We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”

Sempre Vivolo Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 71 Restaurants in Hauppauge
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Long Island
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were a party of four on a recent Saturday night. I was a little concerned that this would be a stuffy restaurant catering mainly to regular customers. However, our experience was great from cocktails at the bar, through dinner. The bartender was friendly and made great drinks. He personally showed us to the dining room where we were given a window table. The waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. All our appetizers, meals, and desserts were delicious and perfectly prepared. We weren't rushed at all and spent over three hours in the restaurant. We asked to split appetizers and desserts and we were accommodated with no problem.My wife even asked for a veal dish that wasn't on the menu and it was prepared without any problem. On our way out, the owner chatted with us, inquiring how our meal was. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience and we will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mongcop3086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A great business dinner”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

A colleague brought me here and while I had heard much about it, I never had eaten there. The place is elegant with a nice subdued atmosphere, a great place for a quiet dinner whether for business or pleasure.

The fish special, a sea bass, was excellent as was my friend's veal dish. The spinach salad was very good and the pasta special looked great. Service is impeccable and all and all this was a great place to go. I wholeheartedly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theboneNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Very small Italian dive with awkward parking lot and location in Hauppauge, Long Island. Food is quite amazing and a great selection of Italian dishes. The interior of this hole in the wall is stale and dated, but worth a visit. Watch out for the hawkish owner who will give you the up and down if you don't look wear a suit and tie.
The wait staff is otherwise very nice and ready to serve you with a smile. Good job guys!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jungelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, ME
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Very nice for a special dinner”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We ate there on a business trip. Arrived fairly late, but the staff was very friendly and accomodating. They have an excellent wine list, some expensive, but I think very reasonably-priced compared to the markup from retail most restaurants have. The food was very good. A couple of the dishes were a little salty, but with anchovies in one and prosciutto in the other I wasn't too surprised. Very nice ambiance. It is farily pricey, so be prepared to spend a little extra; it's worth the price

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al-Sue-Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Always a good choice.”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Food is well prepared, service is excellent. Good for a quiet dinner or business meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amadeusny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sempre Vivolo Restaurant also viewed

Hauppauge, Long Island
Hauppauge, Long Island
 
Hauppauge, Long Island
Hauppauge, Long Island
 
Smithtown, Long Island
 

Been to Sempre Vivolo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing