We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Real lodge experince near many attractions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of August Lodge Cooperstown

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hartwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
August Lodge Cooperstown
Save
You added August Lodge Cooperstown to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hartwick
GreenLeadersGold level
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real lodge experince near many attractions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful lodge in Oct. 2010. The lodge is set high on a hill with wonderful views. It was so peaceful - it was so quiet as if we were in the middle of no where but were only minutes from all the Cooperstown attractions we wanted to visit. Cooperstown is so quaint; it is like stepping back into the1800's. Steve, the lodge's proprietor, has a rye sense of humor and is the perfect host. He and his staff were very accommodating and helpful throughout our stay. Fall is the perfect time to visit as far as we are concerned but families come in the summer and enjoy the lodge's pool and nearby baseball fields. The fall colors are gorgeous. We liked that we had a refrigerator, two burner stove and microwave so we made sandwiches and took them with us as we visited the attractions plus we made dinner in our room at night. Many of the rooms have a great balcony with chairs so you can sit and contemplate the leaves changing colors and dropping off. We hope to go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BusyInTorrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    24
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
61
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at August Lodge. It is 5 minutes not even to Dreamparks, very convenient location. The rooms are spacious, clean and have kitchenettes. They have washer and dryers, continental breakfast in the am. all the coffee you want with cereal, muffins and yogurt. They have a pool and barbecues. Plenty of space for the kids to run around. They also have an area to sit and make a fire. Most nights parents and siblings sat aroound the fire and toasted marshmallows. Cooperstown, Hall of Fame is minutes away. The lodge does have picnic tables for barbecuing, but no umbrellas for shade. They also have a volleyball net. We ate at Nicoletta's in Cooperstown, Hoffman Bistro Cafe, Fly Creek a cute country store with outdoor eatng very casual to have light lunch with apple cider floats with icecream and warm cinnamon donuts. The Blue Mingo Grill is good to. We had a team dinner at Peppermill which was fine. Place was dated but they were very nice and accomodating. The owners at August Lodge are tolerant with kids, they have to be I guess. We were told a few times to make sure the kids were being monitored. The front desk sells Clothes soap, water for $1.50 and chocolate bars. You also get a pool towel for the pool which should be returned. The pool house has a ping pong table and bathroom. no umbrellas at pool. Overall, we had a terrific time and will be returning in the future for our other son.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jcm1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Springs, Ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

By far the best place to stay if you are traveling with family to Dreams Park tournaments. Pool, volleyball, teatherball, large yard and very short drive to the park make it easy for families with children. Gas grills and picnic tables allow multiple families to enjoy time together and avoid the hassle and cost of eating out. Nights spent hanging by the campfire were a highlight.
The only negative is the attitude of the owner and some staff, who clearly felt like they were doing us a favor. Yes, it was fully booked, and yes, I am sure they will remain that way all summer. But that does not mean that you can't be a little nicer to your guests. They do call it the "hospitality industry", right?
All in all, we'd recommend friends going to Dreams Park with kids to stay there. But if you are going for a quite/romantic get away, this is not your place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Somers12u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddon Twp., NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

I really liked it mostly for the views. But that is not the only reason to stay here. It has a functional kitchenette, room enough to eat in, and it's not a chain hotel! Everything was very clean and new. The decor is very lodgey, but didn't seem authentically lodgey -- not really a big deal. All of the rooms have outside balconies, and although we were there in cold weather, it really was lovely.
The breakfast (free) was not one of my better breakfasts -- grocery store fare still packaged as you would by them from the supermarket. Not very appealing. The coffee however is Green Mountain from a Keurig machine that is free in the lobby all day and evening. The coffee was good.
All in all, I would definitely stay here again. I'm not sure if I would stay in the summer. From what I understand, they only rent out by the week in the summer and it is mostly Little League people - team members, parents, etc. I'm betting it's a good deal more crowded too. For us, at the time of the year we went, it was perfect!

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kdbaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

We went up the week after Labor Day. Many of the crowds were gone. We stayed at the Lodge, and had a tremendous time with our two kids, who are 11 year old twin boys. They loved the pool, the jacuzzi and the ping pong. And of course, we loved roasting marshmallows out by the fire behind the lodge over looking a very scenic vista. Great little breakfast/lodge room.

Lots of fun and very neat and clean.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastWineries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed at August Lodge while one of our sons was playing at Cooperstown Dreams Park for a week-long baseball tournament. It is such a wonderful place. The rooms are all decorated with rustic (but new) wood furniture and warm cozy quilts. The outside is log cabin style with adironack chairs with a huge open firepit for evening fires under the stars. Weather permitting...a built in swimming pool. I would definitely recommend this to anyone, couples or families. Tons of property for kids to run around and play. It really was a wonderful experience. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rewbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Our Family, two adults, three children, one of whom is in a wheelchair recently spent three nights at August Lodge. Steve and Jamie the owner/operators are very friendly and very focused on customer satisfaction. Starting with the large sized rooms, high end toiletries, limited but generous continental breakfast, and day long coffee service, things get better and better. The lodge overlooks the "field of dreams" and has beautiful views of sunrise, sunsets, moonrises, night skies, the works. Not to mention the nightly "campfire" that you can feed logs to until midnight. The view is absolutely beautiful and the outdoor heated pool and hot tub, make a great end to a day before heading out for dinner. We also had fun using the ping pong table. It is only minutes from the "only traffic light" in Cooperstown, but removed enough to provide privacy and relaxation after a hard day of doing the tourist trail. The ADA accessible room was very large and easy in, out and usable. We would be delighted to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PassingThrough04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartwick
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cooperstown Inn & Suites
1.6 mi away
Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
4.7 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tunnicliff Inn
Tunnicliff Inn
#10 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to August Lodge Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Lodge Cooperstown

Property: August Lodge Cooperstown
Address: 259 Seminary Rd., Hartwick Seminary, Hartwick, NY 13807
Location: United States > New York > Hartwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hartwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
August Lodge offers you an authentic country experience in beautiful, spacious, rural surroundings. Relax on your private balcony with panoramic views of the Susquehanna Valley from your mountaintop country retreat. August Lodge is a 25 suite, two story timber frame country Inn, perched atop a wild flower covered meadow. Each over-sized suite is accessed from a two story, full length porch, with, soaring, dramatic, hand-hewn hammer beam trusses centered front and rear. Our suites have an expanded, fully stocked kitchen facility, including a cook top, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, china, stemware, silverware, and sink. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
August Lodge Cooperstown Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing