We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Go Anywhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen's by the Bays
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't Go Anywhere Else”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have stayed in probably hundreds of hotels, in dozens of countries on five continents. Bowen's By The Bays is my favourite. I like 5-star luxury, don't get me wrong. But Kevin and Lee Bowen ditch the concierge and personally do all they can to make your stay here as near perfect as possible. The grounds are spacious and beautiful. There's places for the children to play but with plenty of trees and plantings sound is dulled and it isn't noisy. Every cottage is different having its own individual character. The motel rooms are immaculate, well-appointed and comfortable. If your ideal hotel has a guy waiting to bow and hold your robe open when you get out of the shower then Bowens is not for you. If you enjoy the personal touch and a friendly, welcoming, unpretentious reception in a beautiful tree-and-flower setting or if you're only ever going on one vacation stop looking now.

Room Tip: Unless a daily maid service is vital to you I'd take a cottage every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0anna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    26
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
103
59
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After driving out from JFK along the many auto ways dodging traffic and mad drivers it was like pulling into Shangrila when we arrived at Bowens. We pulled off the highway into a wooded vale that had a range of colonial style cabins all fitted out with everything to allow a familly of 4 to sleep, shower and even prepare meals either on the Barbecue or in the massive oven and hob in the well equipped kitchen.

What was even more surprising was when we walked towards the hidden highway across the road was a very large superbly equipped supermarket with plenty of fresh food and a short walk away was a bakery with the ideal coffee shop.

Bowen's was equipped with an outdoor swimming pool and wifi so what more could a traveller seeking to spend a few peaceful days prior to driving further to a familly wedding and for those of you who like to spend time on a sandy patrolled beach this was only 1.5 miles away.

Alas on the final day we had to move in to two rooms in the motel because a familly gathering of about 40 took over the cabins something they did year on year. Not only did Bowen's owners make us welcome but so did the familly that came after we had been there 2 days. Again the rooms were excellent, as were all the facilities and by using the outside tables and chairs we were able to take most of our meals.

To repeat an excellent place to stay whether for a few days or longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossnagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Village, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our family of three plus doggy love staying in their cottages. We had to ask ourselves, "how do they do it"? the answer is simple- the Bowens are on-site and know exactly how they want things to be. Landscaping with much attention to preserving nature's beauty, cleanliness, welcoming to all, kids and beloved pets included.It is a place where little things mean a lot, and add up to a wonderful place to stay.
The Hampton Bays location is great for visits to other towns on south and north fork,and we had ample opportunity to see many other lodging places on our day trips. No contest! We will be back . All I can say is that I'm sure it is gorgeous there in fall, and Eileen tells me they remain open until Columbus Day. There's still time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 277Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Searched for a place to stay at the last minute for August in the Hamptons and was lucky enough that Bowen's By the Bays had a vacancy. A quaint place in a great location. Only double beds in the motel rooms- which had cinder block rooms which made it quiet, except when the train went by. The LIRR tracks are less than 25 yards from the motel rooms (as compared to the cottages) but despite this, the last train comes by just before 11PM and the first is about 6AM. Not terrible and not even a deal breaker as we'd go back there. Bathrooms are modern, but rooms themselves are not, but quaint regardless. The grounds are very nice as is the pool. Front room staff are very welcoming and made great restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coachdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Last summer my daughter, my 2 grandkids, our family dog and I spent 3 nights/4 days at Bowen's. We had such a great time we couldn't wait to book a full week for this year. Once again, we had a lovely vacation experience. In addition to the comfortable, charming cottage, delightful pool and georgeous grounds, we much enjoyed the screened in porch, relaxing hammock along with the BBQ pit. Eileen and Kevin (the owners) could not be more accomodating - as well as their staff. Shopping is 3 minutes away and the beaches 3 miles. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm very familiar with the Hampton Bays area as my mother in law used to live in nearby East Quogue. My husband and I have driven past Bowen's countless times but we had no idea of what a charming hotel it really is. We were in town for the weekend visiting family. I was just looking for a clean and convenient hotel to be close to where we were visiting family. I was very impressed with the previous reviews so I felt comfortable with my choice. Eileen was nothing but responsive and pleasant to deal with. The hotel room was spacious, clean and charming. Our king size bed was so comfortable! We had a little patio outside our sliding glass doors. The room had a small fridge. The ground are beautifully maintained and landscaped. Such pretty gardens and ambiance! We really were only there to sleep but we would definitely stay there again!!!

Room Tip: We had a hotel room but the cottages looked very charming if you want more space and can spend the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigtige20002016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Reading the extremely positive reviews of this place might give you a misimpression about what you should expect. If you want a homey, campy, rustic experience in a woodsy setting, you will not be disappointed. If you are looking for "Egyptian cotton" or "high thread counts," you will be very disappointed. Rooms are dated (think wood paneling), furniture is mismatched, beds are old, and bathrooms are tiny, but everything is clean. Think of the accommodations as what you would expect to find in a cabin in the woods. That said, the property is sandwiched between a busy road and the Long Island Railrod tracks, so you will hear either traffic or trains if you are on the periphery of the property (which most cabins are). There is a nice pool that is unheated, so it will be cold.

We stayed as a large group, and the owners were very accommodating.

Room Tip: I think the highway side might be quieter than the railroad tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
1.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
151 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.9 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
509 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
4.7 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen's by the Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen's by the Bays

Property: Bowen's by the Bays
Address: 177 West Montauk Highway, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen's by the Bays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family oriented resort with rooms and cottages that have been described as quaint and charming. Each is individually decorated and has it's own personality. We have a pool, lighted tennis court, shuffleboard, small putting green and playground. The grounds are shady and flower filled. Pets are welcome in the cottages by prior arrangement, but never in the rooms. This offers a choice for those with allergies to stay where there have never been pets. All accommodations have flat screen cable tv and air conditioning. All rooms have refrigerators and coffeemakers with complimentary tea & coffee, and all cottages as well as the studio have compact but complete kitchens equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and microwave. We are approximately 3 miles from both ocean and bay beaches where all are welcome. Pets can be taken to the beach before 9 a.M. And after 6 p.M. Both North & South Forks can be easily accessed from here, and we are about halfway between Southampton and Westhampton Villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Bowen's by the Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen`s By The Bays Hotel Hampton Bays
Bowens By The Bays Hampton
Bowen's By The Bays Hampton Bays, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing