We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hartwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
August Lodge Cooperstown
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hartwick
GreenLeadersGold level
Somers
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We came up for the week for our son's baseball tournament. During our stay we lost power at the hotel. The owner of the property was rude and did absolutley nothing to make our sta more comfortable. All he cared about was what was convienent for him. Besides this the towels are cheap , so was the "so called " continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustLodge, General Manager at August Lodge Cooperstown, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Our apologies, we were hit directly by hurricane Irene, the Lodge was out of power for two days, not so bad considering there are still areas out of power a week later. Our emergency generator provided power for essential services. This guest was livid about the inconvenience which was totally out of our control. She was given a refund for her inconvenience but apparently remains unhappy. We are sorry we could not satisfy her.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    25
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
69
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katonah, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Other than the terrific views, this hotel is really a motel, just not as clean. The rooms are blah, and the freshly baked continental breakfast comes from a supermarket. Considering that the owner is in the hospitality busines, he is not hospitable. If this hotel charged $125 to $150 it would be adequate, at $300 per night all paid upfront it is a crime.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was a trip for my 13 yr old son baseball tournament at Cooperstown,we had the Sydney Suite (above the Lobby).We drove 12 hrs and looking forward very much to relax.Well according to the staff (Steve the owner included)!!!!!We were to LOUD.We walked to hard on the floor.Our kids were to loud.They complained to us twice and my 11 yr old daughter heard Steve complain to a other adult about us in front of her that the woman upstairs is having a hard time controlling her kids.For this being a mile from the Dreamspark,u have to expect to have families with children staying at your lodge,if u dont like it,get out of the business,we walked on eggshells the entire 7 days,I was so worried of upsetting the staff,we are from the South and have manners,we are not rude people and we can control our kids STEVE!!!!! For 3800.00 dollars for the week,we want a refund!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Do not stay here if u have kids....Thanks for a very unrelaxing week.Also he over charged me for a pair of googles at the front desk,he ripped me off.Very unhappy,what a very unhappy jerk that Steve,must not be very happy in his household.I will pray for him.Thats all I can do.I wanna really say what I feel,but this site willnot allow profanity...lol

Room Tip: dont stay at august lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelly g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustLodge, General Manager at August Lodge Cooperstown, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Our sincerest apologies to "walking on eggshells". Our policy is that we allow guests to make all the noise they want. We only bring up an issue with a guest when another guest complains, which usually only happens at night. When a guest does complain, we locate the source of the problem and politely address it. Unfortunately this does not always resolve the issue and at times our staff needs to courteously remind a guest a number of times that they need to be considerate of our other guests. We are sorry if giving peace to one guest inconveniences another, you can please most of the people most of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The hotel staff was not very caring or did not seem very nice to me and my family, and my particular "room" was not clean and the bathroom towels were stained. Not a recommended hotel to stay at. The only good thing was the breathtaking views.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelUSA538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustLodge, Front Office Manager at August Lodge Cooperstown, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
A search of our guest name and address database indicates that we have only ever had 2 Lodge guest rooms rented to guests from Nevada (a very large state with a very small population), both were in 2009. Our staff is prized for their cheerful and attentive guest relations and customer service. Our on-site commercial laundry produces fresh clean linens and towels daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Friendship, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The location of this hotel is outstanding for Dreamspark. Nice setting and pretty hotel. Rooms are clean and good size.
Overall staff was very nice. One of the owners Steve is very odd!!! and can be extremely rude. Not at all happy about baseball families staying at the lodge.

Breakfast is simple but nice. Great Coffee

Pool is ice cold in the summer!!!!!!!!!!!

Still a very nice place in Cooperstown.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

This hotel was great. More like a bed and breakfast with the personal attention. It was clean and well amintained. Beautiful views and a wonderful little lobby. Nice big areas for the kids to play. We really loved it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank drrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralston, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We came to August Lodge during the "off season." Because of this and the fact that Cooperstown had a ton of snow, there wasn't too much to do at the lodge. We knew this going in and had absolutley no issue with this.
The owner, Steve was more that helpful, checking in with us and making sure we didn't need anything before he retired for the night. He was also more than helpful in recommending different things to do around the area. He and the small "off season" staff were friendly and helpful.
The rooms were super clean and comfortable. Beautiful views and a beautiful lodge. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bwilch15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartwick
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cooperstown Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
281 reviews
15.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Oneonta
Hampton Inn Oneonta
#1 of 9 in Oneonta
872 reviews
14.6 mi away
Courtyard Oneonta Cooperstown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to August Lodge Cooperstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about August Lodge Cooperstown

Property: August Lodge Cooperstown
Address: 259 Seminary Rd, Hartwick Seminary, Hartwick, NY 13807-1149
Location: United States > New York > Hartwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hartwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
August Lodge offers you an authentic country experience in beautiful, spacious, rural surroundings. Relax on your private balcony with panoramic views of the Susquehanna Valley from your mountaintop country retreat. August Lodge is a 25 suite, two story timber frame country Inn, perched atop a wild flower covered meadow. Each over-sized suite is accessed from a two story, full length porch, with, soaring, dramatic, hand-hewn hammer beam trusses centered front and rear. Our suites have an expanded, fully stocked kitchen facility, including a cook top, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, china, stemware, silverware, and sink. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
August Lodge Cooperstown Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Hartwick Seminary
August Hotel Cooperstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing