We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend getaway, lovely house.”
Review of Magnolia Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magnolia Place
Ranked #1 of 2 Hector B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Beautiful house, very clean and tidy. Personable owners friendly and nice to talk to. Loved having our own veranda to sit out on a night. Felt comfortable to not feel like we had so sit in our room but can use the common areas of the house. Breakfast each morning was wonderful, delicious and filling. Views of Senca lake from the front of the house, and wineries and restaurants very close by. My husband and I had a wonderful time. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogagirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

This was an amazing stay! I have limited experience with B&Bs and my girlfriend never stayed in one before, so we weren't sure what to expect. Magnolia Place was easy to find (right off Rt. 414, near all the wineries and restaurants we were going to visit) and Ted and Terri were fabulous hosts. We stayed in the Magnolia Suite and weren't disappointed. We made liberal use of the jacuzzi tub and the room was comfortable and clean. Ted and Terri were responsive to our needs and cooked up delicious breakfasts for their guests both days we stayed (Saturday and Sunday). We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ems71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Needed to find a place to stay in Ithaca area for a few days and stumbled across this B&B on the internet. What a find! Lovely rooms, each individually decorated with different "themes." Amazing gourmet breakfasts each morning.

Located on hill overlooking Seneca Lake, the inn is in a great spot in the Finger Lake region. It has lovely porches and a nice walk around the back by a vineyard.

It's about a half hour to everywhere -- Cayuga, Corning, Ithaca, a number of the state parks in the region, etc. The only minor drawback is that the inn faces a busy road. If you're bothered by road noise, I'd suggest asking for a room in the back.

Terri & Ted were terrific hosts and we followed their advice about everything. They're in the midst of amazing restaurants -- all fresh food, organically grown, and not outrageously expensive. We walked to one and made short drives to the others. They have lots of information about things to do in the area and lots of little touches made us feel right at home.

I'd definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

we stayed at the Magnolia Inn in the Vineyard room over the 4th of July weekend. The room was comfortable with a king bed, small TV and small bathroom with a shower. The real highlight of our stay, though, were the fantastic breakfasts and visiting with the owners and other guests. The location is fantastic - right on RTE 414 - and close to the lake, wineries and other local attractions.

The hosts have great recommendations of where to go. After a long day of traveling and exploring, we were always happy to come back to the Inn with fresh cookies or other treats waiting in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed at Magnolia for a weekend in mid-June based on the recommendation of the bride for whose wedding we were in town. This is my first Tripadvisor review but felt compelled to write a review since I rely on this site heavily for my own vacation planning and had such a marvelous experience at Magnolia. Magnolia B&B is by far the nicest inn with exceptional service in this area. The rooms are tastefully decorated, immaculately clean, and absolutely charming. The bed was comfortable, the sheets soft and the pillows perfectly plumped. The room and bathroom were cleaned each morning and the entire B&B is spotless and beautifully decorated. The private bathroom for the Lake Room is just across the hall and we enjoyed the plush white bathrobes to walk across the hall (the majority of rooms have private connected bathrooms) . We loved our view from the Lake Room and sat and enjoyed the private veranda to star gaze. Teri and Ted were gracious hosts and provided excellent restaurant and winery recommendations (Stonecat Restaurant is a must visit). Ted cooked a beautiful homemade breakfast spread each morning which included, in part, golden brown peach pancakes with homemade cinnamon syrup, sunrise soufflé, fresh lemon poppy cake, cinnamon muffins, chorizo, fresh picked fruit salad, and many other treats. The weather turned a bit for the worse on Saturday afternoon and Teri and Ted had large umbrellas by the door ready for the guests to borrow. Not only is every detail and amenity attended to at Magnolia, but every detail is anticipated and attended to by Teri and Ted with grace and charm before the guests even have to ask. If you are within a 60 mile radius of Magnolia, you will do yourself a disservice if you do not stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMHNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

If you are looking for the perfect place to stay in Senaca Lake, this is it!..Beautiful views of the lake, located among great wineries, excellent comfortable rooms, very, very, very clean..great homestyle breakfast..The hosts were so pleasant and if you are in this area Magnolia, is the place to be after a long day of "tasting."

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mocheeks57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

My husband and I have visited Magnolia Place about 4 times now. Each visit has been amazing. The rooms are all beautifully decorated. Ted and Terry are amazing people. Your wish is their command. They are more than happy to make your stay with them as perfect and as personal as you need it to be. It is a home away from home, always welcoming and cozy. The bed(s) are all so comfortable and the breakfasts...you have to try Ted's breakfasts in order to believe me when I say it is the best you'll ever have! Our friends who we've taken with us from time to time all love it and can't wait to go back! My husband and have stayed at many b & b's over the years, but this one by far is the best and, of course, our favorite.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hector
5.0 mi away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
112 reviews
7.2 mi away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,241 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Blackberry Inn B&B
The Blackberry Inn B&B
#1 of 17 in Watkins Glen
178 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sunrise Landing Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Grist Iron
The Inn at Grist Iron
#1 of 4 in Burdett
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Place

Address: 5240 State Route 414, Hector, NY 14841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Hector
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hector
Price Range: $130 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier Finger Lake Region's Bed and Breakfasts. Enjoy a country breakfast overlooking Seneca Lake. Sit by a fire in the privacy of your room or luxuriate in one of our oversized Jacuzzi tubs. Spend the day experiencing the Finger Lakes Wine Country where the wines are premier quality. Take some time to hike the trails of our nearby National Forest or visit Watkins Glen International Raceway. Relax and rejuvenate at Magnolia Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Magnolia Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Place Hotel Hector

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing