We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Great Staff”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
River Run Restaurant & Convent
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Hancock
Restaurant details
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Staff”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was so convenient and easy. I had the salmon and it was fine. You won't find a better restaurant in the area. Check on the hours if you are coming in Sept.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CapeCodTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow! Great food, great atmosphere, great prices.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

A little out of the way, tucked back about 3/4 of a mile from the River Road and NY 17 halfway between Deposit and Hancock. This restaurant is part of the West Branch Angler Resort. The food is surprisingly excellent at dinner. Appetizers include a great Chipotle Pork Nacho plate and roasted garlic hummus; we tried both on separate occasions and both were excellent. Our first time there I played it safe and got a burger--the Black and Bleu, which was grilled to the correct temperature, drizzled in a blue cheese sauce, served with smoked bacon. I'm pretty sure it's easily one of the best burgers I've ever had. And I've had too many burgers! The chateaubriand is also great, and is served with a mushroom risotto that
compliments it very nicely. Desserts are refreshingly simple yet equally phenomenal. I think the cheesecake was my family's favorite. Dinner can be eaten in the dining room or in the cozy bar downstairs.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank braindeadmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a new ouest for a saturday evening.a new place for a beer.”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

a friend recomened the river run for good food ,nice atmosphere. he was right .we came at agood time . sat at the bar great menue . food and service was really good .were going back.you wont be disapointed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very great location.. Great food recommended by someone who was eating the terrible food at the Scotts resort

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Run Restaurant & Convent also viewed

Hancock, Catskill Region
 
Hancock, Catskill Region
Hancock, Catskill Region
 
Deposit, Catskill Region
Hancock, Catskill Region
 

Been to River Run Restaurant & Convent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing