We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No finer place on Long Island!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen's by the Bays
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“No finer place on Long Island!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Our whole family just spent a long weekend at the Bowens, We took over the entire place,all the motel rooms and cottages as well for a family wedding which was held on there grounds. I cant say enough about the work and effort that went into making that special day. The grounds were picture perfect, and the motel rooms were simply amazing! Charming, well appointed, spotlessly clean, comfortable and the best part is you park, come in through the door, and you are looking at sliding doors that open to the beautiful gardens! The cottages that other family members were staying in were just as perfect! The thought that goes into decorating each and every one is a testament to the Bowens comment to provide you with the charm,along with all the modern conveniences we have all become accustomed to. Our stay at the Bowens by the bay could not have been better!The friendly atmosphere, gracious hosts, amazing grounds,and dont forget the beautiful pool,made the wedding one that was both unique and unforgettable! Each and every guest staying there loved the place, and we all plan on returning whether celebrating a special occasion, or to just kick back and have a nice relaxing couple of days. Thank you to the Bowens for making our stay one that we all will treasure!

Room Tip: The rooms are all simply perfect, all open up onto the beautiful grounds,and have seating right out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    26
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
103
59
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I'm really surprised by all the positive comments about Bowen's by the Bays. Our experience was the exact opposite. We rented one of the two bedroom cottages for the weekend. The grounds were decent so we had high hopes for the cottage. What a shocker when we walked in and the smell of mold was so overwhelming that we immediately had to open all the windows and keep them open the entire time -- and it still smelled. The furniture was old, dingy, mismatched, and beat-up. The beds crinkled when we sat on them. The floor was dirty. The bathroom shower curtain was moldy and the curtain rings were all rusted. No one showered the day we checked out it was so gross. The whole cottage was shabby, dark, claustrophoic, and depressing. When we checked out and told the front desk person about our experience she said: I try to keep up but it's hard and everything is so expensive. What horrible customer service. All we got was $100 off our stay and the rooms were close to $300 a night. What a rip off!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GCubed48413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gobowens, Owner at Bowen's by the Bays, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
While we appreciate this guest taking the time to make his feelings known, we were not made aware of his dissatisfaction or given the opportunity to make him happy. We could have either changed accommodations for him, or refunded his deposit.

There are certain inaccuracies. First, I never made that comment. We had an extensive discussion, and I explained that because he visited at the time of very heavy pollen, the windows were closed after the cottage was cleaned, and that cleaning products can leave a scent, to which he agreed. When he said he thought there might be some mold, I asked where it was so it could be addressed. He said there were marks on the shower curtain, but actually that it was rust. The liner and rings were immediately changed. If the beds “crinkle”, it is because they have the appropriate covers on the mattresses to ensure cleanliness.

Photos of our accommodations are available online. They are quaint, and each has it’s own personality. If that is not to your taste, then a large chain hotel might be a better choice.

Perhaps the best explanation of our overwhelmingly positive reviews lies in guests choosing well for what will suit their tastes, and seeing the charm of our different style. Our goal is complete guest satisfaction, and we regret that we were not given the opportunity to provide that in this instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed in one of the cottages with our 2yo daughter for 2 nights over Memorial Day weekend. We had a great experience and would definitely go back. The cottage itself was perfect. It was cozy and clean inside and out. The cottage has a screened in porch area with a picnic table and though we did not get to use it, an area to grill outside. There is also a mini playground on the property, which is ideal for young children. The entire property is beautiful. The LIRR runs right behind Bowen's, though that never bothered us at all.

There is a Dunkin' Donuts, Panera and Shop Rite within walking distance (Shop Rite is literally across the street). There is also a diner within 5 min, but we never went b/c Eileen recommended other places to eat (which were great--especially the breakfast spot--though the name escaped me at the moment).

The ocean beach is a short drive away. The main attraction for us was the Long Island Game Farm, which is about 20 minutes by car. My daughter LOVED it there.

The service was great. They allowed us to check in a little early to accommodate my daughter's nap schedule. (The crib they provided was also in good shape with clean sheets--and not all are!). Eileen was extremely welcoming and friendly. She even taped handwritten directions to the Game Farm to our door while we were out for breakfast. Overall, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just returning home from a spur of the moment one night stay at Bowens The grounds are so well kept. The rooms nicely decorated and immaculate The people professional, nice and helpful. And I made a new friend-Ruby!! Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamptonbays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband & I enjoyed a lovely anniversary here! We also brought our tiny kitten too! We stayed in the Larkspur Cottage! This is the best place to stay for a absolute dreamy sleep and a truly beautiful surrounding property! Our cottage was very clean and spacious, with all the comforts of home! Even a sweet little goodie bag to take to your room for your stay! Eileen and her sister were very helpful in what to see and do. We will be returning, this is a remarkable place to stay, a LOVELY HOME AWAY FROM HOME!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Larkspur Cottage. One bedroom Home Away From Home, every little detail and needful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in August for 3 nights en route to New York. Easy to find , lovely location . Even though it is by the main road once inside it is very quiet and peaceful. My six year old loved the cowboy themed room. Rooms open onto lovely garden and a stroll to the pool.
Owners very courteous and nice touch to provide a treat bag on arrival .
This is not 5 star luxury but as a value way to see the Hamptons I highly recommend .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newyorkgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BronxvilleNY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Annabelle, my pug dog and I have just returned from 3 lovely, peaceful, private (our own charming cottage) days spent at Eileen and Kevin's "Bowens" by the Bay! Lovely bright happy flowers surround the grounds, love is truly in every detail and Eileen and Kevin are splendid hosts, helpful, friendly and accommodating in every way. Annabelle and I have found our "perfect" home away from home. "Kudos" Bowens, you are truly one of a kind!

Room Tip: Dogs are welcomed in the cottages. I was thrilled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnnandannabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
1.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
151 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.9 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
509 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
4.7 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen's by the Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen's by the Bays

Property: Bowen's by the Bays
Address: 177 West Montauk Highway, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen's by the Bays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family oriented resort with rooms and cottages that have been described as quaint and charming. Each is individually decorated and has it's own personality. We have a pool, lighted tennis court, shuffleboard, small putting green and playground. The grounds are shady and flower filled. Pets are welcome in the cottages by prior arrangement, but never in the rooms. This offers a choice for those with allergies to stay where there have never been pets. All accommodations have flat screen cable tv and air conditioning. All rooms have refrigerators and coffeemakers with complimentary tea & coffee, and all cottages as well as the studio have compact but complete kitchens equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and microwave. We are approximately 3 miles from both ocean and bay beaches where all are welcome. Pets can be taken to the beach before 9 a.M. And after 6 p.M. Both North & South Forks can be easily accessed from here, and we are about halfway between Southampton and Westhampton Villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Bowen's by the Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen`s By The Bays Hotel Hampton Bays
Bowens By The Bays Hampton
Bowen's By The Bays Hampton Bays, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing