We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn with the Best Breakfast!”
Review of Magnolia Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Magnolia Place
Ranked #1 of 2 Hector B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We intended to stay two nights but bad weather forced us to leave early and we only got one - and we are seriously bummed! Ted & Terri are lovely people, very friendly and accomodating. And the breakfast was fantastic - the most delicious coffee especially. Our room was just as nice as advertised, too. We really appreciated the little things like having a hair dryer in our room and the cookies at night! Having stayed at other B & Bs in the Finger Lakes, we know what's nice up there and what's not, and Magnolia Place is definitely NICE. We will be back,

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloomsburg_PAVjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 167 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

What a beautiful Bed and Breakfast. The innkeepers, Ted and Terri, were very hospitable and made each of their guests feel welcome. Ted's breakfasts alone made the stay worthwhile. The home was beautifully appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the rooms were very clean. The view of Seneca Lake was lovely. For first-time B&B guests, we would certainly consider this experience again and would consider revisiting Magnolia Place in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie59335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed here while attending a wedding with friends, and loved it. We arrived too early to check into our rooms, but Ted (one of the innkeepers) showed us the property and suggested places we could go while we waited. We opted to sit on the front porch and enjoy some local wine instead. I stayed in the Lake Room, and loved the view (only caveat-the bathroom for this room is across the hall). What I liked most about my stay were the little extras- fresh cookies waiting in the kitchen at night, a guest pantry with games and movie selections, a comfortable bed, an extremely clean and comfortable room, and delicious breakfasts (I can not stop talking about the breakfasts-especially the cinnamon souffle!). The Inn is modern (WIFI access), but still retains its charm. I am not one who would typically stay in a Bed and Breakfast, but I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amnv7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

My wife and I have always wanted to visit the Finger Lakes region of NY. Seneca Lake region seems to have the most wineries, so that was where we decided to go. After much research, we decided on staying at Magnolia Place. Thank God we did - we almost made the mistake in staying in Watkins Glen (a pretty run down town).

The location is excellent - right in the middle of the best wineries and best area restaurants. The house is very cute, on nice grounds, has a beautiful porch, in excellent condition, and well decorated. Remember, this is a B&B, not a full service hotel - you get a clean room with private bath, and great breakfast. Terry and Ted are super friendly and run an excellent B&B - they also live in the house. They are very knowledgeable of the area's wineries and restaurants. Their dog, Irish, was very playful.

We stayed in the Seneca room, which was very clean and had an en suite bathroom but no TV. The mattress was not top quality, but it did the job. The linens were adequate. There were plenty of pillows. You also have private access to a shared balcony overlooking the lake - great place to enjoy a bottle of wine. On the 2nd floor there is a sitting area where you can read your book or magazine.

The en suite bathroom has a stand up shower. It also had generic toiletries - shampoo/conditioner/soap dispenser in the shower. The towels were Sam's Club brand, but surprisingly nice.

Btw not all rooms have en suite bathrooms, while others have TV and a jacuzzi. If you want to watch TV, just go to the main level living room where there is a flat screen TV. There are also many board games available to use. There are DVDs available to watch. There is a butler's pantry where you can get water, wine glasses, decanters, etc. Tea, hot chocolate, etc are available all night. The porch is an excellent place to have some wine. WiFi is available throughout the house.

Breakfast is served at 9 AM. Ted is the chef and his breakfasts are delicious and filling. Also be sure to try the local grape juice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PD2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Magnolia Place is both elegant and warm as are its charming hosts. Ted and Terry have mastered the art of hospitality in an unassuming, charming way. Ted's breakfasts are out of this world though he somehow makes them seem effortless. Our room with king sized bed was private and immaculate, and Terry's decorating shines throughout their home.
Magnolia Place is located smack in the middle of a number of outstanding wineries along Seneca Lake. The view is lovely and the wraparound porch is quite inviting.
We will stay there again on our next trip to the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DriveAllNight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We were 2 couples traveling through the Finger Lakes, taking in the wonderful wineries. Ted and Terry are wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. Ted's breakfast deserves the hype you'll hear about!
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

This B&B is wonderful. The owners are there to make certain that your stay is perfect. The house is "spotless" and wonderfully inviting. My favorite moments were sitting on the deck in the evening and porch in the morning sipping freshly brewed coffee and taking in the beautiful view of the lake and the aromas of the most amazing breakfast and dessert in the evening being prepared. The breakfast was a great start to a day of wine tasting. The are great wineries and restaurants near by. BY FAR, the best location on Seneca Lake. Even after visiting and seeing other areas, we would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnolia Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Place

Address: 5240 State Route 414, Hector, NY 14841-9707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hector
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hector
Price Range: $130 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier Finger Lake Region's Bed and Breakfasts. Enjoy a country breakfast overlooking Seneca Lake. Sit by a fire in the privacy of your room or luxuriate in one of our oversized Jacuzzi tubs. Spend the day experiencing the Finger Lakes Wine Country where the wines are premier quality. Take some time to hike the trails of our nearby National Forest or visit Watkins Glen International Raceway. Relax and rejuvenate at Magnolia Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Magnolia Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Place Hotel Hector

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing