We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hauppauge
Northwest New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for a wedding on Long Island. I was a bit concerned when I saw the proximity of the hotel to the highway. I thought it would be functional at best, possibly a little shabby. I was definitely pleasantly surprised when we walked in. The hotel was extremely clean. The front desk staff was very helpful when we asked for directions for dinner.

The room itself was very clean as was the shower. I did notice on the second day that there was a little bit of mold but I think that's because there was no fan venting from the bathroom. I neglected to tell the front desk.

I think the best thing about this hotel is that they will provide you with free toiletries above and beyond what goes into the room. I needed a safety pin and the woman at the desk on Sunday morning (I can't remember her name but she had long dark hair) was able to immediately locate a sewing kit and get me the pin.

Breakfast was good as well. My only complaint about that was the fact that there was no alternative to cheese omlettes on the one day. I can't eat a lot of cheese and would have welcomed just eggs. But there were plently of other options for me to enjoy.

Overall, very enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJ_Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaleyRice, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you for staying at our hotel
We strive for excellent customer service.
Hope to see you on your next visit to Long Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    66
    48
    26
    20
See reviews for
70
42
8
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My daughter and I stood here at the Holiday Inn Express and loved every minute of it. Staff was phenomenal. Breakfast awesome. They have a sauna--great--swimming pool--great--exercise room was also great. Was not busy at all. We had the pool, sauna & exercise room to ourselves! They offer 24 hour coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice, water, fruit, and oatmeal. Very close to stores, restaurant and highway. I definitely would come back here for a weekend stay. I would definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleMatthews, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Thank you for staying at out Holiday Inn Express .I'm very glad you had a great experience and hope to see you for your next get away weekend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at your hotel ...I had 2 rooms.
I forgot my cervical pillow on the bed with a dark gray pillow case.
It could not be confused with 1 of their pillows...
I have called multiple times ...and was told that the head of housekeeping was going to call...
No one ever did...
The last time I called I was hung up on...
I emailed this to the GM Kyle Matthews
and he never got back either.

Room Tip: It's a nice place ...but if they can't be trusted in small things how can you trust them in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hauppauge hotels

chicago, illinois
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

My elderly mother is in the area so we come out once a year.
The rooms have always been very clean and comfortable. The staff is always friendly and I have never felt unsafe.
We only stay in the area, we do not venture into the city. There are plenty of ways to access the city.ie, Long Island Railroad and Long Island Expressway if you want to.
A nice assortment of restaurants in Smithtown and Hauppauge for dining or carry-out.
The hotel is equipped with many brochures for interests.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newyorklady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleMatthews, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us when you visit Long Island.
Hope to see you on your next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Once again we stayed at Holiday Inn Express and thoroughly recommend this Hotel. The rooms are spacious, the breakfast is amazing in its variety and the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are kept clean, bedding immaculate as are the towels and bathroom facilities. The bonus for us is having the availability of the Shuttle Bus to pick us up from the station and return. It was good to see Benito at the station to pick us up.
We will be staying here again when we return to NY and look forward to being looked after in this very comfortable and safe Hotel. Cannot understand anyone finding anything negative about this nice Hotel - must be just sad whingers!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneSwannies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleMatthews, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for staying at our hotel
We strive for excellent customer service.
Hope to see you on your next visit to Long Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I went to US on my business trip for 13 days and lived in this hotel twice (2 trips of same kind). It was good experience. Good vegetarian breakfast was available, rooms service was good. Cab on request was available. Staff is very polite and helpful.
Thus it was good experence overall. I recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poonam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleMatthews, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your business trip, I am very pleased you had a good stay with us .
Hopefully see you on your next visit to the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Check in was fine.

Room was worn and old. Several stains on the ceiling. Sheets and other linens old and stained. Gross!

Bed hard and uncomfortable. Pillows old and uncomfortable.

Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillyLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyleMatthews, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
I do apologize for the negative stay you had at our hotel.
If in the future and you are in the Long Island area we would like to make it right with your next stay.
We do strive for excellent service.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hauppauge
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Islandia
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
795 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Long Island/Commack
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Long Island Hauppauge/Islandia
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Islip/MacArthur Airport
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Islip MacArthur Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge
Address: 2050 Express Dr S, Hauppauge, NY 11788-5300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hauppauge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hauppauge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*The Hotel gust rooms and public space areas are currently under renovations and we expect to be completed by end of April, 2016* Comfort, convenience & hospitality at its best make Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge hotel the right choice for business or leisure travelers visiting Long Island. Located just off 495 the Long Island Expressway, the hotel's location is central to everything, including NYC, Yankee Stadium, Nassau Coliseum, Nikon Theater at Jones Beach & Shea Stadium / Citi Field. Our property is central to Kennedy Airport (JFK), LaGuardia (LGA) and Long Island MacArthur Airport (ISP). Our spacious accommodations & outstanding amenities make being on the road as comfortable as being at home. The 133 guestrooms & suites are tastefully appointed and fully outfitted to serve every traveler's needs. Amenities include microwaves & refrigerators, free high-speed wireless Internet access, hot breakfast buffet, complimentary 24 hour business center, indoor pool, sauna/fitness center, complimentary hotel shuttle & of course free local phone calls. The hotel's great room with its blazing fireplace is the perfect place for meeting informally with colleagues and catching up with old friends. We have 2 meeting rooms to accommodate up to 48 people per room. Stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express, Hauppauge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hauppauge Hotel Hauppauge
Holiday Inn Hauppauge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing