We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
HYATT house White Plains(White Plains)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Doral Arrowwood(Rye Brook)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Esplanade Hotel(White Plains)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveler rating
447
243
98
39
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
243
98
39
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskwhite plainsguest parkingthe concierge loungeseparate buildinghousekeeping stafflong walkguest roomstennis courtsindoor poolmini fridgeoff the highwaythe entire staffparking lotfitness centernew york cityleticia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
716 - 721 of 850 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

So what do NYC types do when there is endless snow and no one in family knows how to ski? You go to your favorite Renaissance hotel and play in the snow! With more than a foot of fresh snow, we were surprised to have to only share the snow with deer and other four legged animals. We have attached a picture of the snow person and an R (guess for what).

It must have been a slow winter weekend as Tim and Marisol at the front desk took care of us and upgraded us to a small suite. Perfect for my wife and two daughters. It was also conveniently down the hall from the Concierge lounge. This is relatively new here, i.e. being open during the weekend. However, it was like a small private club but with familiar faces like Nancy who we met in the past in the Hive, the main restaurant. We also met the head chef last night, Jean-Claude X (well, got the first and middle names at least). He was in the lounge greeting guests and making his special crab and gazpacho appetizer. JCX has been there since the late 1980s. We have always enjoyed the food at this Renaissance and now we know why. JCX prepares really nice meals for the Hive where we have often dined.

Last thing, everyone is so friendly there, from the front desk to the restaurant and concierge staff and the housekeepers. Everyone looks you in the eye, smiles and says hello. Rare but appreciated these days.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have been renovated ask for one overlooking the inner courtyard.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff_Ray_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Jeff_Ray_NYC,
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Chef Jean Claude is amazing. Chef has over 35 years experience in his field and was once named "Renaissance Chef of the Year Worldwide"! I will be sure to pass this along to our entire team. We hope you come back soon!

Delighted,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

If you are planning a trip to Westchester county, whether on business or pleasure, I recommend the Renaissance. The hotel lobby, restaurant and rooms have been recently renovated which makes for a comforatble stay. the hotel in located centrally on a nice quiet piece of property and is fairly priced. Most importantly, the service is unsurpassed. I stay here frequently and have never been dissapointed and my sense is all travelers receive the same consistent approach which is "they aim to please". No amount of training will do it completely, you have to have good people and the Renaissance has many. Lettitia at the fron desk, Gary in the lobby restaurant, Oscar and Frank at the front desk are a few who will ensure your stay is a pleasant one. Thanks to all for the effort to provide a home away from home experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the elevator bank. All rooms are similar.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Jim F,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We truly want our guests to consider our Hotel as a home away from home. It makes me so happy to hear that we have created that experience for you. I will be sure to pass these thoughtful comments to our entire team. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Delighted,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I booked the hotel back in Nov for Valetines day weekend through Groupon. It was very busy since there were various events happening at the hotel but the service was still exceptional. I stay at many hotels and found the Renaissance to be at the top of my list. The front desk staff was very helpful however I found the staff in the restaurant extremely friendly and accomodating. Eddy our waiter was so nice and always served with a smile!
It was busy valentine's night and he was great. He bought the chef out to meet us and to recommend the best dish. We were so pleased with everything.
On Sunday we went back for lunch and Steve served us. Another waiter with a big smile and excellent service. he recommended 2 sandwiches for us which we really enjoyed!
I will definitely go back to this hotel again!! We had a perfect weekend!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Janie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Janie D,
Thank you so much for your great review! I am excited to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Eddie and Steven are both fantastic team members. I will ensure that these comments are shared with them. We hope you come and stay with us again soon!

Delighted,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was our second time staying here as our first trip last year was just as amazing.
The Renaissance Westchester has the ambiance of feeling like a chic hotel on the UWS of Manhattan, has amazing staff members/service, is super clean and has excellent food and amenities.
My husband, myself and our 2 year old daughter specifically came here for Valentine's weekend to getaway for a lovely getaway where we could still feel like "adults" while entertaining our daughter with their in ground heated pool and beautiful outdoor nature scenery.
The pool was under construction so we were disappointed and thought our weekend was ruined but mananagers Gavin Hasty and Danielle Conway went above and beyond to ensure that we had an outstanding trip.
They provided a shuttle to a nearby family resort that has a sports center (including pool), gave us movie tickets to go see movie of our choice (Frozen) & surprised us when we came back with champagne, chocolate covered strawberries for us and the Princess Anna doll and mini brownies & black/white cookies for our daughter.
We were shocked and overjoyed with gratitude!
We'll definitely be coming back often! It's great for everyone whether business, family & couples. And the packages they offer are great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Julia L,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We truly appreciate it. I am so happy to hear that we had exceeded your expectations even though our pool was closed for renovations. It was a pleasure having you as a guest at our Hotel and we hope you all come back to enjoy the pool when it is completed!

Delighted,
Melanie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The front desk staff was extremely friendly and professional each time I spoke with them. The housekeeping staff too. Saw lots of airline staff staying here - nice company.

The lobby is fun and stylish, very clubby in a good way. Table Top games were a nice touch. The room had 2 Queens and a woods view - gorgeous in the snow. The pool looked nice and deep but was under renovation: I thank the property for clearly noting that at the website before I reserved. Very professional of them.

Beds comfortable and nice linens. Extremely clean bathroom where everything worked well and pleasant toiletries.

There are only about 7 reasonable hotels in or near downtown WP, and only 3-4 seem to be nice and welcoming. For the price and short distance this was a good value at least on a weekend (pricier weekdays).

Finding it - there seems to be only one way to get there: exit off 287 westbound just west of the Hutch. If you are eastbound on 287 ie coming from WP downtown you have to go round 2 Cloverleafs first. Kinda crazy but your navigator should understand.

Overall this was a nice stay and I'd definitely return

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank SueSyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gavin h, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Westchester Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear SueSyo,

Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team will be pleased to know that you appreciated their efforts in making your stay a memorable one.
Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews