We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, creative food”

Red Newt Cellars Winery & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Hector
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Red Newt Bistro is a great place to stop for lunch while in the Finger Lakes. We continue a decades long tradition of working closely with local farmers to offer fresh and delicious local fare. Quick service and simple, delicious food sourced from Finger Lakes farms is the perfect complement to a glass of wine on our deck.
Ithaca, NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, creative food”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

The menu features many local ingredients. Service was friendly and courteous and the view over the vineyard and hills was very pretty. It took a while for each dish to arrive, which was fine since we ordered the chef's tasting menu (5 courses): squash ravioli, green salad, halibut in oregano cream, pear/wine sorbet, duck w/ raspberry demi glace, chocolate pistachio torte. While no individual dish was "the best I've had", each had creatively-paired flavors and was delicious.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilaundgelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    71
    29
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
himrod, ny
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We won't be going back”
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We had been fans of The Red Newt in the past but they seem to have become quite full of themselves. A glass of wine is now 8.00, food is variable, and the maitre d' is downright mean. I'm really surprised that in this economy the Red Newt thinks it is in NYC.

Helpful?
1 Thank coda022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I dined here 3 years ago and 2 days ago. I was amazed at the quality found in this restaurant off Rt 414 on the eastern shore of Seneca. The food is superb! It is inventive, honest, and delectable! The service is impeccably courteous. Excellent wine flites, though better 3 years ago. A bargain for what you get.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rzeltser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner”
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Had dinner at Red Newt last night. Started out with the House Made Ravioli - Chevre, black olives. caramelized onions,
creamy red pepper sauce - ate every last bite even the greens it was served on! For dinner I had the daily seafood which was scallops- fresh herb butter, herb basmati and bamboo rice, lentils, garbanzo and wheat berries, and the seasonal vegetable was roasted root vegetables. I again ate everything (minus two scallops that I shared with my husband). My husband had the Beef Tenderloin - Bacon wrapped grilled 8 oz filet, red wine demi-glaze, bistro potatoes, seasonal vegetable and he ate everything. Although we were both very full from dinner and the bottle of Red Newt Red Eft wine we had, we squeezed in room for dessert. I had the apple cobbler with vanilla ice cream and my husband had the chocolate pate - so good! Everything I have ever had here is fantastic. I highly recommend the restaurant. It has a lovely laid back atmosphere. The waitstaff is fantastic as well. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank sayds19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Food ok, service slow”
Reviewed December 15, 2008

I took my family here during the Deck the Halls event. Some of our food was really good. The white lasagna and the artichoke dip were great. The chili was not good, more like hamburger soup, no detectable spices. While the food was okay, the service was terribly slow. We were the only table occupied and only one other table came in while we were there, there were at least 4 staff on but it took 25+ minutes to get our appetizer and 45+ to get out meals! We wanted a quick stop and didn't get it here.

Helpful?
1 Thank arianatsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Newt Cellars Winery & Bistro also viewed

Hector, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Red Newt Cellars Winery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing