We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for bicyclist”
Review of Capra Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capra Inn Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great place for bicyclist”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

A great place and super friendly people. We arrived at the Inn quite wet after a long day of bicycling - hoping for a dry place and a warm meal. The owners could not have been friendlier and offered to drive us to the nearby restaurant AND pick us up at the end of the meal as it was raining. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank perlfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    23
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
15
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

About eight of us, family and friends, get together in a central location each year, usually during the fall and the Spring. We always stay at the Capra Inn. The location is great for us and we are always treated very well with friendly service and very good accomadations. If you are traveling thru the area, or visit the area for the great fishing and hunting, or the great sights, give Capra a try. You won't be disapointed.

Jon D.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We are a group of motorcycle touring enthusiasts from Ottawa, Canada. We tour in the US three times each year. The Capra motel is a favorite for an overnight stopover, and as a base camp to enjoy the roads around the Catskils and NE Penn. The rooms are clean, large and well equipped. The management are friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My daughter was part of camp Lohikan staff counselor, we were helping her drivie out to the Lake Como area, from Illinois. after hours and hours of driving we finally reached Hancock New york and were exhausted. We were lucky enough to get a room at the Capra Inn, what a relief to find kind office staff, and a clean, lovely room. along with our room was free movie passes to the theatre right next door to our room, That was a special treat for our children. The office staff helped us with directions, and in July were traveling that way once again, needed a room, they were booked, but took my number just incase, they called me with an available room 5 miles away in a different motel. I so appreciiated this courtesy.. I always like to applaud when I find people in business who go out of their way for their customers.. SO BIG HIGH 5 for Capra Inn. big thumbs up.. you made a difference in our travels thank you

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Lilly2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

As other reviewers have noted, this is a small town, so tailor your expectations accordingly. We stayed here for one night while dropping off my daughter at a local sleepaway camp. The Capra Inn is a very, very basic motel. One huge plus was that the room was extremely clean. Also, the front desk person and the cleaning staff were very friendly. They gave us 3 free tickets to the movie theater next door ($18 value). Our room had its own air conditioning unit, which kept the room cool but somehow it was still quite humid. We got a double queen room and the cost was $125. If my daughter decides to go back to camp, I think next summer we will try the Hancock House down the street. I didn't see a room there, but from the looks of the lobby, it appears a step up from the Capra. Although the double queen room is $20 more than the Capra, it includes a free breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank praline1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is where we haved stayed for camp visitng day for the past 2 summers and I plan on staying next year as well. It is very clean, a/c works well. Very pleasant people working there.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be exactly the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NJMom0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

While visiting our daughter at Frenchwoods camp last summer, we had the good fortune to stay at The Capra Inn Motel. The people there are friendly and very accommodating. The motel is only 15 minutes from camp, but the reasons why we will continue to return each summer are the A/C, comfortable beds and clean rooms. Our daughter preforms in shows throughout the summer and there are 3 visiting day weekends so we spend a lot of time in Hancock during the summer. What a pleasure to be able to return time and time again to such a clean, comfortable and friendly motel. A good nights sleep is important when you are walking around camp all day and into the evening so knowing that we have a comfortable place to stay is very important to us. The managers and staff at the Capra Inn Motel make it a PLEASURE to return to. We can't wait to see everyone again this summer at the Capra Inn

Room Tip: Book early!!! Great ice cream shop near by!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HappyFrenchwoodsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
22.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
Holiday Inn Express Gibson
#1 of 2 in New Milford
128 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Inn at Starlight Lake
The Inn at Starlight Lake
#2 of 2 in Starlight
135 reviews
21.1 mi away
Villa Roma Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Super 8 Sidney NY
Super 8 Sidney NY
#1 of 1 in Sidney
231 reviews
23.7 mi away
Fosterdale Motor Lodge
Fosterdale Motor Lodge
#2 of 3 in Cochecton
26 reviews
24.9 mi away
Fern Hall Inn
Fern Hall Inn
#1 of 2 in Clifford
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capra Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capra Inn Motel

Property: Capra Inn Motel
Address: 521 W Main St, Hancock, NY 13783-1074
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Hancock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hancock
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our Spacious Clean Rooms with Bath, A/C, Refrigerator, Microwave, Cable TV, and Internet. Ample Parking. New York / Pennsylvania 'Delaware River' crossing / access. Shuttle Service Available. Convenient to: Fishing, Hiking, Off Road, Golf, Antiques, Restaurants, Yoga, and Capra Cinemas. Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Capra Hotel Hancock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing