We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cottagette

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hector, Finger Lakes, New York

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cabe23
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My wife and 4 month old son stayed in the cottagette for three nights in mid August. We found it to be very comfortable and the owners to be very accommodating. The kitchen was more than adequate, as we made dinner almost every evening. There were many wineries and a few breweries within a short distance. We were able to spend one day exploring Hammondsport and the Keuka Lake area, which was about a half hour drive. Ithaca and Cayuga Lake was also about a half hour and we spent another day exploring that area as well. I would recommend the cottagette to any couple who want a quiet getaway to a very nice area.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyG
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“If you're seeking a quiet rural getaway in an interesting area, consider this.”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I refrained from rating all the items as "great" simply because of the reality this this isn't a property that has pretentions, but delivers very well the comfort level I was seeking in a getaway in a part of the country I'd never before visited. It's in a rural area, it's what many would describe as rustic, and it's utterly charming and a very relaxing place in which to spend a few days or weeks. The immediate area has numerous wineries and several full restaurants as well as a wonderful diner for breakfast and lunch if you don't wish to do it yourself, which you could in the small but well-equipped kitchen. I spent almost one full day going through the Sunday New York Times (substitute your reading of choice), looking up frequently to see a squirrel or two, a robin, and a rabbit. All day was filled with the singing of birds in the trees. It was a great day. I won't comment on the attractions of the Finger Lakes region as they are many, and easy to find on your own. If you want activity, it's plentiful and nearby. If you want quiet and solitude, it's all around you. One of the questions here concerns Wi-Fi availability...I don't know if it's available or not, so ask the owner. My phone reception was good. This is a rural, not remote, area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the hosts, the location, and the comfort level. It reminded me of going to a well-loved family retreat.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lois F
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint Little Get Away Cottage”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We totally enjoyed our stay in this tiny cottage that was equipped with anything an overnight quest would find necessary. The location to area activities was a plus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was well equipped.
Liked least: The bumpy driveway had lots of mud puddles after the rain.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario CANADA
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Needham MA
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maginary...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Adorable little place and lovely hosts”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a wonderful two nights at The Cottagette! The weather during our stay left a little something to be desired, but I'd love to go back and spend a sunny weekend sitting out on the little patio or reading in the hammock. I also wish we'd had a chance to take full advantage of the adorable kitchen and its tiny appliances. It really was like staying in a doll house! Ellen and Jeremy were lovely as was their property. Again, I think we would have enjoyed it even more if we'd had better luck weather-wise.

The only real issue that we had was with the door - It wouldn't lock. Otherwise, we had a fantastic stay and hope to be back again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen!
Liked least: The unlockable door
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2013
We're grateful to these great guests for the kind words about their stay, and we gather that they may have been reticent to tell us about the malfunctioning lock, which we fixed as soon as our next guests informed us. We're in a rural and very crime-free area and never lock the Cottagette when it's unoccupied, so we had no way to tell that there was such an issue. Again, our thanks for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing