We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FOOD AND GREAT VIEW”

Oakland's Restaurant & Marina
Ranked #6 of 79 Restaurants in Hampton Bays
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD AND GREAT VIEW”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

A friend took us here while he was showing us the "rural area" of New York City. We enjoyed the food but the service left a bit to be desired. It was the last week-end the restaurant would be open for the season, so this may have been part of the problem. The view was just great and would would recommend it on that base alone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PalmDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    58
    34
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch with a view”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We went there around lunchtime during our trip to the Hamptons from Manhattan. We arrived some minutes before the kitchen opened, but this appeared to be not a problem as we got seated anyway. We decided to sit inside as the weather looked a little cloudy and the wind was quite cold. However, the patio outside looked like an amazing place to grab a bite and watch the fishermen weigh their catches.

The service, which appeared to be filled with college or high school students helping out during summer, was quite good. Eventhough she forgot a couple of items, no necessary food orders or items were missed. Just ketchup and a new napkin.

The food was good. The mussels we had as an appetizer were excellent! It'd definitely take them again. Some more flavour could have been added to the brew, but it was still very tasty! The entrée was good-ish. Nothing spectacular, but good solid fresh food.

What I noticed most was that, even as an outsider (meaning someone clearly not from the Hamptons area) we were welcome. The patio looks like a nice place on a sunny day.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dareos_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs if food is important to you”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was a dreadful culinary experience from start to finish, though the service was OK. The pretentious menu was a sure sign we (all 12 of us) were in for a long evening. Any decent chef or experienced diner knows that a menu featuring fresh fish should let the fish do the talking. If you have fresh scallops, what is the point of a risotto with 3 cheeses on the same plate, for example? Why would you crust a wonderful swordfish steak and sauce it, unless you essentially hated fish, which the chef seems to. My Cesar salad was dry (stingy with the dressing) with no hint of anchovy. No freshness, no complexity, just a cheesy paste of a dressing with tasteless croutons and dried out lettuce. It seemed the flounder was the most promising choice for the evening, that is with the least amount of unwanted intervention, and four or five of us ordered it. Alas, besides the fact that there was twice as much fish as you needed, it was overcooked...dried out and "tired." A few capers on top represented, I suppose, an obligatory nod to the vaunted "a la Francese" preparation boasted by the menu. It came with the ultimate cliche of steamed broccoli on the side, which proved to be the tastiest item on this very dreary evening from a culinary standpoint. The restaurant is huge...and was fully packed. It is an attractive-looking place but the din made conversation impossible...not their fault, of course, but there it is! None of us had steak on this warm evening, but based on the experience of our big group, the chef de cuisine is an utter fraud.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorkerDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Downhill”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Always one of our favorites, it seems to us that Oakland's is slipping. Our recent visit was extremely disappointing. The food was not up to their usual standards. My wife ordered a vegetable panini and when it arrived it was made up of one slice of eggplant and one slice of squash. Hardly worth the high price charged. The seafood pasta, usually an excellent selection, was very bland. The scallops were dry and tough and the sauce tasteless. Hopefully this was not a trend and just a blip in the road.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnds1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect Hamptons lunch spot”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

You feel like you are on vacation eating outdoors looking at the ocean and the boats and fisherman bringing in their catch. Lunch was BLT sliders with fried tomatoes. Delicious. And tasty big crab cakes. A bottle of Rosé made in the Hamptons and it was a perfect lunch. $100 with tip, Hampton priced,so not cheap, but worth it. Can't wait to go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Desiree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland's Restaurant & Marina also viewed

Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to Oakland's Restaurant & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing