We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunsets and great food”
Review of Stonecat Cafe

Stonecat Cafe
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Hector
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At the Stonecat, it is our belief that food is life. We feel that what people eat is the biggest mark of their culture and a reflection of how they feel about life. We like life in Hector and enjoy waking people up to vibrant, fun food that is grown organically and sustainably. We celebrate the bounty of the Finger Lakes region and focus on regional, sustainable food purveyors and local wine, beer, and craft cocktails. Reservations are highly recommended. Please visit our website for service hours, music listings and special events.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We recently went to the Stonecat Cafe on a recommendation from a local winery we visited. We couldn’t have been more pleased. The food was truly Farm to table and wonderful. I had the Halibut special and my wife had the Duck special. Cooked to perfection and tasted great. The service was top notch and the ambiance on the porch made it a very special evening indeed. We had a gorgeous sunset the night we visited.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank klsherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely view off rear dining porch but this restaurant has an identity crisis. It doesn’t seem to know if it’s a joint for burgers or fine dining. The entree’s are over priced, there are no inclusions like a small dinner salad or even a roll. Had a small Irish band playing, then a small child came around asking for tips for the band. Seriously? It’s just so-so. Wouldn’t go back. This was a one & done.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank dogpatch759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friends recommended this funky little place and we were staying at nearby Seneca Sol. Not very busy on a TU night. Our server, Kim,
was lovely and knowledgeable about the all FL wines. Halibut and duck breast both delicious.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank ginnyf418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looking for a place on east side of Seneca lake after spending all day at wineries. Stonecat was highly recommended by winery staff and did not disappoint.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank RonL1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

This place has SO MUCH POTENTIAL. They use quality local ingredients, the places has great views, a great vibe, nice staff but every time I go I feel like it's expensive and just not that creative or worth the price. I try again each year, but always feel the same way. Hope they keep trying to improve...! I'll keep trying.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonecat Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stonecat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing