We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowen's by the Bays
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have been going to Bowens for several years. We always stay in a cottage as we travel with our cat.

The cottages are great - so clean and comfortable with all the amenities you need - full kitchen, outdoor BBQ, private porch and cable TV. The location is perfect. It's close enough to shops and restaurants but far enough away that it's quiet and relaxing. The grounds are beautiful and there's even a pool with plenty of space to relax poolside.

The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. They greet you with a welcome goodie bag..a very thoughtful gesture. It is so nice to find somewhere where pets are just as welcome as their parents! Thanks Eileen and Kevin. We will definitely see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueensLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    26
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
103
59
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had a great stay a Bowen's. We are a family of five travelling to the area for a family wedding. Eileen was very accommodating and recommended a 3 BR cottage for us. It was just perfect -- clean, fresh and so comfortable. There are many little homey touches that add to the atmosphere of this quiet place. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and although we did not have time for a swim, the pool looked awesome! The location was very convenient -- right off of the highway -- and the little shopping center across the street came in handy for a morning coffee and donut run (although there is a coffee maker and coffee in the cottage). We were so busy with the wedding activities of the weekend -- I just wish we had more time to relax at this beautiful place. P.S. I kept calling our cottage the "house at Pooh corner" in the hundred acre wood -- it's just that special!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manderson639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
333 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My parents, my dog, and myself stayed in one of the 2BR cottages at Bowen's for a long weekend out of the city. Eileen was beyond helpful on the front end, assisting us with selecting the perfect cottage setup (with the right number/kind of beds, enough privacy for everyone, etc) and responding to questions when my plans almost changed at the last minute due to work. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and given a welcome bag (complete with some local info and a dog biscuit). Upon our request, Eileen recommended nearby restaurants for dinner and marked a map for us with their locations - they all turned out to be delicious.

The property is very well maintained with lots of lush grass, shady trees, and pretty landscaping. My dog really enjoyed his walks on the lawns. On that note, it really was a pleasure to stay where dogs are truly welcome rather than just allowed. Our cottage was also adorable and home-y. The bed was the most comfortable hotel/B&B bed I've slept in lately, and it was great to have a living area and kitchen. The best part was probably the screened porch our cottage had, along with the hammock out front. Sitting on a porch or laying in a hammock are just about the nicest ways to start and end a day.

I had not been to the area before, but I found Hampton Bays to be charming and close to the other places we wanted to visit. It also had plenty of nice restaurant options for dinner, plus there is a grocery store across the street from Bowen's if you want to pick up some supplies.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our family of five, plus dog, stayed one night this past weekend. I wasn't expecting much from a motel and cottages located between a state highway and the railroad tracks but was very pleasantly surprised. Our greeting was very warm and the welcome bag a nice touch. There has been a lot of love, thought and effort put into to grounds and you can feel it, hammocks outside every cottage, new flowers planted everywhere and everything tidy. Despite the challenges of the location already mentioned I didn't notice either the traffic or the trains particularly. Our boys were very pleased with it and would be glad to come back. I debated whether to give it the highest review since it's not a luxury hotel but decided to go ahead since it is certainly the best of it's type that we have visited. If we had a need to be in Hampton Bays or the Area again I would be happy to stay another night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We're from Long Island and have been Out East dozens of times over the years. However, we've never been through Hampton Bays because our usual route bypasses it. How odd that this wonderful little town--and this gem of a place to stay--has eluded us all this time! Owners Eileen and Kevin Bowen (Kevin is also a tennis pro who offers lessons on the property's court) run an immaculate, friendly, cozy operation right in the middle of everything. Most important, they welcomed our miniature dachshund, Louie, with open arms. We will definitely return to Bowen's by the Bays in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My mother and I checked into our room on Fri and we stayed until Sun. Eileen greeted us and had very willingly let us check in early. She put us in the cowboy room and said we could change if we didn't like the decor. We should have changed the room because we would have preferred a girlie room. That being said the furniture and decorations were tastefully done, thematically, and clean. There was a flat screen tv and refrige in the room. The bathroom looked like it had been redone not too long ago. There were signs about reusing your towels which we would have done but there was not enough room to spread them out to dry. The grounds are lovely with lots of flower gardens. Eileen recommended Rumba Rum Bar which was excellent. Also excellent was the Veal Marsala at Francesca's (menu in the room). There are tennis.courts, shuffle board and other things to do right on the property. Would recommend to couples, families or single travelers.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My parents have been staying there for years. I myself had stayed there once many years ago and didn't really remember it very clearly, but once there, it all came back to me. The setting is very cute and quite peaceful despite being located right off Montauk Highway and being close to the LIRR.

My husband surprised me with a stay in one of their 2 bedroom cottages. He did this so we could bring our 2 dogs along, as I am usually sad when we leave them behind at home. We stayed there in June and everything was very nice. The cabin was cute and very clean; loved the comfy couch while watching the flat screen TV. Our dogs, Bella and Bubba enjoyed their walks around the property and lounging in the screened in porch while my husband read his paper and enjoyed his morning coffee.

The pool area was very clean with plenty of chairs and the grounds are very well maintained. The owners/managers are so friendly and helpful - you feel like you have been going there for years.

We loved the convenience of the cabin - full kitchen (even though we ate out), it was nice to have the refrigerator and microwave and everything available in the event that we wanted to cook and stay in.

We can't wait to return and plan to follow in my parent's tradition and make this a yearly get-away. We were so satsified, my cousin and friend rented the cabin also to do a mid-week stay there with their dog and they had a wonderful time as well!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
1.9 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
151 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
0.9 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 8 in Riverhead
509 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
4.7 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowen's by the Bays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowen's by the Bays

Property: Bowen's by the Bays
Address: 177 West Montauk Highway, Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bowen's by the Bays 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family oriented resort with rooms and cottages that have been described as quaint and charming. Each is individually decorated and has it's own personality. We have a pool, lighted tennis court, shuffleboard, small putting green and playground. The grounds are shady and flower filled. Pets are welcome in the cottages by prior arrangement, but never in the rooms. This offers a choice for those with allergies to stay where there have never been pets. All accommodations have flat screen cable tv and air conditioning. All rooms have refrigerators and coffeemakers with complimentary tea & coffee, and all cottages as well as the studio have compact but complete kitchens equipped with dishes, pots, utensils and microwave. We are approximately 3 miles from both ocean and bay beaches where all are welcome. Pets can be taken to the beach before 9 a.M. And after 6 p.M. Both North & South Forks can be easily accessed from here, and we are about halfway between Southampton and Westhampton Villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Bowen's by the Bays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowen`s By The Bays Hotel Hampton Bays
Bowens By The Bays Hampton
Bowen's By The Bays Hampton Bays, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing