our room till after 8pm. When we finally got our room, it hadn't been cleaned properly. Crumbs on the floor and urine stains on the toilet seat and urine in the toilet. We won't be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Rochester, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor service and impression made during check-in. We strive to provide quality service and accommodations and your comments will help us to better meet and exceed your expectations moving forward. We hope you will give us another chance to impress should you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I really enjoy going to the Breakfast Buffet in the mornings before going to work. The staff there are really nice, and accommodating. Sue Ellen has been my waitress on several occasions, and she has been exceptional, checking on us often, and always a smile on her face!
The staff at the main desk are very helpful and polite.
One thing I found frustrating though was the bathrooms on the 6th floor. The drainage has been a problem - on several visits I had to flush the toilet twice or longer and the sink drains very slowly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick M, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Rochester, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Laura,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our breakfast offerings and service and we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your mornings with us. We have shared your restroom concerns with our maintenance team who will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience. We hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in the area so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your comfort and satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gloucester, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2014

For the price I found it frustrating that there wasn't wifi in the rooms. Also there was no hair dryer - we brought our own - but it was strange. The beds were comfortable at first but too soft ultimately. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly though and apologetic of the 100s of children that were running around thanks to a hockey tournament in town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Once again, it's people who make the difference. Sharon, Heather Z., Elise G and the amazing Jerry make this the top spot in Rochester! These folks are the competitive advantage that makes the Doubletree a great location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank pak1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Henrietta hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Rochester - Marketplace
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester / Henrietta
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Rochester Henrietta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Rochester Henrietta
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rochester / Henrietta
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rochester Marketplace Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Rochester

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Rochester
Address: 1111 Jefferson Rd, Henrietta, NY 14623
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Henrietta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Henrietta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Rochester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located directly off I-390 and north of the New York State Thruway, experience newly renovated guest rooms (August 2015) and convenient access to downtown Rochester at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Rochester. Enjoy a warm DoubleTree chocolate chip-cookie on arrival and settle into a comfortable and spacious guest room. Stay connected with high-speed internet access at the large work desk. Our hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service to and from Rochester International Airport. The service also extends to sites within 5 miles of the hotel, including the University of Rochester, Monroe Community College, Rochester Institute of Technology and Strong Memorial Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Rochester
Rochester Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing