We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, poor to average wines”
Review of Penguin Bay Winery

Penguin Bay Winery
Ranked #4 of 15 things to do in Hector
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You'll fall in love with the fun and unique wines at Penguin Bay that range from dry to semi-sweet. What is more to love is the fact that a portion of all wine proceeds go to the endangered Humboldt penguins at the Syracuse Rosamond Gifford Zoo. So stop into our tasting room and pick a favorite wine to savor while you enjoy our lake view picnic facilities.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Really unremarkable wines, especially the white wine.

Three wineries' s wines sold here. Nothing to write home about...sorry

Thank Scouternurse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwedishHillWinery, Manager at Penguin Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your tasting with us. We respect and aspect to get honest opinions on our wine from each of our customers and understand that everyone has different preferences for their bottle choices. We hope that while you were out tasting wines you were able to visit our other two wineries, Swedish Hill and Goose Watch, each of which has a different selection of wines -including many international award winners! We hope that you'll visit us again and give us another chance to impress you! Thank you again for submitting your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Have stopped at Penquin Bay Winery a few times. We have found several wines that we like (ex: Tuxedo Red and Tuexedo White). Tried a few new wines over the weekend and bought a few "new" ones to try at home.

Most of the staff is as nice and helpful as can be. One of the staff has rules to follow and follows them to the letter. She could use some customer service training. It is not that she is mean, but she is not welcoming.

Thank hermrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwedishHillWinery, Manager at Penguin Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for submitting your review of your tasting! We're very happy to hear that you've come back to Penguin Bay to try some of our new wines along with some of our classics! We're very sorry to hear that you were not impressed with the service of one of our employees and we can assure you that this issue has been addressed. We strive to give excellent all-around customer service and we thoroughly enjoy sharing our passion for quality Finger Lakes wine with each of our visitors. We hope you will visit us again and thank you again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Penguin Bay wines are designed to be 'mass market' but can be a little hit or miss. Worth trying once - maybe 'mass market' tastes good to you!

Thank babystepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The staff that explained the wines were very warm and welcoming but the cashier was grumpy. We had a group of 10 adults and our pre teen teenagers whom were well behaved. They advertise groups of 15 or more need reservations but we only had 10 adults. They had us to the front and we all paid our $2.00 a tasting. The staff tried telling "grumpy Cashier" that we should be in back room to have the same cool group experience but she insisted we stay to the front. Then when we went to buy Tuxedo Red we wanted to buy 1 Tuxedo White for a toal of 3 bottles as buy 3 get 25% off, but she said "NO"! You must buy all 3 Tuxedo Red's. So I said we will only take 1!! Her lost as she was grumpy from the start and lost clothing and wine sales from our group. As I said the younger man and lady the Wine Pourers were nice, warm and knowledgable.

Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwedishHillWinery, Public Relations Manager at Penguin Bay Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your review and for bringing your group to our tasting room! We're truly sorry for the unfriendly service you received during your visit. We strive not only to give excellent customer service but to make sure that each of our visitors has a fun experience at our tasting room. We hope that you'll visit us again so that we can give you the real group experience! Thank you again for your comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very knowledgeable and nice personnel, love their Pinot Noir! We will come back if at Finger Lakes again.

1  Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Bay Winery also viewed

 

Been to Penguin Bay Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing