We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE this place, great food, drinks and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rumba

Rumba
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Jamaican, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Description: A unique combination of island – inspired food, handcrafted rum specialties, waterfront dining and people happy to be of service. Rumba brings you the feeling of an island getaway.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“LOVE this place, great food, drinks and view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

come here all the time, amazing rum punches and mojitos. Staff is extremely nice and the bartenders are alot of fun. The food is amazing no matter what you order you cant go wrong, the prices are reasonable especially for the hamptons. LOVE that they have happy hour every day and the apps are half off!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLife728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    98
    20
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sag Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little overhyped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I were really excited to eat here. We love caribbean inspired food and, of course, rum punch. The rum punch was delicious! Was it typical to what we had received in the caribbean? No, but then again, every caribbean island does rum punch differently. That being said, Rumba's version is awesome.

Due to the popularity of the restaurant and the small space, we of course encountered a long wait (no reservations are available). The staff was super nice but the restaurant is small and the bar area is JAMMED. It took probably 20 minutes just to order a drink.

When we were seated we ordered the wings special, coconut/spicy something - AWESOME! We also got the seared Ahi Tuna salad, it was just okay, nothing special. My husband ordered the jerk chicken platter; sorry, after being on 3 different caribbean islands in the last 12 months, this is far from traditional jerk. Overall, it lacked flavor and coconut risotto? Just sick with homemade mac and cheese or black eyed peas, rice, etc. I ordered the fish tacos, again, just okay, nothing special. But they are reasonably priced and it's not a ton of food, so you don't feel like you need to be rolled out after you finish.

The hot fudge sundae was delicious as was the coffee. Overall, we had a great meal and would go back but based on other reviews, there was so much hype, it just didn't live up to the hype.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy_M06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Some of the best food I've ever had! The kids island steak is one of the best steaks I've ever eater and the tacos are to die for! Friendly staff and awesome atmosphere. We drove 45 mins to come here and already made a reservation for later that week to take family when they come into town!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 5familytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place on the water, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Went today, Saturday, April 19, sat at an outside table, Stephanie was our waitress, so sweet and very attentive. we had duck empandanas as an appetizer and my boyfriend has a salmon burger and I had a tuna burger and both were delicious. I had sweet potatoes and boyfirend had risotto, both were awesome. the atmosphere is really nice. In the late spring they have a boat to take to your their other restaurant Cowfish, which is also very nice, Last year we went there for an awesome dessert. I highly recommend Rumba. Give it a try! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank barbisep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the Best of the Hamptons!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

It gets very busy but the wait is worth it! The best rum punch,key lime pie,and fish tacos! Nice music and a great staff-that never loses its cool when it is swamped with patrons! It's great to take the complementary boat to nearby Cowfish another gem of a restaurant! It is like a vacation in itself!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Livewithpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumba also viewed

Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to Rumba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing