We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Stonecat Cafe

Stonecat Cafe
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Hector
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: At the Stonecat, it is our belief that food is life. We feel that what people eat is the biggest mark of their culture and a reflection of how they feel about life. We like life in Hector and enjoy waking people up to vibrant, fun food that is grown organically and sustainably. We celebrate the bounty of the Finger Lakes region and focus on regional, sustainable food purveyors and local wine, beer, and craft cocktails. Reservations are highly recommended. Please visit our website for service hours, music listings and special events.
new york
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate here the first night. We had an Inside table which was fine but if I had to do it again, I would call in advance and make a reservation for the outdoor patio so we could look at the lake, and especially see the beautiful sunset. Great menu, local options/ingredients and also farm to table. We both had fish. I had the salmon special which was great, and my friend had the breaded catfish which was delicious as well. Nice portions and presentation. For dessert we shared a cheese and fruit plate which was offered as an appetizer but we thought made for a nice dessert. The cheeses were delicious. The fruit consisted of various berries, and most were pretty sour, including the cherries. I would have preferred a bit more sweet at that moment. Good wine options including wines by the glass. All in all a very pleasant evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ellen5181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    128
    33
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Foodie Heaven”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Wow, it doesn't get any better than duck gravy poutine! We didn't even order it, our friend did, but we kept sneaking some off his plate (thank you for ordering the large)! We had the burgers and they were juicy and cooked to perfection. The chowder was brimming with all kinds of fresh seafood. The ambiance is quaint. Would have loved the catch the jazz band but we didn't have reservations for the patio. We'll know for next time.....because there will definitely be a next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GraybeardOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“good place with organic food.”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stonecat café is the great place for dinner. Most of the ingredients are organic from local farms. We had smoked salmon for appetizer and it was delicious. The salmon for main course was also great. The desert is ok, nothing special. Service was good, place was packed and you better make the reservation a few days ahead. The place looks like some farm house from outside, so it is easy to miss when you are driving. But it is worth going there for dinner; the food is very good and very fresh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bellamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nice fresh, delicious and creative Food. Non pretenous atmosphere is fresh and relaxing. Could use AC on hot/humid evenings when the lake is producing no breeze.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dpapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Local Wine with Wonderful Fresh Food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a great little place. You won't find better food anywhere! The food is all prepared fresh from local sources, and as it is set in the middle of an area with small family farms, "seasonal" and "organic" come naturally. The wine list is mostly made up of the great wines from the Finger Lakes wineries, though there are other wine regions represented. Stonecat is a meeting place for the local wine folks and tourists alike. Service is friendly and pleasant. In the week we were on Seneca Lake we ate there four times and particularly enjoyed the jazz brunch on Sunday morning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmsalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonecat Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stonecat Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing