We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting dining room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Gators Restaurant

Gators Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 76 Restaurants in Hampton Bays
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Osprey, FL
Level Contributor
288 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Interesting dining room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

4th of July we stopped for lunch while NY had hurricane Arthur coming up the coast. We arrived about noon and shown to a table for 4 in the back. Our server brought drinks and we ordered prompty. We waited over a half hour (maybe 45 minutes) for our lunches to arrive. When they came, one plate was wrong and my fries were cold. Oops...she had brought out someone else's plate and corrected quickly. This had happened to other tables, too, we observed. Huge replacement of fries arrived and they appeared the cook had dumped cooked reserved fries back in the fryer to get hot. So, they were double crispy and just fair. My BBQ chicken sandwich had bottled, cold BBQ sauce that tasted straight from a SYSCO supplier bottle. Chicken was dry and obviously overcooked. Just OK for a lunch and drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRQtravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southold, New York
Level Contributor
305 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great bar and food! Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have been to Gator's a few times over the years. They have always been consistent with staple bar food of burgers, wings etc. They have daily food and drink specials and never disappoint. We had steak and wings that were delicious. It is fine for date night or with family and friends. All of the staff are excellent and attentive. Quantity and quality are not a problem- all at a fair price. Enjoy

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad bar service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Not very good service at bar on a Saturday night. she was an airhead, made bad drinks, and spent more time running to bathroom. nodoby has to go that much. won't return or recomend. i like a place clean of everything.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverhead, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Worth visiting eatery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I visited Gators for dinner. We both had the "Early Bird" specials. I had broiled flounder and my husband had s pasta dish. Both were very generous portions. We also had a bowl of onion soups, which was very cheesy and delicious. We definitely will visit Gators again. It was clean and comfortable cozy atmosphere. Our server was a very friendly and efficient young lady. We have been dining at Gators for a number of years and have always had a great meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ratkins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

The chef at this place puts an interesting spin on pub grub. Everything is delicious and the chicken wings are the best I have had since college in upstate, NY

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank angeldog811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gators Restaurant also viewed

Hampton Bays, Hamptons
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 
Hampton Bays, Hamptons
 

Been to Gators Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing