We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen's by the Bays
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in a cottage with our dog. Bowen's is very cool about dogs - you are allowed to leave the dog in your room even unattended provided your pet does not cause a ruckus/mess. It is near the train and highway but I didn't really hear noise from either. The pool is lovely, the cottage clean and well furnished. The grounds were especially pretty with lots of flowers, hammocks and a little waterfall. There was a decent restaurant/bar we could walk to and the owners were friendly without being nosy... they had lots of recommendations/suggestions. A nice tennis court right on the property, free to guests, and plenty of free balls to use. Beach is a short drive away - we biked to avoid the parking fee. Downtown area of Hampton Bays with little shops/restaurants about half a mile away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    25
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
102
57
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I and our son who's 3 and our daughter who's 2 months old and 2 of our dogs stayed here for 4 nights. We stayed in a little cottage that had 2 bedrooms. it was very cute and clean and had a nice screened porch that the dogs loved. It had a great play area and nice clean pool as well on the premises. It is also conveniently located across the street from Stop and Shop to stock up.

The reason why I only gave them 3 stars cause they are located very very close to the LIRR which rumbles through the night honking their horns shaking the house and waking up my 3 year old at 3AM every night screaming. During the day it isn't so bad but at night when waken up by it, it seems like an earthquake is happening (not fun, very scary!!). They defiantly need to invest their money into building a big fence to sound proof this. The stay was pretty expensive too if we ever want to vacation in the Hampton area again I rather rent a house it will probably be a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiM427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were fortunate to get a relatively last minute reservation for a week's stay in order to come visit our new grandson. We really enjoyed our stay at Bowen's. Our room was very quaint and made us feel like we were guests in someone's home. The amenities were perfect - our 3-1/2 year old grandson enjoyed the play area, the putting green, and the swimming pool - and the location was very desirable. We hope to stay there again on future visits.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank haynes1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Bowen's. Growing up in the area, and having no family still there to stay with, we had to pick a place. Bowen's is great - a home away from home. We had the 2 bedroom cottage and it was just perfect for our family of 4. Playground, pond, pool, putting green, grounds were a great setting to stay within the Hamptons. About 7-10 minutes from the beaches! Highly Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordana74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Had to make a sudden reservation and I fell upon Bowen's by the Bay. I needed to bring my dog and they are pet friendly. Close to everything and the cottages were adorable and clean as a whistle. Had a BBQ and a hammack outside and a screened in porch which was nice to sit in the morning.
The owners are very nice and the grounds are beautiful. Small enough yet not crowded property.
I would recommend this place even if you don't have a pet. They have regular rooms which are just as nice and clean.

Room Tip: Nice grounds and pool. Schuffle board, Tennis court and also can have a lesson or two if you need b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My Girl friend and I recently stayed at Bowens for a few days, and we were able to bring out dog too. I cant say enough about how happy I am with out trip. We live in Brooklyn so we really just wanted a chill place to hang out and enjoy the beautiful summer. Bowens was gorgeous, cozy, and very clean. The cottage had everything from its own outdoor grill, picnic area, porch, and hammock. The beach was only a short car trip down the road ( where we saw whales!), and there was a great grocery store across the street. All I really wanted to do was find somewhere I could propose to my girlfriend, somewhere that we could always come back to and celebrate. Bowens was perfect.

Room Tip: The cottages were great, but I peaked into the smaller rooms and they seemed really nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. Clean, convenient, beautiful grounds. I cannot recommend Bowen's more highly!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank licricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
10.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Quogue Club
The Quogue Club
#1 of 1 in Quogue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen's by the Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen's by the Bays

Property: Bowen's by the Bays
Address: 177 West Montauk Highway, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen's by the Bays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family oriented resort with rooms and cottages that have been described as quaint and charming. Each is individually decorated and has it's own personality. We have a pool, lighted tennis court, shuffleboard, small putting green and playground. The grounds are shady and flower filled. Pets are welcome in the cottages by prior arrangement, but never in the rooms. This offers a choice for those with allergies to stay where there have never been pets. All accommodations have flat screen cable tv and air conditioning. All rooms have refrigerators and coffeemakers with complimentary tea & coffee, and all cottages as well as the studio have compact but complete kitchens equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and microwave. We are approximately 3 miles from both ocean and bay beaches where all are welcome. Pets can be taken to the beach before 9 a.M. And after 6 p.M. Both North & South Forks can be easily accessed from here, and we are about halfway between Southampton and Westhampton Villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bowen's by the Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen`s By The Bays Hotel Hampton Bays
Bowens By The Bays Hampton
Bowen's By The Bays Hampton Bays, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing