We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best summer ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Colonial Shores Resort
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best summer ever”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

For the past seven years we rent for 2 months in Hampton Bays over the summer. This was far the best place we have rented. We have two kids ages 10 and 8 who really had a blast. It's owned by family and they are the most hardworking, caring, accommodating people we have met. It's like all inclusive resort without the food. That said, the owners sometimes make their specialties and share w others around the pool. All the families we've met there are the ones that are coming there every summer for many years. That says it all. Sure enough, as we were leaving we already booked for next summer. Our kids would stay nowhere else but Colonial Shores. Brbutovic family you are doing an amazing job!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vjekoslava B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We used this place as a secondary location for housing out of town guests for our wedding weekend and we could not have been happier.

First of all, they held a block of rooms for us on good faith- no deposit required! They also kept a list of the people that made reservations so I could reference who had and had not booked accommodations yet. Mia & the rest of the staff were friendly, courteous and patient with us as the days got closer.

I had the pleasure of checking out several of the rooms since we had friends and family in most of them and they were all spacious, clean and incredibly comfortable. Great for families & large groups that want to share space too. Full service cottages with a grill & picnic table out back. Beautiful bay views. A large swimming pool.

Finally, their prices were extraordinarily reasonable and the location was wonderful. Minutes from Montauk Highway with easy access to Quogue, West Hampton, Hampton Bays and more. Supermarket, restaurants, bars, shopping-- all within a 5 minute car ride.

A true hidden gem. We will certainly be back. (Provided, of course, that this rave review does not bump their reservations up too much!) Seriously, a wonderful, family-run business that is well worth patronizing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCronin00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Unfortunately we only booked in for one night, because of circumstances but we would have loved to have stayed longer and made good use of the facilities. It is lovely family oriented place, on the water. Boats can be hired. There is also BBQ facilities and the accommodation is varied. Would be a great place for families as you could arrange the accommodation to suit you. Ie 6 adults, 12 children or whatever. The owners are very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delilahPeterhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I was at Colonial In August, good price and good location, in the middle of Hamptons.
Sufficient the cleaning but everyone very friendly, very original and characteristic, far from Hampton's style.
Good for discovery the area.
Near to the most famous beaches

Room Tip: Bring a sleep mask
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbarano Vicentino, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place was spotless.rooms were a great size. Grounds were beautiful. Nice clean pool and a view of the marina. Will definitely come back. Beach about 3 miles away, and great restaurants in same area.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs one bedroom suite. Steps were steep. Next time we will book ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Btrumpy117566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked a room at Colonial Shores last minute and was initially just glad that we were able to find anything at all. We were willing to spend more but nothing else was available. We were more than pleasantly surprised. The property is well maintained and there is no attitude. The setting is on the bay and the docks and "beach" are very charming. The rooms are functional with a nice TV and large fridge. The pool is well maintained and and the outdoor grills and picnic tables offer a nice option if you want to eat in. I definitely recommend Colonial Shores.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxabillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Colonial Shores was just perfect for a quick, inexpensive get-away to the Hamptons. The setting is gorgeous, right on the bay. The owners and people who work there are very nice, helpful, and accommodating, and the price was very reasonable. It is obviously not fancy, but our room was clean, with two queen size beds, and a flat screen TV. The pool area was nice and fun for the kids. The motel is just about a 10 minute drive from Ponquogue Beach (Beautiful!) and maybe 18 minutes from South Hampton. We were really happy with our experience there!

Room Tip: They have small cottages and motel rooms. I believe some of the motel rooms are larger than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
1.9 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#6 of 12 in Hampton Bays
44 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
1.7 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Long Island - East End
10.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Shores Resort

Property: Colonial Shores Resort
Address: 83 W Tiana Rd, Hampton Bays, NY 11946-3699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Shores Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the famous Hamptons you'll begin to feel your self unwind as soon as you arrived at the Colonial Shores Resort. Whether you choose a deluxe motel room, modern one or two bedroom suite or spacious one or two bedroom cottages all with private decks, comfort and convenience is assured. All units feature breathtaking view of either the Bayfront or poolside on Tiana Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Colonial Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Shores Hotel Hampton Bays
Colonial Shores Resort Hampton Bays, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing