We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice but with quirks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Long Island Hauppauge/Islandia
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hauppauge
Certificate of Excellence
South Mills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice but with quirks”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Six of us stayed here and while they could not provide us with the 2 bedroom suite we reserved, they offered us 2 - 1 bedroom suites, next to each other. They also comp'd one room and offered the other at a reduced rate. Excellent customer service. Rooms were clean and smelled nice. The quirks were with the lack of water pressure when flushing the toilets. We had to flush several times to get the tp to clear out. The beds were comfortable, but we seemed to gravitate to the center, which made for a sleepless night. One of the room's keys had to be rekeyed three of the four nights we were there. Big inconvenience when all you want to do is sit down and relax. Placement of the smoking area was our biggest concern as it is right in front of the door to the middle courtyard, which we had to walk through to get to the lobby and breakfast. BTW, breakfast was good and had a nice variety. We did voice our concerns and they were very receptive. I am not sure if we would stay at this hotel again, based soley on the placement of the smoking area, but this is a nice hotel and in a nice area. We never felt uncomfortable with the atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker and have issues walking through smoke, ask for a room that you won't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenJeaBul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominick T, General Manager at Residence Inn Long Island Hauppauge/Islandia, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear DenJeaBul,
Thanks so much for your feedback. This type of information not only helps us to better serve our guests, but helps our guests get a real sense of what our hotel is all about. The situation with smoking guests has been something we are looking at. The goal is to have a designated area away from any guest entry ways and hopefully this will assist our non smoking guests. One other area, our hotel is in the process of changing over our mattresses. Currently we have changed 25 of our 112 beds with plans for 15 more before year end and the balance by year end 2014.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    64
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
73
33
10
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Staff are pleasant. The pool is nicely heated. The gym is tiny. The mattress is not comfortable. The breakfast is not bad and they keep the area clean. There are outdoor tables and chairs but there are many smokers out there.

It is a decent hotel in the middle of Long Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piaget18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominick T, General Manager at Residence Inn Long Island Hauppauge/Islandia, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Piaget18,
Thanks for the feedback. We are in the process of replacing all of our mattresses in our hotel and plan on completing this project by year end 2014. We have also looked at relocation an area for smokers so we can accommodate our nonsmoking guests.

Thanks again and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have stayed at two other Residence Inns and was very happy with the rooms. This Residence Inn was a disappointment. The furniture was worn. There wasn't a suitcase stand in the room so my suitcase had to sit on the desk. There wasn't any lotion. My travel companion found similar concerns in her room. The room was cleaned each day and the food was good. I was expecting a more updated hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTinkerbell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nome, Alaska
Level Contributor
182 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. The appliances were ancient and dysfunctional. The hit hen cabinets were ancient with little finish on the doors. The carpet was suitable for a prison.
There was barely any water pressure in the showers. The pool was ok and the outside looked good.

Breakfast was adequate if all you care about is saving money.

This is NO Marriott by any standard. It needs to be gutted.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magellan008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a great place for an extended family stay. The facility is comfortable but not elegant, all suites are equipped with full kitchens, and even the efficiency can sleep 4 (1 queen bed, one sleeper sofa). Add an infant if you request (or bring) a crib. The two-bedroom suites have two separate bathrooms, one off of each bedroom, plus a sleeper sofa in the separate living room.Catch the full self-serve breakfast bar any morning--it offers several hot items in addition to the usual fruit, juice, yogurt, cereal, toast, pastries, etc. Also, complimentary evening happy hours on several week-nights offer wine, soft drinks and usually a hearty salad or other "snacks." Need more? Grill your own burgers or BBQ on their outdoor grill after a quick swim in the pool. What more could you want? How about a super-friendly staff that is johnny-on-the-spot to respond to any need and a concierge service to deliver your grocery order to your door in the morning. Bottom line: maybe it could use an upgrade, but the service and amenities more than offset that little detail. I'd stay there again!

Room Tip: plan on DRIVING here because there's no in-house restaurant and nothing within easy walking dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for a baseball tournament over the 4th of July weekend. The room was clean although it did have a heavy deodorizer smell. The breakfast was good, but on weekends, get down there early as it all went fast. I missed out the first day but not again. The staff was helpful with directions, location of an urgent care, and extending our stay after a late checkout request. It met our needs and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on Points, July 5th and 6th, 2013.
No complaints about the Room. It was comfortable, Queen suite.
Breakfast, on the other hand, was the same as at some other Marriotts.
Powdery eggs, not hot, lukewarm meat, cold potatoes..... Why bother.
They need to do better.

Room Tip: For two people, the Queen Suite was adequate. Spacious, with two Flat Screen TVs, kitchen with full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hauppauge
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
756 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Islandia
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
3.8 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Islip/Courthouse Complex
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Long Island Hauppauge/Islandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Long Island Hauppauge/Islandia

Property: Residence Inn Long Island Hauppauge/Islandia
Address: 850 Veterans Hwy, Hauppauge, NY 11788-2918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hauppauge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hauppauge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Long Island Hauppauge/Islandia 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Long Island Hauppauge/Islandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Long Island Hauppauge/Islandia Hotel Hauppauge
Residence Inn Hauppauge
Hauppauge Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing