We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good wine”
Review of Penguin Bay Winery

Penguin Bay Winery
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Hector
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You'll fall in love with the fun and unique wines at Penguin Bay that range from dry to semi-sweet. What is more to love is the fact that a portion of all wine proceeds go to the endangered Humboldt penguins at the Syracuse Rosamond Gifford Zoo. So stop into our tasting room and pick a favorite wine to savor while you enjoy our lake view picnic facilities.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
120 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pretty good wine”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I actually really liked this winery. It was not as sophisticated as some on our tour, but the staff was really nice, and I liked their wines. It was a nice stop on our tour, and I left with a couple of souvenir bottles.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank francefantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwedishHillWinery, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Bay Winery, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your recent visit to our tasting room! We're very happy to hear you enjoyed our selection of wines and hope that you tried a variety of our dry to sweet wines including some of our Sparkling wines! We hope that you'll visit us again soon to try some more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    16
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great prices, friendly staff!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The tasting and wine prices are one of the best values on the tour. The guy who served us was very friendly and knowledgable and generous with the portions you get to sample. I recommend the reisling here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FireonIce31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwedishHillWinery, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Bay Winery, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for visiting our tasting room and for taking the time to post a review of your experience! Our staff thoroughly enjoys sharing their wine knowledge with our visitors, and we are very appreciative of them! The Riesling you sampled has become one of our top award-winning wines thus far, and we're excited to see what the new 2012 vintage will bring. We hope you'll visit us again and try it along with some of our other latest releases. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wine tasting”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is one of our favorite wineries. The wines are excellent especially the reisling .
we go to the Finger lakes every year and we buy alot of our wine from Penguin bay. The staff is excellent and very information about the wines. very friendly staff If ever in the Finger lakes I would recommend to stop and taste their wines even buy some .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
553 reviews
257 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good wine”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We learned an incredible amount about wine, vineyards and grapes during our visit. The view is beautiful. Even though we did not buy any wine, we enjoyed the tastings. They had free grape fruit juice samples for our children.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dnumme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfield, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“someof the best wine in the Finger lakes”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I love Penguin bay Winery not only is the wine good it is very reasonable to purchase. I Have been here several times and am planning a bachelorrette Party for one of my best friends including Penguin Bay in the Line up. I really like the staff here and feel the facility is very clean as well. If you are planning to do a wine tasting trip on seneca lake do not leave this winery off of your list.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KRL32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Bay Winery also viewed

Watkins Glen, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Penguin Bay Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing