We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean View Terrace Motel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little tired”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is one of the less expensive places for a summer weekend stay, and you do get what you pay for. Room is small, bed is small, but the A/C works (although it is loud). My impression is that very lkittle has changed here over the years. Free wi-fi a plus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C4times3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope J, Owner at Ocean View Terrace Motel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. If there's anything you think we can do to improve, let us know!

All the best,
Penelope, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    25
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
29
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have loved Ocean View Terrace for almost 14 years! The most comfortable, clean & affordable spot in the Hamptons! The staff is very attentive & always has a helpful suggestion or solution to any question I have. Thank you all so very much for keeping this wonderful place thriving & I'm looking forward to many more years to come relaxing in this perfectly lovely oasis! xxoo

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope J, Owner at Ocean View Terrace Motel, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank YOU so much for all the wonderful words, Amy. Hearing you call our place home is why I do this. Can't wait to see you again soon.

All the best,
Penelope, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I rediscovered OVT during the summer of 2013 many years after my parents spent their summers there. After my wife and I stayed there for a weekend in early July we fell in love with the place and booked every remaining weekend for the balance of the summer. The grounds, pool, and rooms are immaculate, the beds comfortable, and the service warm and welcoming. Beautiful views of Shinnecock Bay are available from most rooms and with OVT's location just minutes away from some of the most beautiful, sandy beaches on Long Island's east end, we find this combination of features tough to beat. Earlier this year my wife and I booked several weeks and every weekend for the entire summer of 2014. Kudos to Penny and her entire staff for creating a great environment at OVT.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My spouse and I eloped in November 2013 and stayed at the Ocean View. Everyone was tremendously kind to us. When I mentioned that it was our honeymoon, we received an upgrade to a lovely suite with a full kitchen and enormous whirlpool tub. The bed was very comfortable and everything was neat and clean. We both have a lot of food allergies, so it was great to be able to cook our own meals and not have to worry at all about being "poisoned" at a restaurant; there was a nice big supermarket just a short drive away where we could get everything we needed. We got a really lovely vacation for a fraction of the cost of a wedding! We plan to return to the Ocean View every year for our anniversary if we can.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope J, Penny at Ocean View Terrace Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
I'm over the moon that we could be a part of your wedding adventure, Rose. There's nothing better than hearing our suite helped create an amazing time for you and your spouse. I know it's been a year, but congratulations and we can't wait to see you again soon!

Hope you two are doing well,
Penelope, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Bays, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed there for the entire winter season way back in 1972. Only $80.00 per month and they even cleaned the room every week. Those were the days. I still ride by the area along the bay and the place still looks the same.

Room Tip: I guess the rooms north of Montauk Hw. would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope J, Owner at Ocean View Terrace Motel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
I'm thrilled we could be a part of such wonderful memories. I hope we'll see you back again soon!

All the best,
Penelope, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went to the Hamptons for 3 nights as a break from NY city and we had a great time at the Ocean View Terrace Motel. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable so we slept well. There is some traffic noise but we didn't find it a problem.

The hosts were fantastic. They gave us a very warm welcome and helped us out hiring bikes and a car to get around the area. They made sure our hire car was picked up at the end of our stay and sent my camera to me in the post straight away when I left it behind. We felt very at home.

The motel is very well located, near the lovely town of Southampton and the amazing beaches. We would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliaobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope J, Manager at Ocean View Terrace Motel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
We appreciate your wonderful review and taking the time to post it. We would love to have you come back and stay with us again in the near future!! Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place is fine for what it is - a motel - but very overpriced. We stayed 2 nights in September 2013 and paid over $300 per night. Rooms are fine - clean, bed comfortable - but very basic (very simple bathroom, minimal toiletries provided, small towels, no tea). The motel is not within walking distance of anything (and if it is, you have to walk on a very busy road with no sidewalk) so be prepared to drive everywhere. Room faced a main road so constantly cars driving past - again, not a problem for a motel, but just be prepared. Staff were ok but not great - I was woken at 5am one morning by a very loud motor sound coming from the pool area for a few hours and they showed no interest in investigating when I told them about it.

Also no breakfast provided here, although there is a great place for breakfast a few doors down at the Hampton Maid (which incidentally looks like a much nicer place to stay for around the same rates).

All in all, this place is fine if you expect a basic motel, but not worth the money we paid for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tep101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penelope J, Manager at Ocean View Terrace Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, but there are a few discrepancies in it that I needed to respond to. First one is our pricing which is fair in regards to the service we provide and the pricing of our neighboring motels. Also the price of $275 per night plus taxes is for a weekend stay which is higher than the weekday. There is daily maid service which replenishes the amenities in the rooms, soap, conditioning shampoo, lotion. Towels consist of four large bath (22x54) two hand (tea) , two face cloths and a terry bath mat. That is what most hotels provide. We also have hair dryers, irons ironing boards and in-room coffee (coffee pot and coffee with condiments provided). The road noise cannot be helped. We are on a main road and that helps us in being noticed by passing cars, the reason for having "no vacancy" sign up. We really appreciate your business and we hope you will visit us again. We have celebrated our 30th year in owning/managing this property so we must be doing something right!! Thank you again for taking the time to review the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton Bays
3.1 mi away
Colonial Shores Resort
Colonial Shores Resort
#4 of 12 in Hampton Bays
63 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
Bay Watch Hotel & Marina
#5 of 12 in Hampton Bays
42 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Drake Inn
The Drake Inn
#1 of 12 in Hampton Bays
161 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Hamlet Inn
The Hamlet Inn
#2 of 8 in Southampton
66 reviews
4.2 mi away
Southampton Long Island Hotel
Southampton Long Island Hotel
#5 of 8 in Southampton
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Terrace Motel

Property: Ocean View Terrace Motel
Address: 285 E Montauk Hwy, Hampton Bays, NY 11946-1607
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Hampton Bays
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hampton Bays
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Terrace Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Shinnecock Bay, our location is just minutes from Southampton Village. We have spacious grounds with picnic tables and barbecue grills, a playground of swings and slides and a sandbox by our private beach for the children. Our accommodations feature air-conditioning and heating, wall to wall carpeting, private bath with all amenities including hair dryer, refrigerator, in room coffee, flat screen cable TV and free wifi. Our deluxe efficiencies are fully equipped. Our suites have full kitchens. Some suites have a Jacuzzi and/or fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Ocean View Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Terrace Hotel Hampton Bays
Ocean View Terrace Motel Hampton Bays, NY - Hamptons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing