We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst in Henrietta”
Review of Vista Heights Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vista Heights Inn
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Henrietta
Reviewed July 27, 2006

The first thing I noticed was how bad the room smelled. There aren't any non-smoking rooms and the smell wasn't just from smoke.

There was a wet spot in the corner of my room with mushrooms growing on the gross carpetted floor.

As if this weren't enough already, my room was broken into while I was out on a job interview because the maid didn't lock my door upon leaving my room (the locks are not electronic with key cards) Someone actually stole some of my clothes, and even some food I had just bought at Wegmans.

Do yourself a favor and sleep in your car over staying at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mik476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedCarpetINN, New Management at Vista Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2006

New Management and newly Renovated Rooms
1st of all I would like to apologize. This hotel was under renovation for the past six months. we have many non-smoking rooms and all room have electronic locks. All the rooms are new, and equipped with thoughtful amenities including cable TV, free HBO and free local calls. Also hairdryers, irons/ironing boards, alarm clocks, microwaves and refrigerators are available on request, ideal for extended stay. We offer FREE HBO, FREE High- Speed Internet Access, FREE continental breakfast featuring waffles, sausage, bagels, breads, muffins, cereals, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, tea, and an array of other choices. I can assure you can at newly renovated Red Carpet Inn you can count on a friendly welcome and comfortable, quality accommodations at an affordable price. Please come again and inspect if like to stay, we would offer the best rate in town Guaranteed.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 15 of 15 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
saint paul, mn
11
Reviewed May 28, 2006

If you want to help the cause, and make the owners realise that they need to re-think their approach to hotel business, then please, stay away from this inn. The place is dirty, with no working appliances and thin walls... The best part of it was that the owners acted suprised when we had brought all of those things to their attention. Anyways, we left at 2 am and slept in a parking lot, because the noise was unbearable... stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedCarpetINN, Public Relation Manager at Vista Heights Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2006

New Management and newly Renovated Rooms
1st of all I would like to apologize. This hotel was under renovation for the past six months. All the rooms are new, and equipped with thoughtful amenities including cable TV, free HBO and free local calls. Also hairdryers, irons/ironing boards, alarm clocks, microwaves and refrigerators are available on request, ideal for extended stay. We offer FREE HBO, FREE High- Speed Internet Access, FREE continental breakfast featuring waffles, sausage, bagels, breads, muffins, cereals, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, tea, and an array of other choices. I can assure you can at newly renovated Red Carpet Inn you can count on a friendly welcome and comfortable, quality accommodations at an affordable price. Please come again and inspect if like to stay, we would offer the best rate in town Guaranteed.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2005

Could have been worse but even as a place just to catch some sleep and take off early in the morning this place left a LOT to be desired. The best feature was the TV with a good selection of cable channels. Everything else - furniture, fixtures, carpet, etc. - looked old & worn. Towels were small & thin. It didn't help that only smoking rooms were available. The smell didn't seem bad at first and I thought I could bring in some fresh air by running the fan/heater but it seemed to get worse as the night went on.
The two-bulb ceiling fixture had one dim bulb. The reading light over the bed had a burned-out bulb. Night clerk provided an oversized bulb which was OK except the shade didn't fit over it. A light over the table would have been nice.
There were two doors - one to parking lot, one to inner hall. Both had deadbolts that didn't work - weren't lined up with the holes. The peephole device had been removed from the door to the hall & the hole was stuffed with paper.
A flyer we picked up in the lobby specified free local calls. When I tried to dial a local number I got a busy signal as soon as I started dialing. Went back to the clerk, who said that calls were 40 cents and he needed a $5 deposit - until I showed him his flyer. He said he'd open the phone line - but I had to ask a second time before he did it. Whether he wanted to rip me off or just didn't know what he was doing, I cannot say.
I had spent the previous week sleeping in a tent on a thin piece of foam. The bed was about as comfortable. At least I had my own pillow.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hpcle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Henrietta hotels
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Henrietta/Rochester
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rochester / Henrietta
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Rochester - Marketplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
RIT Inn & Conference Center
RIT Inn & Conference Center
#14 of 17 in Henrietta
161 reviews
2.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Rochester Henrietta
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Henrietta/Rochester Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista Heights Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista Heights Inn

Address: 4600 W Henrietta Rd, Henrietta, NY 14467-9355 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn Henrietta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Henrietta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Henrietta
Hotel Class:2 star — Vista Heights Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vista Heights Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing