We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August Lodge - what a great place to stay for our Cooperstown Tournament!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hartwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
August Lodge Cooperstown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hartwick
GreenLeadersGold level
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“August Lodge - what a great place to stay for our Cooperstown Tournament!”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in the Sidney Suite and were very happy with the facilities and location of the lodge! Very spacious and couldn't have asked for a better view! Literally 3 minute drive to Dreams Park made it very convenient traveling back and forth, especially for the lag time in between games. Staff very friendly and helpful, loved the continental breakfast available every morning, the Keurig available 24 hrs! Plenty of linens, towels were not the typical "scratchy" starchy smell, were very soft and lots of extra pillows were provided. Only negative is the refrigerator took a couple of days to get cold (understand this was common in the other rooms as well). Took advantage of the laundry room available. The pool and jacuzzi were clean, water a perfect temperature and the kids loved it! We also used the outdoor grill which was convenient for our group bbq with picnic tables and nightly fires with smores was great! My son left his Cooperstown ring in the room which we discovered on the way home, called and they mailed it out right away so we received 3 days later. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our experience.... even though a little pricey for the suite but worth every cent. Would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Get the suite if you don't mind the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    25
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
69
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013

While only 1 mile from the crazy, hectic pace of Cooperstown Dream Park, August Lodge is set in the quiet hills with a terrific view & the best pool in town. Added treats? They will build you campfires & you have a fabulous view of the Cooperstown fireworks without all the traffic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanushewsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

August Lodge was top notch. Nice, clean rooms and overall perfect facilities. Pool area and screened in porch were great. The views were outstanding. Daily room cleaning was unexpected and very nice. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a very nice touch and location to dreams park could not be beat!! You will love this place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdestefanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemus Point, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

There really are no words to use to explain how wonderful are stay was at the Lodge. We were there for a memorial in Richfield Springs in May. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The accommodations were perfect & the bed was extremely comfortable. My husband & I lead a very hectic life, we plan on going back for peace & quiet very soon. My only disappointment was not seeing any deer or bears....maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buggy225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My 17 year old son has decided that when life gets to be too much and he needs to get away from it all he is going to August Lodge and Spa. What a beautiful place, sitting high on a hill with a beautiful view. I thought the hotel had just opened is was so clean. I later learned that it has been open for more than a year at least. Truly a sign of a caring and commited staff.
The room was large and had a small 2 burner stove, a small fridge and a sink, so glad I wasn't staying at the Best Western or Holiday Inn. The only negative comment is that the sound proofing between the rooms could be better. At night you can easily eavesdrop on your neighbors conversations. This property is a quick drive to Cooperstown. Highly recommend it for families traveling to the Baseball Hall of Fame or some fun on Otwego Lake.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The cleanest accommodations I have ever had at a hotel! Extremely comfortable, very accommodating staff, beautifully decorated, serene setting- all at a very affordable price!! I can not wait to go back to the August and spend more time enjoying the amenities it has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paceeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandler, arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed in early October and August Lodge met all of our expectations. I read many reviews before booking and just want to clarify that it is a lodge, not a resort. The accommodations are moderate 3-3.5 stars, it's not a luxury property. It is comfortable and clean, great for families.The fall colors were exceptional on the grounds and in Cooperstown as well which was a special treat for us. The king/queen room was large and clean. Though we didn't use it the convenience of the kitchenette would be wonderful for a longer stay. The staff was friendly and helpful when checking us in as well as assisting with printing boarding passes and purchasing tickets for the Hall. The light breakfast was great - muffins, cereal and fruit along with juices, milk and coffee. Just enough to get you going. The screened patio was a wonderful place to enjoy coffee and start the day. The location is convenient to Cooperstown, a short 7 minute drive. We would stay again and recommend to our friends/family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottogetaway2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartwick
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
281 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
872 reviews
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to August Lodge Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Lodge Cooperstown

Property: August Lodge Cooperstown
Address: 259 Seminary Rd, Hartwick Seminary, Hartwick, NY 13807-1149
Location: United States > New York > Hartwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hartwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
August Lodge offers you an authentic country experience in beautiful, spacious, rural surroundings. Relax on your private balcony with panoramic views of the Susquehanna Valley from your mountaintop country retreat. August Lodge is a 25 suite, two story timber frame country Inn, perched atop a wild flower covered meadow. Each over-sized suite is accessed from a two story, full length porch, with, soaring, dramatic, hand-hewn hammer beam trusses centered front and rear. Our suites have an expanded, fully stocked kitchen facility, including a cook top, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, china, stemware, silverware, and sink. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
August Lodge Cooperstown Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing