We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place for families...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Maid

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampton Bays
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hampton Maid
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Westchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A place for families...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

Have been staying for a nite or two at the Hampton Maid most summers for about 10 years now. Guess it only just dawned on me this last time out that the place, as lovely as it is, is really more for families than it is for couples anymore. Maybe it was just more aparent this time as we were given a room directly in front of the pool (zero privacy), but apparent it sure was! Lots of happy, noisey kids. I will say that the rooms are updated and always nicely decorated (although they probably should swiffer a bit - our sox were pretty soiled after walking around the room - which surprised me) and the wooded grounds are lovely (just not as peaceful as they once were). It also seemed to me that the management seemed to be more inclined to accomodate such families as opposed to couples or singles (families seemd to be their priority). All-in, if you're looking for a nice place to get away from the city with your kids, this is it. If you're a couple looking for a romantic weekend away or traveling solo and seeking a peaceful and quiet retreat, you might want to check out some alternate options in the area and just visit their restaurant for breakfast (the breakfast there is really good).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank svan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    23
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Long Island
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2009

As one who lives 30 minutes from the Hampton Maid I am a customer of their great breakfasts several times a year. On a less frequent basis I stay there for several days just to enjoy the beautiful property on a relaxing and romantic getaway. Terrific access to the south fork (Hamptons) and a darling of a place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCSEasternLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night stay ay the Hampton Maid,and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The location is beautiful, close to the main highway giving east access to other towns and beaches, yet completely quiet in a woodland setting. Each room seems individually designed and ours (room31) was like a small cabin, spacious and beautifully furnished with an outside area of decking and dining space. We cannot praise Sharon and her team enough for their welcome and the help we were given to make our stay most enjoyable.

  • Liked — beautiful accomodation
  • Disliked — unable to walk into town
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2008

The Hampton Maid has been a regular “must go to” spot not only for travelers to the Hamptons, but for us “locals” as well. While the accommodations for overnight guests are superbly clean and tasteful, the fantastic breakfasts are a treat for all – so, local residents may be seen there in large numbers enjoying fabulous food and, perhaps, a glimpse of golf greats (Shinnecock Hills Golf Club is just down the road) or other recognizable people who enjoy the great food and restful ambience.
When friends or relatives visit the area, the Hampton Maid is the only place we would recommend because we know the quality and care that go into making their stay a delightful experience. It is a family run business and we are all treated like family. You will never go wrong staying at the Hamptopn Maid.

Rosalie & Pat

  • Liked — Its cleanliness, great service and beautifula location
  • Disliked — not open year-round
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Obinoculars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

i have stayed at hampton maid every summer for the past 10 years and look foward to going back every summer. i started as a single and returned as a newlywed and then as parent of 2 boys. the place is a gem and we love it. it's a wonderful family place and it is owned by a wonderful family who keep it immaculate and cheerful. if you are looking for a quiet romantic place, maybe this isn't it. it is really all about families and people looking for a beautiful setting in the hamptons. if you are looking to sleep late, forget it singles...but you'll appreciate the place in 5 or 10 years when you have a family and want to get out of the city to a gorgeous place. we stay most of the summer and go back in early fall. the breakfast is delicious and a great way to start a vacation day.

  • Liked — clean and beautiful
  • Disliked — no microwave
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkSmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2007

A lovely place that isnt off the beaten path. Mostly New Yorkers trying to escape the city for the weekend. For years it has been majorly couples- now those couples have new-born babies.. and the only negative is the cottages overlook a beautiful pool, basketball court and ice machine- all of which are prime spots for families... ie; noise on a sat/sun morning guaranteed.

  • Liked — the cottages are magnificient !
  • Disliked — The loud noise on weekedn mornings from
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fndolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2007

Nice place. Relaxing grounds; well cared for. Very comfortable rooms with superior furnishings; quality beds. Kitchen sink and small refrigerator in room. Great staff; clean, clean, clean.
One problem: soda machine by shuffleboard court eats coins, doesn't deliver- use dollar bills.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank notsoeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
8.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
2.0 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#3 of 8 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Southampton Inn
Southampton Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Easterner Motel
Easterner Motel
#4 of 8 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Maid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Maid

Property: Hampton Maid
Address: 254 Montauk Hwy., Hampton Bays, NY 11946
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Hampton Maid Hotel Hampton Bays
Hampton Maid Bays
Hampton Maid Hotel Bays
Hampton Maid Hampton Bays, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing